Fitted 17x8 & 245/70-17's on GX Prado without needing flares
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:20
Anthony
For the 120 series GX prado owners thinking of larger tyres.
I had 17x8inch king rims with 245/70-17 STTs fitted today and I reckon I have got away without needing to fit flares - just. The spare even fits on the rear door without the need for spacers.
Btw. I've read may a comment for and against the coopers. I had previusly run other popluar band LT tyres for many years and decided to give these ago.
Cheers A
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:23
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:23
Anthony,
I have a GX as
well and have been wondering if putting the wider 17's on would require flares.
Is it posible to post some ohotos for us to look at.
Cruiser
Follow Up By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:59
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:59
Crusier,
Will give it a go as soon as the misses returns with the 4by.
Cheers A
Follow Up By: Member - Anthony O (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:09
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:09
Crusier
I just become a member. You can get an idea from the rig pic's of how the tyre fit withou flares. There is a bit if the tyre visable beyond the guard but no tread.
I'm yet to work out have to add additional photos.
Cheers A.
Reply By: George_M - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:57
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 16:57
Anthony
I'm considering the same tyres.
I'd be curious to understand what differences you notice driving around town and on the highway - noise, stiffer ride, impact on steering, etc.
George
Follow Up By: Anthony - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:09
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:09
George_M
First impressions after only doing about 20kms & max of 80kph.
Very minor tyre noise which is more obvious while slowing/braking. The roof racks make a heaps more noise but a 100kph.
Definately not stiffer/firmer ride. If anything I would say a soother ride. Steering is fine as
well. But as I said, first impressions.
Cheers A
Reply By: George_M - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:27
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 17:27
Thanks mate - much appreciated!
Could you give us an update in a month or two?
George
Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:55
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:55
If intereted I have posted some photos of the STTs fiited to the GX in my rig pics.
Cheers A
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:00
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:00
Good luck with your home brand tyres. Just don't leave the black stuff and you will be fine. :-)
Follow Up By: Anthony (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:15
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:15
G'day Brew34.5,
You maybe right but I intend to have a lot of fun finding out.
We are going to give them a good testing over a couple of month giong from Melb to the centre, via Mt dare, then Plenty Hwy and back down through Qld.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 06:23
Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 06:23
Was all tongue and cheek. I am sure they will do you fine.