Submitted: Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:13
dave_c
gday all,
does anyone have any experience, good bad or otherwise, on these drawers. they are priced similar to blackwidow and outback but the fact they are claiming to be up to 60% lighter than similar designs, appeals to me. they look good too me thinks.
tanami storage drawers
cheers dave
Reply By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 00:04
Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 00:04
Hi Dave,
Don't have them myself, but a friend has had them in the back of his Patrol for at least 7 years and has had no problems with them that I know of. He has been down some pretty rough tracks and they seem to of held up. Also a couple of people from Eureka 4WD Training in WA are using them. They look to be a quality built drawer system. Hope this helps.
Darren
Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 16:21
Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 16:21
gday darren,
thanks mate. thats all i was after. just someone that knew something about them. i will more than likely get them unless totally convinced otherwise.
cheers dave
Reply By: George_M - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 17:16
Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 17:16
Hi Dave
I've had a set of Tanami drawers in my Prado for about a year - I'm pretty happy with how they've performed.
It depends on how you want to use them. My key criteria was weight reduction. I carry mainly food, cooking gear, and some safety gear in the drawers.
On the other hand, if you're going to carry a lot of lumpy, heavy stuff (safety gear, chains, etc) then you'll find that the Black Widow and Outback products are much more robust, but a fair bit heavier.
George
Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:05
Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:05
gday george,
thanks for the feedback. weight is a key factor for me also. the drawers have a 120kg load capacity which i reckon will be plenty. incidentally, your photos tell me you been at this caper a good while.
cheers dave
Reply By: Member - Helena B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 14:46
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 14:46
Hi Dave
I've had a set of these drawers for five or so years, and they are FABULOUS! They are light, they run smoothly, they hold heaps, and you can take them out if you need to - a bit of a fiddle, and I've only done it once. If I could do it again, I think I would get two drawers on one side and the fridge on the other - I've got three, with the fridge and a frame over the fridge to stop things falling into the space behind. Without the third drawer, I would have a bigger flatter space to put stuff, including a Freedom tent, which either goes on the roof or inside the cabin (taking the two
seat out. But I put all the cooking eating stuff in one, the food in another and you can put recovery stuff in the third. They are carpet lined, and really are brilliant. I do use shoe boxes or similar to divide stuff up, which works pretty
well. We have travelled heaps and they have been great!
Helena
Follow Up By: dave_c - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 15:36
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 15:36
gday helena,
thanks for reply. it is exactly what i was after. i was looking at the three drawer system and wondering where our freedom tent would fit. you have just solved that problem. their triple with drawer slide will be the go then. i just hope the fridge fits in.
cheers dave