TD Navara vs TD Hilux

Submitted: Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 10:23
ThreadID: 48990 Views:9310 Replies:15 FollowUps:10
Was just looking for some feed back on the TD Navara vs TD Hilux.
Looking at buying a new one in the next few weeks. would mainly be used for day to day driving and towing a boat (2000kg).
Am leaning towards the navara and would like a manual but have been hearing some rumours regarding clutch failure when towing? seeings i tow a boat a fair bit am a little worried about this and may make me lean towards an auto.
Offroad use would be very limited. Mainly purchasing for the towing capacity.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 10:38

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 10:38
Technically speaking the Navara can tow a greater legal weight however the Hilux is the better drive, don't let anyone else tell you different. The manuals of both of these models could suffer clutch failure, not sure if it is abuse or incorrect driving techniques whereas the Auto is very strong. The Hilux is the bigger rig with more space inside and have a sneaking feeling the Toyota is the more reliable and better built rig, thats why it costs a little more.

Other than that both are good buys..
AnswerID: 258729

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:46

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:46
A bit presumptuous of you TerraFirma that "...the Hilux is the better drive, don't let anyone else tell you different." You don't even say if you are you talking about the D22 or D40 Navara?

My neigbour had the D22 and couldn't wait to get out of it into a different vehicle. After test driving most 4x4 utes around he ended up with the D40 much to his surprise. The D40 is much bigger than the old D22, along with a better ride and a relatively huge interior space.

He used to complain every day about his D22 virtually from the day he bought it home whereas he now raves all the time about the D40. And, as he is a tradie, he tows a tandem Gullwing trailer all the time and reckons the D40 with the trailer is about the same as the D22 on its own.

Now I am the first to admit that I haven't driven any recent model 4x4 utes for a while so am only going on 2nd hand info but am suprised you will have such a strong statement and not even state which model you are referring to.

FollowupID: 520123

Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:33

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:33
Try and get yourself a copy of the 4WD Monthy Ute of the Year award story, or even better the DVD. Although neither the Hilux or Navara were UOTY they give plenty of info on both.

The Navara is older technology, direct injection not common rail and the power and torque are less which is important for towing. I'd go for the Hilux.

AnswerID: 258737

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:43

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:43
Wizard1,

I think you may be referring to the D22 Navara because the D40 Navara has common rail injection, and I think you'll find the D40 has same power and more torque than the Hilux, with 126kW and 400Nm, versus 126kW and 343Nm for the Hilux.
FollowupID: 520135

Reply By: colze - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:47

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:47
wizard1,
Actually the TD Navara is common rail with variable nozzle turbo charger and puts out significantly MORE torque then the Hilux (403Nm at 2000rpm compared to the Hilux's 343Nm). Both have the same Kw rating at 126Kw.
This is why i have been looking at the Navara over the Hilux. have traditionally been a Toyota person but you can go past the power of the Navara. Also seem to be roomier inside.
AnswerID: 258739

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:59

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 11:59
Not sure where your getting those figures from, but the Navara specs for the ZD30 Direct Injection Diesel from the website are:

Power 110KW @ 3400 RPM
Torque 314 @ 2000 RPM

The Patrol only manages a little more 118 Kw and 354 Nm (auto)

Perhaps you could clear up this obvious error and provide the source of your Navara specs as they aren't the official Nissan ones.
FollowupID: 520127

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:03

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:03
Apologies, I wasn't aware there was a new 2007 Navara with the specs you describe.

Maybe if we vehicle you were talking about it might have avoided the confusion.
FollowupID: 520128

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:07

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:07
I have driven both the D40 and the current Hilux, I have the Hilux and IMHO the Hilux is the better drive, also can't get anyone to tell me why the Navara has a higher towing weight..?
FollowupID: 520130

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 18:01

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 18:01
On my brothers farm he runs nararas and Hiluxs(older models) The hiluxs stand up to wear and tear better than the Narava
FollowupID: 520171

Reply By: colze - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:10

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:10
Ok here are the states off the Nissan website and the Redbook.

2.5L Common rail TD: 126Kw @4000rpm and 403Nm @ 2000rpm

4.0L Petrol: 198Kw @ 5600rpm and 385Nm @ 4000rpm

Hilux no where near that....

I dare say you are looking at stats for older D22 Navara. Not the D40 Navara.
AnswerID: 258740

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 18:49

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 18:49
Forget those torque figures for a minute, the Navara develops it's power from a 2.5 Litre Turbo Diesel vs 3.0 Litre for the Hilux. For the Nissan to generate it's slight torque advantage it has to stress it's engine far more than the Hilux, think about it.? Given Nissan's past reliability issues I'll take the Hilux all day long. Figures are one thing but how about reliability, driveability , NVH levels etc etc.?

The Nissan is a fine vehicle however I'll take the Hilux all day everyday.!
FollowupID: 520176

Reply By: colze - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:13

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:13
Yeah sorry should have said it was the 2007 D40 Navara.

Navara is 3000kg tow capacity in both auto and manual.

Also does anyobe have any feedback between auto vs manula in these vehicles???

Im partial to manual but have been told auto is better for towing??? especially pulling boats up ramps? i have never had a problem pulling boats up ramps before in manual? maybe some people just cant drive... low range, 1st gear. off she goes.
AnswerID: 258741

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:20

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:20
Hi colze
You seem to get answers from people who dont own or have driven either vehicle.
I have owned the D40 for just over 12 months now and have found it a great vehicle, it is normally used as a daily drive and to tow our offroad camper which it does with ease and after just completing a 2week outback trip with both ute and camper fully loaded (way to much gear but was mainly done as a test) proved it. I have the 6speed manual and have found that trying to start off on something like a steep boat ramp or reversing up a steep drive can be a bit hard on the clutch so i normally just switch into 4L untill the top then go back to 2H.
I found that it rode better than the Hilux and they do have more room, although i am told by my sons mate that their Hilux's back seat is more comfortable. I have now fitted TJM suspension as i found the rear a bit soft for any load and i also wanted the extra clearance.
AnswerID: 258743

Follow Up By: colze - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:27

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:27
Thanks Chris & Debbie.
This is what i assumed (re the vehicles performance) but was just looking for some feedback from people who have "been there done that".

As i mentioned i will be using for towing a ski boat on tandem trailer (about 2 tonne all up- boat and trailer).

I prefer a manual especially in a vehicle with this size motor. However had heard issues re clutch slippage with high loads and steel angles (ie pulling boat up a ramp). HOWEVER, i currently own a Mitsubishi Express van 2.4L and have never had a prob pulling 2 tonne of boat up the ramps we usually frequent. so i assume a Nav should eat it up. Plus as you mentioned i will now have low rang.

In terms of towing have you found that u can tow in 6th? or do u usually stick to 5th for towing???
FollowupID: 520133

Reply By: Chris & Debbie - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:42

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 12:42
colze, you will find most small turbo diesels will have trouble starting off on steep ramps without slipping the clutch alot, so I prefer to just put in L4. I have never had trouble with the clutch slipping though once engaged and we tow the camper along the beach alot in soft sand. I normally tow in 6th gear as it will do it easy but of cause useing a bit of common sense and not lug it too much and just drop back to 5th on hills if needed. I was also undecided between manual and auto, but both the wife and i prefered the manual.
AnswerID: 258749

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:12

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:12
Do a search on Member - extfilm (NSW) and read his views on the Navara.

Kev

AnswerID: 258752

Reply By: colze - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:17

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 13:17
did search on extfilm. came up with 313 threads.... anything more specific???
AnswerID: 258754

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:06

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:06
Try this one

FollowupID: 520179

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:45

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 19:45
Just had a new Navara auto twin cab on trial at work & found the auto wasn't particually well matched to the turbo. At certain speeds (particually around 60) the gearbox would kick down, the engine would rev out bringing the turbo boost online then change up. The turbo would then loose boost & change down again. Certainly has no shortage of power though.
The cabin was well set out with plenty of standard features & lots of room for the driver. Under the bonnat there didn't appear to be any room for a 2nd battery.
Ironically the best tow vehicle in this class would be the Triton but it seems you've discarded it for other reasons. On a trip over the Snowy Mountains to the coast the new Triton left the current Hilux kilometers behind while towing almost identical boats. Have heard from other owners similar reports saying the manual gearbox is well matched to the engine for towing or carrying heavy loads. Also has the greatest leg room in the rear & an electric manual locking limited slip diff.
I find our work Hilux just average & place it a close 3rd in comparison to the other two. Poor approach angle lets it down offroad. For our work we are leaning towards the Triton but all the utes are getting closer in features, strength & ability.
Cheers Craig............
HZJ105
AnswerID: 258785

Follow Up By: SARocks - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:48

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:48
the Triton 3.2 is without a doubt the best overall 1 ton ute and especially for towing. We had the Navara and traded it on the Triton. We tow the caravan and my dads 4.2 LC cannot keep up the hills against the Triton with the identical caravan and we have more gear. The Triton 5yr everything 10yr drive train warranty makes it a great buy. We seriously love our Triton around town and for towing. In the caravan forums they say the Triton is the best 1 ton tow pony on the market.
FollowupID: 520348

Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:19

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:19
We have a new Hilux TD manual that has been chipped, we tow a Trak Shak trailer around and we get about 13.5 lts per 100k sitting on a 110Kph.

The Hilux weighs in at 2490kg loaded and the trailer 1270kg loaded.

If with now trailer we get about 10 Lts per 100K in the country and around town.

The Navara is very good aswell but I do think the build quality is alittle down on the Hilux......but it is also $4000 dearer to.

The Navara out excellerates the Hilux in both petrol and diesel but with a trailer on the Hilux diesel will out excellerate the Navara Diesel, I would expect the Navara petrol will do the same to the Hilux petrol...It's only because the Hilux is a bit bigger motor and the torque comes in lower.

Much a much both good bad and ugly and to dear.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 258797

Reply By: TD100 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:08

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:08
we have the current model hilux 3.0 tds at work with xl bodies on them,carrying a good half tonne of gear in and on them,towing generators,compressors etc behind them with no issues at 80000kms with clutches or any thing,go well,ride well and flogged sensless by many drivers and still survive.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 258807

Reply By: montana - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 22:39

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 22:39
i have owned a d40 for a year now,no problems .i have given it heaps of abuse off road and cant do the damage that a magazine did to one,(they also said its the best thing since sliced bread last year)
and kev, that tread link is to a whining d22 owner not a d40.
AnswerID: 258815

Reply By: Stu-k - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:26

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:26
I went the Hilux and a mate of mine went for the Nav. Both are good utes and there is little in it.
A few points I have noticed,
1. Nav has slightly more room in the front seat and less in the back.
2.Power is much of a muchness but hilux has a better power spread being a bigger motor. While the Nav doesn`t seem as rattly while driving which is probably due to the hole in the bonnet for the intercooler on the Hilux.
3.The Nav gives a better ride on smooth roads but that turns around on rougher stuff.
4. Hilux has better ground clearance and is better protected underneath.
5. Hilux uses less fuel than the Navara
6. The Navara feels more car-like and flimsy, while the Lux is a bit more truck like and more solid(these are only the feel of the utes)
7. We both tow heavy loads from time to time and there is no differance in them apart from the 2.5 needing to work a little harder.

I went the Hilux cause I didn`t like the idea of a 2.5td nissan motor,better resale and wanted something reliable for work and play.
AnswerID: 258836

Reply By: colze - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 12:47

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 12:47
Thanks for all the feedback guys.
It has been great to get the thoughts of people who actually own the vehicles and use them every day.
It looks like i will be getting a TD Navara. For the type of use indented it seems to be the perfect match. Its not going to be used for offroad (maybe a little bit here and there but nothing serious) and to tow a boat on the weekends (most times 15min down the rd) and longer trips every now and then.
Like i said ive always been a Toyota person but the Nav looks great, goes great, drives great around town, has 3000kg tow capacity and i can get one (the new series 3) in 4 weeks compared to 3+ months for Hilux. ANF with ABN discount its cheap as chips!!!
A 3.0L engine would have been nice though. But like everyone has said doesnt seem to been any issues yet.
Ground clearance is not an isse for me as its not really going offroad and suspension mods are cheap. personally id prefer that it feels more like a car to drive.
Anyway guys thanks for all your help and im off to the dealer on Monday to buy after test driving all weekend.
AnswerID: 258934