What stuff to use for sealing a winch?

Submitted: Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:21
ThreadID: 48999 Views:6350 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
G'day all you know-alls!!!!!! ;-)))

Now, I've got my mate "Warnie" out from behind the bullbar at the moment to give 'im a bit of a service (that's a bit of a turn-around, eh??). Now, when I installed him a few weeks ago, I did so in a bit of a rush. I had to undo the 10 Allen-head bolts and turn the clutch-engagement section around to a different position, because the Nissan b/bar requires the winch be upside down (compared to the way it was mounted on my last (ARB) b/bar.

So in my haste to put it back together, I didn't bother replacing the flaky sealant which I noticed had been sandwiched in between the 2 sections. Tonight, I pulled it apart (partially only, otherwise I'll never get it back together again!!!) and cleaned out all the remaining rubbery sort of stuff that previously formed the seal.

What tube of goop do I have to buy to replace it with please?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:32

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:32
goodday bill
how is every body
for mr warn maybe some gasket sealer there are several different so it may take time at a car parts or similar
we returned from up north spent a couple of days back in broughton got a few fish and we are now on the way back home
we found several reasonable 4w tracks not hard but a good to do around alice

AnswerID: 258798

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:38

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:38
Good one Steve, Glad you had a good trip. Of course, no need to ask whether everything went okay (cos you drive a "proper" 4WD), but how many toyotas did you have to rescue???

FollowupID: 520205

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:50

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:50
Roachie ,
We don't need to swap our engines to end up with a great vehicle .
I need the same info you requested , as I am about to service mine .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 520211

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:34

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:34
Just divert the flow of your old sump oil as it sprays out everywhere , that should keep it all rust free
AnswerID: 258799

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:39

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:39
Thanks brother David........ (of the YP Bretheren)......I'll keep that invaluable advice in mind.....hahaha
FollowupID: 520206

Reply By: TD100 - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:37

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:37
when i last serviced mine i just used gasket silicone and it works fine,anyway water still gets in regardless of how well its sealed everywhere else as it gets past the cable drum into gearbox and motor anyway.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 258800

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:40

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:40
Hmmmmmmmm, maybe I'm better off not using any sealant and drilling a hole in the lowest part of the structure so water can drip out. Not that we have a problem with water over here ever since the bloody Queerlanders stole it all out of our river!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 520207

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 01:40

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 01:40
Bill Bill Bill.......some things will never change always wanting to pick fights lol

FollowupID: 520241

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:56

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:56
Roachie!, As owning a defender i have had untold experience on sealing things up!!....lol, STAG, mate, 50yr old product still on the market , nothing beats it.

AnswerID: 258804

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:03

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:03
Okay....great as I already have a tube of that in the shed....Bargain!!!! haha
FollowupID: 520215

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:47

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:47
Mate,
It's easy. You strip the winch, clean out all the rubbish, grease it and put it back together. Every 6 months repeat.

AnswerID: 258811

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 00:10

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 00:10
It's called winch sealing stuff, you fool
AnswerID: 258818

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 08:52

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 08:52
Roachie,

When I stripped my winch down and cleaner it up I sealed it up with 303, like a silicone product and it seems to work well.

Whilst I had it on the bench I contacted Lesley & Sons in Melbourne and asked them a few questions regarding the winch. They machine the surfaces next to the drum on each end and fit O-rings which does seal the whole thing. It a couple of hundred dolloars for memory - I didn't go down that path though.

If you know a machinist you may be able to get this down over your way.
AnswerID: 258834

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:36
Tim

The Mal Leslie way is really the only way to seal current winches.

Most Competition trucks have had their winches 'tricked up' by Mal Leslie and he always has a pile of the high mounts and others to do because he is so good at it.

Other than that , IRONMAN apparently have developed a new 'seal' for their winch motors etc which allegedly allows a motor to be submersed in a bucket of water, switched on and runs ad-infinitum.

The only thing you need to use and which is freely available in SA is a liberal dose of BLUE-TAC .

Just pinch a bit from somewhere else on that heap of junk that you call a 4WDead in the drive and continue on your metrry way.
FollowupID: 520254

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:27

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 09:27
Yep Stag is the go.
The Warn winch on the Humvee is sealed with O rings like was mentioned above, they also put sealer between the mating surfaces as you are doing and then when all the wiring connections are made they dip the whole thing in a rubbery solution which then seals everything. It is cleaned off the moving surfaces before it hardens and is a rea bugger to get off when trying to pull the winch down though ;-))
It also connected to the vehicles breather system where all the running gear is connected to a common breather which exits into the air cleaner. When in fording mode crankcase pressure is fed to transmission, transfer, drop hubs, power steering reservoir, brake system, fuel tank and the winch to keep water out.l
AnswerID: 258837

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 19:10

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 19:10
if its a low mount, best to keep the drain holes operational, because the water that gets in can then get out, and make sure you have a drain hole facing downward when its in the car.

Best way is run the cable out, and in again, when ever it may of been under water, some time in the next 24 hrs and generate some heat to help get rid of any residual water/condensation.

Painting all the internals with winding paint is a good way to stop any corrosion inside if it does get wet also.
AnswerID: 258884

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:07

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:07
Thanks to everybody for your responses......I have used the Stag and got it all back together.

One other little "trick" I did to it was to cut the white wire. This is inside the the solenoid control box and is one of the 3 wires; it went from the plug to the large POSITIVE terminal that has the cable from the battery attached. As such, it is this permanently-powered little cable that would provide the means for any mongrel to operate the winch with or without a plug-in controller. I added a suitable length of smallish cable to the white wire and routed it up into the engine bay. I had a switch under the bonnet which I used for turning on the shower's pump. It was a simple ON/OFF type of switch with permanent power supplied (via a fuse of course). I changed that switch over to a SPDT?centre off type and added the lead from the winch to it. (I can't ever see a time arising when I'll be wanting to use the winch and the shower both at the same time. Most of the time the switch will sit in the middle (OFF) position, but can be flicked one way to enable the winch or the other to turn on the shower pump. Jeez, I dunno why everybody says I'm stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 258896

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:42

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 20:42
I can just see it now, SWMBO flicking the switch to operate the shower pump and engages the winch which inturns sees her running around the camp site in nothing but a towel trying to catch a moving soon to be severely dinted Chevnissan
I reckon since hearing of your track record it's going to come back and bite you LOL ;))

FollowupID: 520346