truscott airbase

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 17:23
ThreadID: 49016 Views:4641 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
Could anyone tell me if you are able to visit truscott airbase up near kalumburu if so who do you talk to and how do you get there.A great site heaps of great info.

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 21:39

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 21:39
G'day Shane, mate I used to fly there when I was working with Coastwatch. As far as I know, you can get there. There's a ferry that will take you over there, I'm not to sure if you can take your own vehicle.

There's a lot of WW2 history there, I love the place and the fishing's awesome, just watch out for Snappy and his little one!

Have a look at tours from Kunnanurra, I think you can get there from Kunna.....I think.

Send photos when you do come back.
AnswerID: 258905

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 22:05

Saturday, Aug 25, 2007 at 22:05
Check here ThreadID: 28202
AnswerID: 258910

Reply By: swampy66 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 01:47

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 01:47
its still an transit point for the laminaria field (timor sea) oil rig workers. 1.5 hr plane flight from darwin and then 1.5 hour chopper flight to the floating oil production facilities.

AnswerID: 258920

Reply By: nickoff - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 07:04

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 07:04
I think the name of the operator of the base has changed to SHOREAIR, based in DARWIN.

There are still regular scheduled flights from DRW-TST with AIRNORTH from DARWIN, but not sure if seats are bookable. Best bet, contac Airnort, speak to them. Then try Shoreair.

Facinating place. I spent 6 months working there. Its slowly rusting away, with bits and pieces spread over approx 25 square Kms, not including parts of the base that were located on islands offshore.

One of the most striking relics is an old "Steam Roller" just left on the side of the road to the barge landing.

Nickoff.
AnswerID: 258921

Reply By: BT in WA - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 11:13

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 11:13
Gidday Shane,
try Alligator Airways out of Kunnunurra - I think they offer a tour to Truscott as well as a lot of other places. You are unable to drive there as the road was destroyed by the Army some time ago. I was working there for a few months myself earlier in the year and we were resupplied by barge from Darwin. The land is owned by the local Aboriginals and it would be impractical to barge your car over to Truscott due to expense, lack of local knowledge and the owners don't want you there. There is a lot to see and it is fascinating.
BT
AnswerID: 258929

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 14:58

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 14:58
Last year the mission plane from Kulumbaru would take you over and back...worth checking.

OT
AnswerID: 258947

Reply By: shane62 - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 11:21

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 11:21
Thanks for the reply's on Truscott i will follow up on them and see what i can find out cheers
AnswerID: 259038