Patrol 05 3.0ST - quik advice

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:27
ThreadID: 49036 Views:3111 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
Hi Folks,

We have been looking, for some time, to update our ageing Pathfinder to a competent tow vehicle for a 2000kg single axle caravan when loaded.

A local dealer has a a 3.0ST Patrol, diesel. Bull bar lights and the Nissan Towbar. It is a 2005 model with 10 months remaining on factory warranty. It has 32,000km on the clock and was previously owned by a TIC returned veteran. The vet rolls on his vehicles every 2 years.

Their asking price is $44,000 including NSW transfer duty and 12 months rego.

Any quik comments re price, merits, demerits, fuel consumption and what to look for would be appreciated. Taking SWIMBO to look at it tomorrow along with the cheque book.

If we buy it will have to last us a lot of years.

SKI'er

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:36

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:36
Do a search on here for 3.0 litre Patrol and then make up your mind.

AnswerID: 258951

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:40

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:40
Hey SKIer

I'm not brand bashing, Just for comparison, I bought a 03 GXL 100 series in April with 70000 with after care warranty to 150000.

I paid $44500 + $1500 for rego and stamp duty.

I've never owed a Nissan, so someone with knowledge of both may give you a better comparison.

Hope this helps Steve.
AnswerID: 258952

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:45

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:45
From the Red book web site:

2007 NISSAN PATROL

GU III MY06 DX Wagon 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 3.0DT
Prices based on km 15,000 - 25,000
Trade in price guide* $33,600 - $36,600
National average price - private sale* $38,900 - $44,400
Price when new (RRP) $50,040
all prices quoted are GST inclusive

2005 NISSAN PATROL

GU III MY05 ST Wagon 7st 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 3.0DT
Prices based on km 30,000 - 50,000
Trade in price guide* $30,900 - $33,700
National average price - private sale* $35,800 - $41,000
Price when new (RRP) $51,990

Seems high to me. And I won't mention the engine problems because Nissan has fixed them, nor will I discuss the wheels falling off because that is user error. If you tow don't use 5th gear either. Research Nissan problems caefully yourself before handing over your money.
AnswerID: 258953

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 07:01

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 07:01

Towing in 5th gear is not a problem with a Nissan Patrol gearbox.

There was a problem with some gearboxes where the 5th gear spline was manufactured too short. That was in 1999-2000. Not relevant to this post.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 520478

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:52

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 16:52
Hi Skier,

You have not mentioned if it is a manual or auto, but I will assume it is auto, as it is the dearer.

If it is a manual, then deduct $3K off all numbers.

Price when new would be approx $57K less discount (say $6K) would be $51K.

Based on redbook trade in value, I would say that he traded the vehicle for approx $35K - $38K.

So I reckon, adding $5K for dealer markup, it should only be worth about $40K

Also, looking at it from a different angle, new car value ($51K), less $5K depreciation per year, then it is still only worth $40K.

At $40, I think you are paying a fair price, so just be upfront with the dealer and say that is all you will pay.

My thoughts only, but hope this helps

TonyG
AnswerID: 258956

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:18
If we buy it , will have to last us lots of years?.

That will be your greatest worry, my friend!!,

Because the chances are it won't!,

AS stated above, do a search on here, and you might reconsider.

Good luck anyway.

AnswerID: 258975

Reply By: bob&loz - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:39
I just bought a new patrol ST CRD manual with bull bar driving lights and tow bar for $49500 drive away.
The way I look at it is , would you lend your new car to someone for 2 years and 32000klm for just $5500.
I don't think so

AnswerID: 258980

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:50

Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:50
This is the wisest comment so far. Well said.

Regardless of what I think of the 3lt (after all I'm not buying it!!), it is still too dear when relative to the new price.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 520447

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 05:05

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 05:05
Think of the logistics, towing 2000 kg. I would be going for the 6 cylinder Diesel, end of story, towing they should give roughly the same economy, but you would be able to drive the vehicle properly.

Look, I love my Navara, it too has the same motor in it, but I would not be towing a 2000 kg all over the place.
We tow a camper, all over the joint, and sometimes fairly loaded up ( 1200 kgs ) and get between 6.5 - 7.5 km / lt thats it.
So why not have the 4.2 lt 6, similar economy and heaps og grunt

Cheers Mate Bucky

ps hope this makes sence , not long up !

AnswerID: 259007

Reply By: tdf - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 09:04

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 09:04
The price is too high just type nissan into google follow the links to dealers you will find new patrols discounted to less than $50000
AnswerID: 259024

Reply By: Roktruk - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 14:00

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 14:00
Just type "3 litre Nissan problems" into Google. it's kinda like puling the pin on a hand grenade and hanging onto it for a while. Eventually it's gotta go......
AnswerID: 259057

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 17:33

Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 17:33
Thanks to all who replied and guided me through this. We have walked away from the purchase.

I had read some of the GUIII problems on the site and this was a GU4.

But when my wife saw the car today and said "I am not driving a manual again"it was all over. I had looked at the shift stick the other day and honestly thought I had seen an "auto."

Being only a manual made the price being asked even pricier.only a manual.

Thanks again
SKI'er
AnswerID: 259084