funny of the week
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 18:40
nowimnumberone
first of this is a true story so thats why its not in friday funnys.
2 weeks ago a customer ordered a steel winch bar to suit an 06 100 series land cruiser diesel.
would you like a fitted price or just supply
supply only im pretty handy
called to tell him thursday that the bars in
customer comes picks it up in his falcon ute and away he goes
get a phone call early friday arvo.
this bars the wrong one it wont fit nothing looks right even the pics in the instructions look wrong
can you bring the vehicle and bar in so we can have a look
no problem ill be there soon
customer rocks up in his vehicle with a trailer and bull bar
hmm theres your problem mate
its a 120series prado
oh dear its a landcruiser(prado)and was a wee bit out with the number.100 is pretty close to 120 i guess lol
true story
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:14
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:14
Hahahahahaha...expensive mistake, freight wise.
How embarrassing!
Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:26
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:26
I thought you were going to say he had it upside down. lol
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:30
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 19:30
I was thinking maybe a rear bar lol
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:01
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:01
Some Mothers do A've Em
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:26
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:26
every day, in every way, he's getting better and better :)
Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:52
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 20:52
I don't know why you are all laughing.
I work in spare parts for agricultural machinery and this would happen to me every day in one way or another.
"Why do you need a serial number its such and such model" is a common question I hear, if I didn't need it I wouldn't ask for it and of course if the wrong part arrives it's my fault.
I do everything I can to please my clients but "the customer is always right" my arse!
Please be aware that if you go into a
shop and the sales assistant is asking what seems to be stupid questions, they are not doing it for the fun of it.
Before you all have a go at me I am aware that there are useless sales assistants out there, have worked with and fired a few.
Charlie.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:15
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:15
Agree with you Charlie, thats why Toyota will always ask for your chassis no as like when I needed a clutch fan coupling to suit my LN106 hilux ran from 88 to 97 and you guessed it Toyota had 3 different types to suit that one model. But problem is as you said "customer always right" bullsh@t but you always have to bite your tongue an treat them right or your the worst in the world. They will say hes a pri@k, wanker etc to there friends he knows sweet fu@kall but dont tell them the complete story. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:45
Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:45
Hi Charlie
which ag dealer you working for?
You don't have to answer
Follow Up By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:49
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 22:49
G'day Richard, "Midwest Machinery". We sell Massey Ferguson, Gleaner, Fendt, Silvan, Selecta, Kubota, Iseki, Krone, Lely, Manitou, Bobcat, Clark, Whacker, Perkins, Vicon, etc, etc, etc.
Hard times at the moment, 2nd drought year in a row, so the cockies are not spending at all. If it wasn't for the industrial gear we would be in trouble.
Charlie.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 00:39
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 00:39
So you must deal with Gerrard Hydraulics?
Follow Up By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 19:23
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 19:23
Yes I do, Have done for many years in previous jobs. Your place of employment? if so, small world!
Charlie.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 22:11
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 22:11
Yes I'v been the service Manager there for over 10 years now, spoke to Simon today he new who your where, maybe we have or will talk to each other some day..
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 12:36
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 12:36
I have the same problems as
well,when i ask the size , it's "about 2" by 10mm" so if i make something about that size and it's wrong who pays.....What gets me is the use of both measurements...imperial and metric..
Reply By: just*Managing - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:06
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 20:06
I'll give him a coupla hundred for the 120 Bar :)
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:25
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 21:25
lateral thinking,
well done.