High or Low range In the sand
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 26, 2007 at 22:57
Member - Stephen M (NSW)
Hi all, with the prado is high or low range best in the sand with an auto ?? Never had an auto in a 4wd before and dont want to over heat tranny by having in the wrong range. Say
Stockton Beach for example when going over or climbing the dunes I imagine high would be better to get a good run off for climbing the dunes or is the tranny going to heat up. I have also been told to leave in second not auto so it will only hunt between 1st and 2nd when needed ??? The old lux was always in high on sand but was manual or should I have had that in low range and was doing the wrong thing in the past ??? Any help in regards to the right range would be helpful as I dont want to go cooking anything. Plan on dropping tyres to 18 psi like I use to with lux. Thankyou Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 00:51
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 00:51
Hi Stephen,
I used to own a 1997 3.4L V6 Prado Auto, and like you I had never had an auto in the sand before, only manuals. So it was a bit of trial and error. I found the best way for me, on beach driving was to leave it in high range, overdrive off, power button on. For going up dunes "as above" but if speed and RPM decrease, hit the accelerator again so it down shifts to a lower gear and hence maintain speed so you don't bog down. As for going down steep dunes, I used Low range, 1st gear and feathered the brakes if speed increased too much. Never had a problem with overheating transmission doing things this way. I also tried that 2nd gear start button a few times - waste of time, as you can not get up enough speed if you climbing a dune. Hope this helps.
Have fun in the sand,
Howard.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:34
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:34
Thanks Howard, forgot all about the power button dont normally touch it leave in normal mode, thanks for that. i think the idea of these things are to hold in gear longer ?? Regards steve
Reply By: PradoTrev - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 08:45
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 08:45
Hi Stephen
I run the 120prado petrol in hig range if just reving up and down
the beach clicked over in to 3rd (od off) when I was up at
stockton a few years back.
When heading up and down I ran it in low range to pick up the grunt up the
hill and use the same for in 1st for down the other side.
Too much wheel spin in high going up
hill
Let the auto do the work u just use the right boot to help it pick a gear.
what ever gear your in beach driving is great fun. Expeiment for your self and see what your happy with.
Trevor
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 12:05
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 12:05
High or Low range depends on conditions..
Same as anywhere else you go wheeling, drive to the conditions.
If your worried, get a gearbox temp guage - always a good idea in an auto that tows.. Rodney at wholesale automatics in bayswater Vic sells kits, had one in the GQ, and it was amazing to see the changes in gearbox temps on sand and towing.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:36
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:36
Thanks Truckster, good idea to keep an eye on internal operating temps. Regards Steve M
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 18:37
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 18:37
G'day Stephen, have you considered an additional tranny oil cooler as extra insurance? As we all know excess heat is an auto's natural enemy. My BIL put one on his 03 Jackaroo V6 auto from day one just for some peace of mind, not that dear either.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:29
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:29
Hi Stefan, Yes Im going to ring around tomorrow an get a price. If only a small price to pay as to not
cook the tranny then I will go ahead with it, its due for a service too so might get it all done at once if price reasonable. I usually use a bloke at Blacktown so will ring him first and he actually has the same model prado so think he is who I will use unless he's over the top with his price of cooler and fitment. Thankyou Regards steve M
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:40
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:40
I find High range good in most cases.
But if the sand is soft I will use low range as a precaution and it just does it that bit easer if you do hit that soft patch.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:52
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:52
Use high it it's easy going, Low if not. either way you need to watch for wheel spin. Also don't be afraid to go lower than 18psi. Have been below 10 in a tough spot, got me going again....
Nick
Reply By: zacman - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:59
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 19:59
Hi Stephen Good question . I am fortunate to be only 30 mins from North shore (Noosa to
Rainbow Beach) and often head along beach including Fraser Is In my old auto v8 Disco i always found that the vehicle does a great job of finding its own comfortable working range as the conditions change. An auto can be a real blessing and pleasure on
the beach as small soft sections are easily tackled by keeping the right foot pressure fairly constant and letting the transmission decide on weather it needs a change or not. You will find on the lower tide runs its easy to forget what speed your actually travelling at But remember that the beaches up here often have police present with RADAR GUNS so remember the 50 or 80 kph limits. The only times i have ever needed low ratio has been at the high tide point in very soft deep sand or if forced to wade in the shallows once again due to high tides and a lack of time and beach space. Even now with a 3.0 ltr Turbo diesel Manual low range is the very rare exception recently after 3 hours or so of beach cruising i got a bit of a surprise to see that i hadn't even engaged 4wd. The best thing to do is definately reduce tyre pressure 18psi sounds perfect it will really help soften the ride on Fraser's tracks which can get quite corrugated and otherwise bouncy on the exposed tree roots along the main tracks ENJOY THE TRIP
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:47
Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:47
Hi Zacman, do you have an email address ?? Regards Steve M
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:14
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:14
Like mentioned above........................drive to conditions. I always left
mine in D. Never had a problem. SPent more time in Low than high....................Just to be sure :)
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:15
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:15
Like mentioned above........................drive to conditions. I always left
mine in D. Never had a problem. SPent more time in Low than high....................Just to be sure :)
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:25
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 21:25
Thanks all, sounds like leave in high and trial and error situation. Drop the tyres and see how I go. Thankyou. Regards Steve
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:08
Monday, Aug 27, 2007 at 23:08
MTR's at 15psi at
Robe
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:15
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2007 at 10:15
Hi Truckster, good looking 4be, like it better then your old one ?? 4.2td or the 3 litre !!. You just remined me by the pics to get a flag organized. Jeeze the wranglers belly out good with redued pressures. So you reckon 15psi is ok if required to go that low with out running tyre off rim obviously with out sharp turning and been a di@khead. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:03
Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:03
Hi Steve,
The only people I've seen who need low range on
Stockton Beach are the ones who run huge road pressures in their tyres.
Really mate I think you know the answer to your own question, just drop the pressures to what worked in the Hilux and let the auto handle the gear choice.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |