Why does my patrol struggle to do 115-120......the ANSWER

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 12:20
ThreadID: 49118 Views:3949 Replies:11 FollowUps:35
Hey all,
Well I had the Patrol Dynoes yesterday....and there is a bit to report.
I will try to scan the printout tonight and post it, but for now;
the first run showed base line power at 103.6 rwHP....not too bad, but a massive drop in power at 100kmph.
High speed air fuel ratio was set way too lean, and boost was on getting to 10psi because of this.
Pump timing was checked. slightly out, and reset to 0.74.
AFR was adjusted, and boost increased to match at 16psi.
the higher boost, allowed much more fuel, and AFR was set for the higher boost setting.
The final run produced a massive increase to 111.9 rwHP with a much more linear power curve, and no drop off at 100kmph.
i have ordered a replacement wasted gate actuator, to be able to achieve my 18psi, and have hopes of 120rwHP when retuned at higher boost.
The Patrol will now hapily sit on 130+, and overtaking is now a breeze.
Also the Range Rover doing 85 was removed from underneith, so no more scaping noises.

Thanks again all.
cheers,
Wayne-o

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 12:58

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 12:58
G'day Wayne-o
Is that Kate holding the Trevally in the second photo?? Looks like her - or someone very similar...
Drew
AnswerID: 259370

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:06

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:06
not unless my wife got a different name in a past life. haha
FollowupID: 520838

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:21

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:21
"A massive increase" ??? of 7.5% ??
AnswerID: 259374

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:35

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:35
well, i guess your right.....what's a 1hz get rwhp???????????? 7.5?
FollowupID: 520843

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:58

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:58
Well..strange you should ask that..there was a 60% increase in RWkw and a measly 45% increase in Nm of torque to 400Nm peaking at a lazy 76kph.
More than enough for me..I'm well past the stage of terminal velocity and happily putt along at 95-100kph..
Now is my thingy bigger that your thingy??
FollowupID: 520844

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:24

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:24
my thingy is bigger.
Yeah you can certainly get massive increases if turbo-ing a factory NA.
FollowupID: 520847

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:29

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:29
Thanks for the update Wayne.

Its definately got me thinking!

Now if only i could find the $$$$
AnswerID: 259377

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:53

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:53
So instead of driving over the RR road block doing 85, you will be able to jump right over the top. LOL
geez some people are wankers but it had a huge number of replies.
Hopefully the RR driver has fullfilled his promise and left the site.
AnswerID: 259381

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:44
no he has popped up only a day or so again Des, guess that ties in with Wayne's comment up top.
FollowupID: 520872

Follow Up By: dave_c - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:06
des lexic.

i dont agree with some of brian purdue comments either. so what, end of story, i read the next post. at least brian has his full name in view. you hide behind your screen name and try your best to ridicule and belittle him. what a big man that makes you. Pull Your Head In and move on or move out yourself. this site can do without the bully nature that blokes like you dish up.

dave
FollowupID: 520914

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:24

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:24
The previous thread may still be going...........next year. I stand by my comments just waiting for ol boz to do the same and move on, he threatened to do so enough times.
FollowupID: 520947

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:26

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:26
Geeze Uncle Des,
I believe a minimum search through old posts show's up your real name, mind you most people probably think its a screen name also LOL. I just find it a slight Oximoron that someone with only half their name showing is throwing stones "What The"

Mind you I do believe you should move on shortly LOL ,

Geeze I just realised Glenn Pascoe is also hiding behind a screen name...heheheh
FollowupID: 520992

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:28
Dave C
Your having a go at me for hiding behind a screen name has been done on here before. As Blaze points out, you only use half a name which makes me believe that your either a hypocrite or a wanker like the RR driver. I guess you know yourself better than anyone else so it's your choice. Come on fess up, which one of the two are you.
FollowupID: 521111

Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 21:05

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 21:05
des lexic,

your a funny bloke. i love good humour. i would love to catch up. the riverland 4wd club aside, where else can i find you. please please please let me know.
FollowupID: 521215

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:53

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:53
Ooh What A Feeling !!! Just kidding. Good to hear you had a good result

AnswerID: 259382

Reply By: Cam L - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:55
G'day Wayne.
Did you get your work done in Perth, or in the Pilbara?
Who did you use, and were you happy with them?
Cheers, Cam.
AnswerID: 259383

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:22

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:22
in the pilbara, karratha, Bath Bros, they are fantastic. very professional setup and operation.
FollowupID: 520846

Reply By: sastra - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:08

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:08
Fantastic work wayne...130+ wow!.. but I thought the speed limit was 110 even in Karratha.
Can't wait to have you rip past me and family on our next trip.
AnswerID: 259387

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:26

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:26
yes 110.
but if you read the original post, my problem was power over 100kmph, and there was a problem, and now its fixed, so had to be tested.....
Wayne-o
FollowupID: 520848

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:33

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:33
What sort of $$$ to get the dyno and check over?
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 259394

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:42

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 15:42
For you and in a language you understand

Four milkers

67 Calves

2 Broody chooks

7 Blackberry bushes

4,000,000 sparrows

Oh! what a feeling - ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 520856

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:50
$500 including karratha tax. LOL
Wayne-o
FollowupID: 520877

Reply By: Graeme - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:49

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:49
Good to see the gremlins have been found and sorted.

True story.....a neighbour of mine's son is a highway patrol officer in NSW. Was talking with him about the car and campervan that run into our dam the other day, and generally complaining about drivers who don't drive to the road conditions, and he mentioned out of the blue that he has had a run of opposite problems lately with Landrover drivers going too slow. He has pulled over 3 this month because they were more than 15kph under the posted limit. They were each breath tested and questioned about drug use as standard practice. He was saying the slower driver is usually unaware of the impact their lack of courtesy has on the rest of the drivers.

Change subject.
When you did this upgrade to your car was the piston undercrown cooling boosted??
AnswerID: 259409

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:52

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:52
piston undercrown cooling.....hmmm dont think so
FollowupID: 520878

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:00

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 17:00
"He was saying the slower driver is usually unaware of the impact their lack of courtesy has on the rest of the drivers."

I know your comment is only third hand but I would say ONLY IN NSW!!! And as the Californians would comment "Go figure"

I will happily sit on 80kmh on the highway and there is nothihng illegal or discourteous doing that. If the constabulary made an issue of it with me I would throw the book at them.
FollowupID: 520881

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:16
Willem, you should have realised by now that there are no more emotive issues here at EO, than the restriction of speed or alcohol.
I am on your side, drive at what ever speed you & your vehicle are comfortable with .... there is no requirement to drive at the MAXIMUM posted speed limit!

To be quite honest I find some of the replies here quite disturbing in regard to the above issues, & it no doubt contributes to the poor image 4WDs have in the eyes of other drivers.

Before the smart comments start, most of the time I drive at the posted limit, if I am towing the CT, I may drive a little under, but I always respect the right of other drivers to decide their own comfort zone.
FollowupID: 520917

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:33

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:33
LOL it's best to stay out of 'speed' discussions around here - too many legends in their own lunchboxes.

Fire away :)))))

FollowupID: 520923

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:34

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 19:34
If true what this Highway patrol officer said is worrying. To say the least. The maximum 100kph speed limit is not a" target" as far as I am concerned. Nowhere does it say you have to comply with maximum speed limits. I understand that we shopuld all drive to conditions but an Officer pulling people over because they are 15klms under and then "breath testing" Who is in the wrong?
Or am I just too old?
JimDi
FollowupID: 520924

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:02

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:02
Graeme,

Please tell me more about this "piston undercrown cooling" statement. What is it and what does it do?

Trevor.
FollowupID: 520937

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:17

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:17
I have no problem with people driving slow, its the idiots doing 80 on a single lane who then speed up to 110 when they get to an overtaking lane that get up my nose. Had this happen twice to me in 50 ks the other day when I was in the truck. The second time I had to brake hard at the end of the overtaking lane to avoid running up the back of this idiot.
The real problem I was so angry that I was tempted to give him a little nudge, thank god I didnt.
The problem mainly arises when you are driving a percieved slow vehicle. Doesnt happen when you are driving something like a xr6
Had the opposite problem today, truckie when out of his way to let me through, but then spent the next 40 ks tring to stay out http://eoas.exploroz.com/AS/Click.aspx?ClickURL=http%3a%2f%2fwww.ExplorOz.com%2fVehicle%2fCaravans%2fCompactCaravans.aspx&id=36
Caravans come in many styles, shapes and sizes.of his way lol
FollowupID: 520942

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:19
I ment to say trying to stay out of his way . Bugger lol
FollowupID: 520944

Follow Up By: dave_c - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:55
how interesting. Willem, a highly respected member and rightfully so, posts a not too disimilar post to Brian Purdue (actually goes 5kms slower) and all the tough talkers stay in their box's. " go figure".
FollowupID: 520959

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:08

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:08

HAHAHAHaHA!!, Willem is doing 80ks hr in a 110 zone, I pass him in the landrover, doing 95k, and where both a bloody menace on the road!!.

Never heard so much crap in years!!.

Regards Axle.
FollowupID: 520960

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:10

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:10
Wusses, bullies and windbags, the lot of 'em hahahahaha
FollowupID: 520962

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:19

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:19
Actually.....just the other day... I was driving down that hill between Carrieton towards Orroroo...when I glanced at the GPS and saw 140kmh on the face.......was wondering where that testy local cop was....and it reminded me of one night some years before...the very same hill in the G60....where I managed 153kmh.........and when I got home I saw that I had lost a Ubolt on a spring somewhere along the line.....................I'm a survivor, above or below 100....LOL
FollowupID: 520967

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:36

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:36
Willem ya blessed, dunno what with!, At 20yrs of age i sat on a 100mph in a valiant ute for what felt like hrs, crossing the Hay plains, as we approached Mildura a shocking thump started in the right side front wheel, turns out a lump on the inside of the tyre was hitting the tie rod end., I'm still here!.....lol.
FollowupID: 520972

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:44

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:44
Having a Yank as a wife and her son just moving to OZ, he had to do a driving test to get his Licence changed over. As far as a law against sitting below the speed limit, I'm not sure but he was informed and I believe this is correct, (in S.A.) anyway, that if he was travelling below the speed limit and had more than 5 vehicles held up behind him, it is an offence if he doesn't pull off the road to alow these vehicles past.

I also know if your on a dual lane and travel below posted speed in the right hand lane you can be fined.
FollowupID: 520994

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 11:43
Wayne,

Do a search on this "Piston Undercrown Cooling" it brings up some interesting reading and some big q's for my mechanics next time I'm over their way. I don't know if the 4.2 Patrol has this type of piston cooling setup or not but if it has not, is this the answer to keeping the old beast cool????? If it does have this type of piston cooling can I adjust the cooling effect to better help the engine temps stay lower for longer??????

Thanks Graeme for the pointer.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 521027

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:54

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:54
G'day Trevor,

If I'm not mistaken, the 3L Patrol has this type of under-crown cooling....IE: jets pointed upwards at the base of the piston, squirting oil at them. It was apparently this system that was awry in the 2000 model (well, that's one story/theory anyway), that was causing the early failure of those engines.

AFAIK, the 4.2 (being "old" technology), doesn't have these jets/nozzles.

FollowupID: 521119

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:08

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 09:08
Thanks Roachie,

I had an idea that this may be the case with our "old school" 4.2. Will still pose the question and when it comes time for the rebuild, I will be armed with knowledge hehehe.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 521141

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 17:17

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 17:17
Blaze, you will find that in most States, in particular SA it is illegal to travel in the outer lane unless you are overtaking, in areas where the limit is 80kmh or more.
It would also be impossible to tell how many vehicles were "being held up", they may just be travelling at the same speed.

This is C & P from Victorian Road Laws:

Speed limit signs tell you the maximum speed you can drive in normal conditions. You must always obey them by not exceeding the speed shown .....
..... You have to decide what is a safe speed within the specified limit.
FollowupID: 521197

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 22:51

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 22:51
Trevor and Roachie,

With this under-crown cooling....IE: jets pointed upwards at the base of the piston, squirting oil at them, yous are talking about, when I had the sump off my Patrol about 7 months ago I did notice some jet/tubes pointing up into each cylinder and wondered what they were there for. My thoughts were for oil but still had no idea really.
Sorry to contradict your thoughts about "old technology" but they were definitely there, whether they are what yous are talking about or not I don't know but it certainly sounds like it

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 521348

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 13:11

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 13:11
No worries Luke, As usual I was talking through my @rse....I've never seen up inside a Patrol's engine.......it is such a rare event that the sump ever has to be taken off a Patrol 4.2 (unlike the wobbly old 4.2 Yota donk which needs new bottom-end bearings every 2nd oil change).

I guess I just "assumed" that the 4.2 didn't have those squirters cos the only mention I've heard of them was in relation to the 3 litre motor etc etc.......

Cheers blokes

FollowupID: 521398

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:18

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:18
Why would you want 18psi?

If it happily sits on 130 now, why would you want to put unneeded stress and pressure on your engine?
AnswerID: 259486

Reply By: blown4by - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 00:42

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 00:42
Many respected Traffic Engineers have for years held the belief (attested to by accident statistics) that overtaking is one of the riskiest maneuvers facing the driver of a vehicle. The theory being that if all vehicles traveled at the same speed there would be no build up in numbers of vehicles following a slower moving vehicle thus no need to overtake therefore a reduction in the risk and lower road toll. This has been discussed at length in WA with the State speed limit of 110kph and the maximum speed of heavy vehicles is 100kph thereby necessitating that cars must continually overtake trucks. Perhaps this is what the Patrolman meant and why on freeways there is a minimum as well as a maximum speed and if you are outside of either you are liable to be booked. Perhaps those who wish to travel at 80kph in a 110kph zone (as they are obviously not on a time schedule) as a matter of courtesy to the scores of vehicles behind them should pull over occasionally, collect some wood, boil the billy, have a lie down. I wonder if those same drivers are the ones that by "strange coincidence" increase their speed to that which is posted when a passing lane appears or move into the right passing lane and sit on the same speed as those in the left thereby preventing us all, which when safe to do so, have the right to drive at the posted maximum speed. Just as they have the right to travel below the posted limit. If only those who drafted the Road Traffic Code could have included rules covering courtesy and that very uncommon commodity "common sense".
AnswerID: 259820

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 14:39

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 14:39
There is no minimum speed requirement on freeways in Victoria.
FollowupID: 521299