Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 13:55
fourbyman
To Hold or Not to Hold?????????? GPS
Has anyone had experiences with Garmin Etrex Legend, I have raked enough to buy! would like/appreciate any feedback
Apparently you can download Toppo maps to suit 4x4 trips, I can still read a street directory so don't need to find metro streets etc, just for the bush!
Thanks in anticipation
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:37
Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 14:37
Which one did you get ,
eTrex Legend ...NO .it only has an additional 8MB of memory
eTrex Legend Cx...MAYBE ???
Legend Cx/with 512MB MicroSD...MAYBE ???
I can't as yet find information that will verify if T4A will work in the eTrex Cx
eTrex range
Follow Up By: Robin hood - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:01
Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:01
Doug,
T4A does work on Legend CX. I got one from GPSOZ with a 1G card with it loaded on all ready. I have also loaded shonky maps on to card with heaps of space left. No problems running either one
Jason
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:04
Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 16:04
Jason
I fully suspected it would but wasn't going to commit myself until I'm 100% sure
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 04:23
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 04:23
I have an Etrex Legend, black and white one ,,,, gr8 little GPS, all I need at the moment, for my travells. There is a program out there for it called Mapsource, and I plan off it, and when we get back I drop the actual route back on the computer.
If my memory serves me correctly, they have 8 megs of memory, which is all I need, ( at the moment )
Try this link
http://www.ja-gps.com.au/gpsprod_etrexlegend.html
I am sure they are only too hapy to help you ,,, they did me !
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:56
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:56
Gday Bycky and Fourbyman
I'm currently in the same boat, use a very simple oldish garmin, and do trip planning and put saved tracks on the compy=uter using mapsource. I have also been shown a free program called gps trackmaker, which will convert most gps files to suit individual units and brands. It will also convert a kml file from google earth, so you can make a track on google earth (they call it a path), save it as a kml file, then convert it to a garmin file (or other brand of gps) and load it onto the gps or into mapsource.
Hopefully over the next few days I will be able to test the gps trackmaker program, as I think it will also let me use google earth as a mooving map......
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: fourbyman - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:58
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 07:58
Thanks people one and all, I knew that I would get fair dinkum advice, this
forum is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:29
Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 08:29
Save a little more and get a gpsmap 60cx or cxs. The reason is they use the SIRF III chipset that will give you much better reception and a faster fix time than the Etrex's (Other wise the ETrex's are ok)