Pig gets slight chest infection - top story!

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:28
ThreadID: 49133 Views:3098 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
Gorden Bloody Bennett!

Horses get a bit of a cold and the news system in Oz goes crazy!

Something of a priority confusion issue here I think.

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:39
I knew it was a good idea becoming a vegetarian , this way the Pig won't pass on its cold to me.

AnswerID: 259447

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:43

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:43
Pigs ? What happened to goats ?
AnswerID: 259450

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:47

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 20:47
Goats are robust animals and would not succumb to a bit of a sniffle in the way the entire equine population has, apparently!

Additionally: they smell nicer and are better looking.

FollowupID: 520955

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:04

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:04
I agree Harding... Goats are far nicer animals than Horses. Damned horses are just 4 legged lumps of frenetic energy...
FollowupID: 521072

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:02

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:02
my goats got no nose!
FollowupID: 521084

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:16

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 19:16
How unusual.

How does he smell? :)
FollowupID: 521086

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 20:14

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 20:14
bloody awful!

(i knew you would'nt let me down mike)

ps bit worried by shaker's mention of AIDS.
you can't get AIDS of a goat can you?
a 'friend' of mine is now worried!
FollowupID: 521091

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:47

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 21:47
Yes I would have to agree Mike, net the Gov will be handing out money to cover there hard ship...

AnswerID: 259469

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:03

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 00:03
well it's only money
FollowupID: 521128

Reply By: Zapper - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:49

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:49
Think you are missing the point.

This flu has managed to circumvent Australias' supposed tough quarantine, is that not big news????? Maybe we should introduce foot and mouth and see if that is big news??????
AnswerID: 259476

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 16:19

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 16:19
Thats what it is about ..
but you can see the usual ignorance in the responses ..
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 521061

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:01

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 18:01
Utter rubbish!

I haven't heard _one_ mention of quarantine on the news and/or current affairs analysis about it.

In fact this afternoon the ABC 3LO station devoted time to how racing at Randwick (sp?) will be canceled.

PS. gmd: just wondered... are you German by origin?
FollowupID: 521077

Follow Up By: Zapper - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:35

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 21:35
So the quarantine breach is not important??

You must listen to obscure radio stations. Do you not listen to the news, you didn't hear australias 3DE Olympic coach Heath Ryan talking about it. You havent heard all the outraged people interviewed who are stranded at Morgan park for at LEAST another 30 days camping in trucks and floats when they only planned on being there overnight? This is the most significant quarantine breach in Australias history. And as for racing industry it employs more people than you think. Look at the outrage if someone suggests closing logging down somewhere that costs a couple of hundred jobs, racing industry is massive, employs thousands and thousands of people. This is a huge story, the racing side of it gets the most coverage as that is what the average Joe public can relate to.

What would you think if you went camping for a weekend and because of a quarantine breach you were stranded for over a month, cant go to your job, cant make money, what if it was your livelyhood and now you couldnt do it any more??
FollowupID: 521100

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:12

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:12
Seeing how Horses are native to Australia..

I think quarantine was breached long ago..
FollowupID: 521107

Follow Up By: Zapper - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:50

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 22:50
hmmm and I suppose humans were native too....???Quarantine is to stop diseases as well as animals
FollowupID: 521118

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:52

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 22:52
It has been described as a tragedy, AIDS is a tragedy, horse flu is an inconvenience.
AnswerID: 259477

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:02

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 17:02
Strewth yeah...AIDS is a tragedy but mine has been relieved by my tax cheque.... AIDS=Acute Income Deficiency Syndrome....
FollowupID: 521071

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:21

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2007 at 23:21
As a non-gambler I just cannot believe to hoo-haa about this issue. Yes I do feel sorry for all the people that work in the racing and other horse related industries that may lose some money out of this. Horse transport truckies and so on have been hit pretty hard. But people have income insurance. There will be various compensation schemes about probably funded by the taxpayer. It is not the end of the world....

But the carryings on about people not having the chance to gamble their money away (or is it washing dirty money?) just defy belief! Where are people's priorties??? The TAB's are anxiously looking for other stuff like dogs or NZ harness racing to offer people somthing to punt on!

There was an article in SMH about the Chief Steward of NSW racing earlier in the week. This guy has spent virtually EVERY weekend of his life trackside since he could walk. Last weekend he watched his young son play soccer and said it was almost a life changing experience. He spoke of a colleague who watched his daughter play netball for the first time ever.

I was amazed to see in one report that racing is apparantly the third biggest industry in Australia. Peter Costello has had a press conference about the effects of this "crisis" on the Australian Economy!

Imagine if all that money that was just frittered away and endlessly turned over at tracks around Australia was put to other uses. More likely the punter would just turn to the bloody pokies. Don't even get me STARTED on those things!

Anyway - enough of a rant for me. Back to enjoying the magnificent sights Australia has to see and what better way to do it that in a 4WD Toyota!

Muddy
AnswerID: 259488

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:54

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 00:54
Nations starving to death, people chucking bombs at each other 'cos they have different gods, old folks getting beaten to a pulp for 5 bucks, kids being raped at 5 years of age, serious crime off the end of the scale, drink 'n drugs at an all time high,education system that ruins kids, a hospital system that's approaching Third World standards,,,,,,,,,and we top the news with 4 (THAT'S FOUR) pages about Horse 'Flu!!

GEEEZUS!!

What a country we're turning into!!

Bilbo

FollowupID: 520995

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:58

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:58
Couldn't agree more.

People living in the Murray Darling Basin are about to go through an extremely traumatic period with water flows not expected to be sufficient to keep the various plantings alive. I wonder wether the Feds will compensate all the growers out there who will take years to recover from this disaster. Then there is the onflow of supportive business who will also suffer a big downturn in their turnover and have a high potential to go broke. I can't understand why all the news reports are around an industry that consistently get govt funding to prop them up when people in Australia are trying to make a living and constantly get shat upon by govt policy on tarriffs and imports.
Whilst I'm on my bike, How come the Victorian and NSW govts are allowing huge irrigation projects to begin at this time so that Timbercorp can plant up thousands of Hectares of tree lots. Surely some common sense must prevail and put a halt to these projects until the catchment areas at least catch up.
FollowupID: 521023

Reply By: montana - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:21

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 10:21
ever wonder what all the people who spend there time at the tab are doing now! they will need councilling wont they? surly they are entitled to compensation or something as well.
AnswerID: 259538

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:15

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:15
yep.....media hype
10's of millions of $$$ loss cos of the horse flu?

what about the $$$$$ lost to the economy when the common cold season comes around....in lost time prodictive hours

then we can add in ...I mean, do the equestrain varieties get paid time off cos their sniffling nose wont let them run fast enough? no just their board and keep...not with the human variety...they get paid sick leave (whether they have the cold or not...just telling the boss they have it says they are entitkled to paid time off) and this ($$$$$) cost is on top of lost productivity.

Humans dont even rate a mention when it comes to the common cold let alone the Asian flu...even the deaths of some elderly and babies due to the Asian didnt get that sort of media hype!!!

flipping journalists ...worse than pollies
AnswerID: 259551

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:50

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:50
M #1,

The humble human flu has hit my place with our 10 month old being admitted to hospital on Tuesday with pneumonia which resulted from the flu. She had seen 4 doctors in the space of 5 days until the last one realised that she was really sick.

I think they were more concerned with the equine variety.

Kev

PS Happy Birthday BTW :))

FollowupID: 521043

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:55

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 13:55
hope she is on the mend....

yep your probably right...they were more intersetd in the hose variety

and thanks
FollowupID: 521044

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 14:00

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 14:00
I just got the call from SWMBO they are on the way home :))

and you don't look a day over 30 LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 521045

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 14:04

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 14:04
thats great

l
FollowupID: 521047

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 15:32

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 15:32
I think I'm going down with this equestrian flu............

I'm feeling a bit horse.
FollowupID: 521056

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 15:39

Thursday, Aug 30, 2007 at 15:39
I am concerned about OUR quarantine issues, the fact this got in in the first place.

As for the horses and their flu, I know its bad and there is/will be a big $$$ fallout. When I'm sick with the flu it's also a big $$$ fallout but no one gives a rats as$ about that, or for that matter heaps of people going off sick also has a huge impact on people, business and the economy, no body really cares about that.

Like someone said, what about the water issues on the Murray, this will effect many people as well and will take many years to recover and who cared about the citrus canter that devastated central Qld fruit industry.

What about our hospitals (Leigh Creek) for example, a heap more $$$ in this area is needed through the country.

I feel their are more pressing issues that need to be highlighted.

The horses flu will sort out and be back on track so to speak soon, but the quarantine issue MUST be fixed.

AnswerID: 259566