Troopy wheels&tyres

Submitted: Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 23:09
ThreadID: 49203 Views:8910 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hi. Does anyone know much about Toyota HJ75 Troopcarrier wheels and tyres?

I have my 89 troopy fitted with 31x10.50R15 load index 109 and just wandering whether these are suitable for this size of vehicle as on the manufacturers plate it states load index 114 and higher.

Is there any danger of running the vehicle in this condition? Can I overload the tyres? I have seen many troopies on the same tyres/wheels as I have.

Thanx to anyone who gives an opinion.

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:49

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:49
Hi Fidlim, had the same model Troopy for years (great truck!). Cant help you with the technical stuff but can tell you form experience that when I had the 31x10.5x15's on the speedo was out close to 10%. Changed back to a set of chrome steel 16" rims - looked great and the speedo was spot on.

Alex
AnswerID: 259834

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:27

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:27
Fidlim

Funny name for a Troopy owner/driver (LOL)

Mate! this is what you need and here is where you go to get it.

Tire Size Calculator
AnswerID: 259856

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:32

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:32
Ooops!

Just in case you are not familiar with this type calculator.

AYou can use it in a mumber of ways to suit your purpose.

However, with your request , I would most probably put the the tyre Placard size in as the control, and then place all the other tiyres that you run or wish to try in as the query tyres.

It also allows for entering re engineering specs .
FollowupID: 521288

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:45

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:45
Hi Lucy, do you know if there is a weight chart somewhere,that explains what the load index numbers represent
Shane
FollowupID: 521290

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:47

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:47
Its on there,should've looked before asking!
FollowupID: 521291

Follow Up By: fidlim - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:14

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:14
Thanx the placard does not have anything else but 7.50R16 on it and no load index, just numerical equvivalent of such{i think there is 1135@certain psi}.

I even asked the bridgestone dealer whether these are suitable for my truck and they have aprooved it. They for sure had the option of telling me that these are useless and sell me some more expensive tyres.

I have been to the calculator site before and it does not give advice on the load index and BTW the 31x10.50r15 are supposed to be acceptable on the terms of size.

Can you give me advice what tyres you guys have on your troopies.
FollowupID: 521294

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:35

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 12:35
It may become an issue if something goes really wrong and some one looks.
If you aren't going any where far ,or loaded to the hilt, it shouldn't be an issue,however I personally wouldn't stuff around with substandard tyres especially if your loading 'er up or going away.
What the load index numbers represent has been posted somewhere on this forum before,and it is surprising how much more weight a 114 tyre can carry compared to a 109.
Just adding to the other reply,31 inch tyres are smaller in diameter than the standard 7.50/16 (only by about an 1 inch)thus giving a slight speed inaccuracy
Shane
AnswerID: 259857

Follow Up By: fidlim - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:23

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 13:23
thanx for the tip,

as I have stated before I have seen heaps of simmilar trucks on the tyres I have and according to your opinion they would be driving on illegal tyres. I am shocked that this can happen around Australia.

and is a tyre dealer resposible for giving you wrong advice and installing substandard tyres on a vehicle?
FollowupID: 521295

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 18:00

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 18:00
I have also seen heaps of 10R 15 on cruisers with no drama at all,I personally have 235/85 16's on spilt rims.
These have a 10 ply case and load index of 118/120(118 for dual wheel purpose,120 single wheel),overkill I know,I didn't buy them for comfort or precise handling or quiet high speed freeway work,I bought them the bush and thats about it.
If you look around at some of the 2WD utes that got low profile tyres I'll bet that load rating on them, have given way to looks,no doubt theres obvious gains in flicking 7.50 split for 10R 15 tubless,(I done it myself on a 70 series shorty I used to own),but what would you do if the tyre and wheel package you want was refused to you by a dealer? most blokes would just go down the road.
and, yes tyre dealer's ARE resposible,if something happens to a vehicle, and the cause is traced to the tyres, they go.
I have changed tyre size on a 4WD ute I owned and had a fair amount of difficulty getting somewhere near what I wanted, and still ended up Illegal, mind you, you would really be spliting hairs declaring it illegal(29 mm over diameter when you only allowed 15mm), but illegal none the less.
Shane

FollowupID: 521311

Follow Up By: fidlim - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 08:28

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 08:28
When you say you have split rims with 235/85R16 did you mean 16x6 or standard 16x5.5? thanx for answer
FollowupID: 522393

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 14:55

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 14:55
Fidlim

Here is another site 'tire bible' which will give you a heap more on tyres.

Tyre Bible

By using the first link I gave you and this one, you will be able to determine your current speed and load ratings and compare your current tyre physical sizes (Diam & width) against the engineered specs for your vehicle.
AnswerID: 259869

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 00:40

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 00:40
FIDLIM

The placard normally doesn't have a weight spec on it as the OEM has no idea what you are going to load the vehicle with.

Your vehicle will have GVM spec on the compliance plate which for a 75 series Troopy is around 3100kg.

If you break that down to 1000kg for the front axle and 2000kg for the rea axle you will be very close to the engineered limits.

This is where you get your minimum tyre weigt from.

Eg. rear axle 2 x 1000kg = 1000kg for each wheel as this is where your OEM load weight corresponds to excluding vehicle modificatiuons.

On the tyre chart 1000kg = load rating of 108

and increases in approx 30kg increments

eg.

1030kg = 109

1060kg = 110

etc etc

If you pick/choose a rating of 1000kg you are a dill and living on the edge

The lettering is the speed rating od the tyre and you can work that one out for yourself.

What do I do for tyres - easy.

Firstly I look for the tyre tread pattern I want and then check to see if the tyre has rim edge protection ie rubber bead edge extends/protrudes out over the edge of the rim.

Then I look for the Load Rating and never get one under 116 and/or speed rating less than N

Why, because I have had the Troopy re-engieered for GVM which is now 3495kg and I like to have a safety margin.

Then I look at Side wall construction - self explanatory.

Then we go to sizes.

Mine had 16in rims so it gets 16in tyres regardless of the fact that 15in will fit. OEM specs are based on 16in so that is what it gets.

Mind you I have had a 15in on there once as a make shift to get back to civilisation.

Tyre size - from memory you increase the dia by 15 mm and the width by 25mm and still be legal.

There is a national change to one code spec for allowable tyre size increases over OEM specs, however I don't think it has been adopt by the states as yet.

So for you

OEM 7.50 R16 31 10.50 R15

Dia 803mm 786mm
height 198mm 202mm
Width 191mm 267mm
Speed 100Kph 102 Kph

Load Rating 109

You have gone for extra width haven't you - at lowest cost. Good idea however in this instance my thoughts are as follows.

(1) 109 load rating is just within minimum and I have never ever seen a true 4WD thats off road and within the Max Load specs. Just a fact of life, you carry heaps of chit

(2) Width is approx 50mm over whats allowable to increases to OEM specs.

These two areas are where the safety, insurance and roadworthy aspects come into question.

Have a good week end and dream tyre size, vehicle specs and what is and is not legal.
AnswerID: 259917

Follow Up By: fidlim - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 10:27

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 10:27
Hi hi,
not greedy and trying to save money but
1) when I bought the truck it had 2 sets of wheels 4pcs 16''x7 sunraysias with 7.5s on them -1-0mm left on them 1pc of split rim with desert dueler 7.5 roadworthy and then 5 pcs of 15'' with roadworthy 31'' M/Ts but some cuts and scuff and grazemarks on the sidewalls and not very reliable looking.
So to prevent sliding across the intersection sideways with blownout tyre I went for compromise meaning 31'' desert duelers cheap but reasonable quality.

I always wanted 235/85R16 but I am unsure what rims to choosse as it is very hard to find 1 or 2 16x7 six stud sunraysias for good price and I don't want to go back to splitrims or having just the spares on splitrims (I suppose you can do that).

The 265/70R16 is another option as the diameter is exactly the same as 7.5R16 but the incrase in widht scares me a bit which does not make much sence after all because these are approximately the same widht as the 31'' tyres. But then the load index is much pleasent to look at.

Speed I am not worried about as this is not an F1. max on highway 110 S rating is way over that as far as I know 180kph
FollowupID: 521381

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 16:20

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 16:20
I dont get it - you say the vehicle had 4 16x7 rims and one 16 inch splitty
so why not just buy 4 decent 235x85 10 ply tyres such as Goodyear MTR or you can fit 265x75 on a 7 inch as well. Both are the same diametre so your splitty can be a spare no matter which way you go.
Dont wast your time with 15s they are 6 ply construction usually and are not suitable for loaded 4bys as they just "pop" when driving on stony roads, tread fractures and down they go - quickly
FollowupID: 521408

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 00:47

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 00:47
You have received a ton of advice and info above , now you just have to sort your situation out yourself.

Best of British Luck in your future endeavours and decisions.

AnswerID: 260026

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 10:41

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 10:41
Hi Fidlum,
I used the standard 6inch rim which came with the 105 and are coloured silver,the utes and troopys came with 5.5 and are grey,
The rim size is stamped on the inside of the wheel and also the split rings are not interchangable(found out the hard way) between 6 and 5.5.Cheers
Shane
AnswerID: 261005