Degreasing Engine Bays

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 16:31
ThreadID: 49218 Views:4195 Replies:3 FollowUps:7

On my last oil change I went with a thinner than usual (and synthetic) oil on my 80 Series (1FZ-FE) on the recommendation of a mate. Problem is that given that my motor is starting to get on a bit (230k) the thinner oil found lots of ways to escape, resulting in me now having a very oily engine bay.

I'm going to go back to my old oil on this change and when I do, I want to degrease the engine bay to see how much oil leaks with the thicker oil. Problem is, I have no where to do it.

My questions...

1/ I was thinking of going to the local carwash but I don't reckon they'd be real happy with that. Maybe go under the cover of darkness? Comments?

2/ Also, would the high pressure hose they use be bad for the motor? Seals etc?

3/ And lastly, it's a good 20mins drive away so how cool would the motor have to be before I blast it with cold (I think) water?

Any other suggestions would be great as well!

Scoey!

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 20:29

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 20:29
Your local car detailer will do it for arround $20.00
AnswerID: 259903

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:36

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:36
Worth a look! Cheers!
FollowupID: 521387

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 22:18

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 22:18
go to the local car wash
they shouldnt have a problem one of the options on the car wash is wheel/engine cleaner.
go to repco/bursons ect and buy a cpl of tins of degreaser.
drive to the car wash and spray it on heaps while the motor is warm.
make sure you bring a berr along and drink it while giving the degreaser time to work and exhaust time to cool down a little
use the high pressure spray and clean away
you wont damage any seals ect but just for safety(ive never had a prob)try to keep away from exhaust.
AnswerID: 259912

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:38

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:38
Excellent - thanks No1. So you reckon the degreaser doing it's thing is a one beer job eh? So if I make it a two beer job it will be twice as good? ;-) hehe!

Thanks!
FollowupID: 521388

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:03

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:03
Don't - repeat DON'T apply high pressure water jet directly that is DIRECTLY) onto any electrical components, hoses, belts, seals including steering components, tyres or plastic bumpers/fittings. To choose otherwise is to invite problems.
AnswerID: 259947

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:39

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 11:39
G'Day DIO,

Cheers for the heads up! I will use the high pressure hose with caution! :-)

Cheers!
Scoey
FollowupID: 521389

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 18:57

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 18:57
DIO

I can understand the alternator but the other things? I have been cleaning my engine bay with high pressure for years now in the Patrol and other 4x4's and have never had a problem
FollowupID: 521427

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:37

Sunday, Sep 02, 2007 at 21:37
Hey Troll,

Yeah I was speaking to a mate of mine tonight who says he does his with the high pressure hose as well - with no problems. I guess if you stuck the nozzle right up against the back of the steer pump or something you might be asking for trouble but I suppose if I go with care I'll be right!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 521445

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 08:13

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 08:13
If you're on the south side any time soon drop in with a couple of cans of degreaser and we'll do it in the drive way (wash your engine bay that is !! ) with the Karcher, like I do all mine, and have done for years on cars and bikes.
Been doing it that way since using the high pressure hose at the local bp in the mid 80's.
If your going to use cans of degreaser just be sure to wash it on a surface other than someones front lawn, as the grass doesn't take too kindly to the stuff, nor will the cook take too kindly to the big brown patches that appear a few days later :-))

Pezza
FollowupID: 521482

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 16:54

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 16:54
G'Day Pezza,

I'm up on the Northside near Caboolture so it's a bit of a hike! Thanks heaps for the offer but, I appreciate it! ;-) I'll just get a few cans of degreaser and a few cans of beer and head to the car wash I reckon!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 521534