Willem
I am looking for any information on O'Grady's
Well, Northern Territory, in the
Lake Mackay Aboriginal Trust Lands. UTM 535 711 E 75 63 282N Natmap Raster Topo 1M (although Topo 250K gives a different position)
Michael Terry came upon it whilst exploring this area in the 1930's.
Apparently this
well was carved into
sandstone with steps leading down to the
water. This is quite foreign as Aboriginal people did not necessarily have the implements to do such work.
I would like to go there and have a look, if permission can be obtained. Trouble is, it will be around 400km return of cross country off-track driving from the nearest station.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 07:37
Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 07:37
I'll keep you company Willem - the
young bloke has fired me up on this one too .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 08:16
Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 08:16
No worries mate, but yer better start saving up for some MRF Tyres....lol
Maybe we can look to do it sometime the winter of 2008
Reply By: equinox - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:25
Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:25
I can find only one reference to it Willem, in Terry's book, "War of the Warramullas". It certainly has an interesting description as you say.
Warburton went very close to it in 1872-74 but I do not have access to his journal to check.
400km offtrack seems excessive. On my map if you follow station tracks west from
Vaughan Springs and Treuer Range and along a track running along Ethel
Creek you can get within 50kms to Sanford Cliffs, which is in the vicinity of your co-ords.
Good luck you two!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:40
Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:40
Al
I have a map from Terry's book Sand and Sun
I guesstimated from
Vaughan Springs via Oziexplorer about 200km to Sandford Cliffs where the one position is shown on Natmap 1M Topo. The other position is shown about 50km to the east of that position on 250K Topo. Later I saw some station tracks halfway along Ethel
Creek on the map. So maybe it will not be that extreme. Another alternative is to go in from
Nirrippi and take a Traditional Owner with us. Have to start working on it soon.
All of this is planned to take place on our way back from
Cape York next year.
Reply By: Harry - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:37
Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:37
G'day Willem,
Well I might be able to help with that 1 for you.
A group of our guys might be back or just getting back from a trip from Mt Webb to Lake McKay and onto the Tanami and I daresay Ron would have checked out O'Grady's on the way through.
I'll see what I can find out.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:18
Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:18
Thanks in advance, Harry. It seems like a good project. I have an old mate who is intrigued by it and so I have spurred him on to start organising access etc as he is familiar with elders in the areas adjacent to
Lake Mackay.
Reply By: Harry - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:24
Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:24
Have spoken to Ron and they went up the west side of Lake McKay and finished up in Balgo.
So the answer to O'Grady's is no unfortunately, but he is Emailing the track file to me and I will pass that on.
They had 29 punctures between 8 vehicles and the vehicle that had none was on MTR's. ( I got those) :>))
I did say to email straight to you but he had other things happening so I left it at that.
Was very rough, so sounds as though the bull-bar was working overtime.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:45
Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:45
Thanks Harry
Driving on radials cross country is fraught with danger. I destroyed a set of Coopers that way. Thats why I have switched back to crossplies for bush work and only use tubeless for bitumen driving.
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:50
Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:50
Willie
A coupla thoughts for you - however, you may have checked these or similar avenues out already?
1) ask Dick Kimber.
2) see what the NT library has on line.
3) a bit remoter possibility, but check the SLSA (SA state library)website for M Terry,
Lake Mackay, D Carnegie, the Elder Expedition, the Calvert Expedn., Alfred Canning, etc etc etc.
4) ask the Royal Geographical Society of SA.
Rick.
PS Plurry cold down here the last few nights!
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58
Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:58
G'day Rick
Where ya been?
Thanks for the tips. Will be following up all avenues of research.