Chainsaw and boat trailer

Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 12:30
ThreadID: 49261 Views:3736 Replies:13 FollowUps:12
What chainsaws do people carry, use and recommend? Will only be used for firewood collection and normal off road (not too serious) travels. I need it to fit in the CT. Price (within reason) isn't the issue but do I need to be buying a Stihl or Husquvana or are the cheaper options suitable?

I covered this in a previous post but it may be missed due to the age of the other post. Are the portable fold up boat trailers accepatbel for general tinnie (3.7 metre) use? This would avoid me having to have a home one plus one for the camper. Am I better off with a sprung Real-Ezy (Barcoo?) for this purpose. I am not talking towing the boat across Aus with it, just up to 50km for local fishing. Rob from Real-Ezy, do you have some info?

Rob

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 13:33
I have a Stihl 260c. Not cheap, but small for easier packing and plenty of power. Unfortunately there are occasions when you will need to remove larger wind blown trees blocking tracks so do not get too smaller a saw.

Don't forget to also do a chainsaw operators course (If you have not already done one) so you know how to use it safely.
I also carry an Axe, Chain sharpening gear, wedges, fuel, chain lube and a first aid kit :-( .
AnswerID: 260070

Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 13:57

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 13:57
Rob,
I carry a Stihl MS180c (baby chainsaw) but it does the job.
One thing I have noticed in my travels is that if you get a name brand one like Stihl, Husqvarna, echo and the like you will always be able to get parts for them nearly everywhere.
Mine has the easy start system (my 6 year old can fire it up) and the bar/chain are removed without the need for tools.

Rob
AnswerID: 260075

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 14:16

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 14:16
.... (my 6 year old can fire it up) ....

EEEEEEK.......Hope you bought hime the newest play-station x-box for his birthday....if not look out.... ;-)

FollowupID: 521517

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 14:20

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 14:20
Mark,
How did you knw his birthday was last Saturday??????
Got him a Sherrin Footy and other footy stuff........and yes the chainsaw is locked up in the shed.

But they really are very easy to start, hence the name easy2start.

Rob
FollowupID: 521518

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:40

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:40
ROblin,

Missed this one but posted a reply to your trailer enquriy on the other thread.

AnswerID: 260095

Follow Up By: roblin - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 18:28

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 18:28
Thanks Ian. what size boat have you on the trailer and have you had any problems with the trailer?
FollowupID: 521543

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:02

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:02
Roblin,

I run a 3.1 mtr Ally Craft pointy nose punt.

Son has used it to bring a 3.7 mtr Savage runabout with motor back from Bribie Island in Queensland.

Have not had a single problem in three years of solid use, nothing worked loose, nothing dropped off, nothing needed replacing.

Robert won't make any money from selling spare parts that's for sure.

FollowupID: 521658

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:48
Robin,

If yer in W.A., don't get caught using a chainsaw for anything except in yer back garden. It's illegal to cut down anything here - even if you are neck deep in fallen trees across a track,,,,,,,,yep -even if it's ALREADY fallen down!!

Bilbo

PS - I swear by Stihl - the best,,,,,,,,,
AnswerID: 260098

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 18:43

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 18:43
Ummm, with the exception of designated firewood collection areas as deignated by CALM
Was not aware of any other limitations either, as I cut firewood in the SW during winter for friends down here in Dunsborough.

Go the Echo ... ~6hp
FollowupID: 521544

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:53

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 15:53
Stihl , MS200T , is in the professional range so not cheap but is extremely light yet powerful , take the bar off and its about the same size as a 6 pack of stubbies , most tree loppers use the same when climbing ,.
AnswerID: 260100

Reply By: Coops (Perth) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 16:11

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 16:11
Husky = best ever
AnswerID: 260103

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:08

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:08
The biggest, most powerful and noisy sucker that you can fit in the CT (LOL)
AnswerID: 260135

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:05
Not advocating a visit to the Cross are you?
FollowupID: 521859

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:35

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:35
Rob, the chainsaw question has been pretty well answered. I'd just say that I also have a Stihl and it is well worth getting a good brand like it for reliability.

As to the boat trailer, most will handle boats up to 3.9m with no problem.Mine is an Almac aluminium one with no suspension. I find it great, with the biggest benefit being the light weight. I carry it on the draw bar of the CT, which has a lot of other stuff on it, so weight was important.Mine (and many others) are speed rated to 80 KPH. Not a problem for me, but worth knowing. Not sure if there is a speed restriction on the suspension models - perhaps not.

The suspension models are certainly worth considering for your purpose (only boat trailer), but are quite heavy (compared to the Almac for example), but if the extra KGs are not a problem, it may be a good solution.
AnswerID: 260141

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:46

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:46
G'day Norm,

Hope your travels have been outstanding and that a meter barra was part of that. A question if you know, can your trailer be registered? Or don't bother because it is just for the trip to the ramp in the camping ground.

Theo
FollowupID: 521646

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:56

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:56
Hi Theo,
Great trip. So good we are going back to the same area next year, only for longer. No metre long barra, but plenty of them all the same (and lots of other varieties, plus crabs and prawns - life's a bitch sometimes). 89cm was the biggest in the salt. Got a couple above 90cm in the dams on the way up. Still to get one over a metre, but another trip to Awoonga in early November will hopefully solve that.

Yes, the trailer can be, and is registered. Depending on where we are going, I sometimes don't bother to take the light board. Having it registered (costs bugger all) is handy though so you can take it on road if the need arises.
FollowupID: 521647

Reply By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:37

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:37
Good evening Rob,
Yes the Barcoo will certainly suit your needs. I towed my 3.75 Quintrex with 15hp motor on a Barcoo last week from Brisbane to Maclean a distance of over 300ks at all legal speeds and it handled like a gem. I also have two other Barcoo models that are not on my web site as yet, one is made from 40mm steel box section and the other is 50mm aluminium.
The Barcoo can certainly replace the need for two trailers and many of our Customers who have purchased the Barcoo have later sold their standard boat trailer.
Feel free to give me a call day or night 7 days a week.
Rob
AnswerID: 260142

Follow Up By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:43

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 19:43
Forgot to mention the weight of the Barcoo models:
Barcoo 68kg total, Barcoo Lite 58kg total and Barcoo Aluminium 48kg total.
Rob
FollowupID: 521559

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:41

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:41
We got a small electric one - cheapest in Bunnings. We have tried it and it cuts small firewood well. We can run it off the Honda genny, so starting won't be any problem. Ours is just as an insurance in case we need to trims any branches, as we don't have camp fires.

AnswerID: 260194

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 03:18

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 03:18
DON'T HAVE CAMP FIRES - What R Ya!.

It's very simple, just gather something that burns readily and if if it doesn't thats not a problem.

Whompen Juice can be extracrted from the vehicles fuel system apprlied to the recalcitrant material to be burn't and away you go.

Just keep adding combustible material until you have fire so hot that it will vapourise an ali can within 10 secs and your done.

Nothing like one of those in the Simpsom or National Parks.

Roachie told me once that they are just the greatest for vapourising all your rubbish, sump oil when changing in the bush and No.2's so that no animals dig same up.

Mater of fact its renewable energy all over again.

Burn the rubbish and combustible material and make carbon (lots of it) as the trees love this stuff. They just eat it like no tomorrow and grow big and fat on it .

When they die and drop , well you just start all over again.

Thank you 'Russell ' for you tips on how to attain the fine art of making FIRE.
FollowupID: 521618

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:43

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:43
I have a mid sized husky that came off my wife's brother's farm. It has lived a hard life, but still works a treat!

Acquaintance of our is a tree lopper/arborist, he won't use anything but huskys
AnswerID: 260197

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 07:31

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 07:31
Stihl MS200T here as well. Nice small saw that will cut almost anything. Had it for 5 years now without any problems at all.

Pete
AnswerID: 260234

Reply By: Member - Earvin (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 19:24

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 19:24
Hi Rob,

I have just purchased an Oleo Mac chainsaw. Made in Italy. Looks like a good quality saw. Haven't used it in anger yet.

AnswerID: 260353

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:17

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:17
If the saw is anything like their brushcutter it will be on par of a Stihl , have had the brushcutter for the last 8yrs and never misses a beat.
FollowupID: 521760

Follow Up By: Member - Earvin (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 06:41

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 06:41
Yeah I hope you are right. I did quite a bit of research on them and think they are every bit as good as Husky and Stihl with a better warranty to boot - 3 yrs.

The only downfall I guess is that parts may not be as readily available as the other popular brands.
FollowupID: 521810