Noises

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:07
ThreadID: 49298 Views:2780 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
In the light of recent posts re noisy things on 4bies and things going 'clunk'............or 'klonk'

When I bought the GQ 2nd hand with 265,000K on the clock the gearbox made a vibrating noise. Eventually I found that the flywheel had been singed severely by someone unknown(previous owner denies any wrongdoing). Replaced fly wheel and clutch. All quiet with clutch for a while but gearbox rattles like a box full of steel beercans on startup. Eventually the noise subsides when it all warms up. Now, after another 80,000K same clutch noises back again. Maybe its a Nissan thing...............

Theres a rattle under the dash....a Nissan thing. Live with it.

Then earlier in the year a noise emanating from front of truck when reversing...hmmmm....found out today need new engine mounts. That solves the 'RRrrrrrrr.....' Maybe not a Nissan thing but just a driver who expects the truck to go anywhere without breaking

Every now and then a belt squeals up front. All belts tight, all pulleys running sweetly....must be a Nissan thing............

Buy a set of MRF crossplies. On bitumen it sounds like the noise outside a 747 window when the air harmonics come in to play....must be a MRF thing....

Build new storage compartments in rear of truck. Squeak, squeak, squeak......Ahhhhrrrr!!!......must be a Willem thing....

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:37

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:37
"Theres a rattle under the dash....a Nissan thing. Live with it."
It's not just a Nissan thing believe me!

I hate rattles in the 4WD. It is the most single thing that annoys me whilst driving along - anyone who has been my passenger will tell you that. Eliminating every noise that comes from the back of the ute and from within the cab is an unachievable goal, yet I still try.

Funny thing is - when all my keys clang and bang against the steering column, it doesn't bother me at all.

AnswerID: 260221

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:24

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:24
"I hate rattles in the 4WD. It is the most single thing that annoys me whilst driving along - anyone who has been my passenger will tell you that. Eliminating every noise that comes from the back of the ute and from within the cab is an unachievable goal, yet I still try.

Funny thing is - when all my keys clang and bang against the steering column, it doesn't bother me at all."

Haha, I could have written that, just about word for word!!
Just substitute Troopy for ute:-)

I've had my video camera mounted on the dash a few times, filming the odd off road session....when the tape is played back, the bloody racket from those keys just about drowns out everything else.

Glenn
FollowupID: 521739

Reply By: David - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:38

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 00:38
Hi Willem,
About your belts squeals, a mate of mine had a squeal from his patrol turned out to be the tension pulley bearing had a bit of crap in it, would not make the noise all the time. He replace it and no more trouble. In the end he had to replace it 3 time before the pullet was ok but the motor went BANG. Yes it was a 3ltr hand grenade.
hope this helps
AnswerID: 260222

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:16

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:16
Thanks David, will go have a look.

FollowupID: 521738

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 06:41

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 06:41
Belt squeal, its a Toyota thing, you left your Nissan too close to a Toyota at Warraweena and it caught something.

Willem thing? hahahahahaha, could be a Bonz thing that one.

AnswerID: 260229

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:49

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:49
Concentrate on your clutch problems please as you know full well that you can only capable of focusing on one thing at a time, and then still manage to stuff it up and damage either yourself or whatever it is that you are concentrating on.
FollowupID: 521686

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 19:36

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 19:36
Yeah Bonz, sounds like all 4by owners' 'donks' are powered by 'horses' with en-jine flu, maybe they are susceptible after debilitating laps around the country side.
OzeSheila.
Happy tracks.
FollowupID: 521753

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 06:58

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 06:58
Go for a drive in an old Series Land Rover. After that all your "new-fangled" 4WDs will seem as smooth and quiet as new Rolls Royce!
AnswerID: 260231

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:17

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:17
LOL..Always thought that was why you have a volume control on the radio.
AnswerID: 260245

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:26

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:26
Yep.

Maybe all the noise will go, If you just turn up the stereo.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 521662

Reply By: montana - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:59

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 08:59
mine developed an anoying sqeak under the dash and another outside i could hear with the sterio down. found the brake light switch was dry,bit of lube,all ok.the one outside was the bonnet catch,put heaps of grease on it and waiting on a new bonnet under warrenty because over half of the piece on the bonnet wore away.
AnswerID: 260250

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:30

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:30
Willem,
I have a squeak in the back of the 60, is that a willem thing or a toyota thing?

Or have I had it long enough for it to be a nick thing?

Like the one about having the stereo louder, solves most squeaks......

hahaha
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 260256

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:15

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:15
I think it must be a Nick thing by now. Warranty expired some time ago...lol
FollowupID: 521737

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:37

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:37
Speaking of noises, My GU, the heater/ Air con fan on low and medium speed rattles badly, probably the cheap bearing on the rotor allowing it to jump up and down. And on corrugations, the passenger airbag jumps up and down on the inside of the dask cover, drives me bonkas!!! Oh and a bit of tin plate somewhere underneath rattles if you labour the motor at low speed, its a little protection plate somewhere!! Gee, better not say too much, may want to sell on this site one day!! LOL!!
AnswerID: 260276

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:43
"gearbox rattles like a box full of steel beercans"...
must be empties....your supposed to recylce these willem
AnswerID: 260279

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 13:13

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 13:13
HAhahahaha,.....Told ya!!. see you in the old folks home, the cantankerous ol coots section!. ..lol.

AnswerID: 260291

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:31

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:31
I have this constant clunking under my bonnet......sounds like a bloke swingin' around a bag full of spanners and cats........ hahahahahaha
AnswerID: 260348

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:47

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 18:47
Get over it, get a JEEP and you will get rid of your troubles - ALL OF THEM.
FollowupID: 521744

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:29

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:29
and a JEEP will get rid of your money ALL OF IT hahahahahahah

FollowupID: 521907

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:56

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 23:56
My old FJ45 sqeeked rattled and moaned at any speed on any road and I loved it.

My 60 series cruiser had one little eek eek eek at highway speeds, somewhere in the back. It drove me insane!

My GU has developed a ding ding ding when off road, kinda like tapping an air tank with a spanner. I found out the other day it's the protective sleeve on the steering damper. At least I know what it is now!
AnswerID: 260405