Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:32
Nav 8
A while back on this
forum someone had their 3Ltr diesel Navara fitted with gas.As I am considering doing same to
mine I would appreciate any feed back on the end result. Plenty of questions in the archives but not much on the performance, fuel consumption etc after the gas is fitted. Regards,, Nav.
Reply By: vcbb - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:03
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 12:03
I'm also interested in this, especially where the gas
tank would go, as room in the ute area is tight
Reply By: Neetas - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:37
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:37
Hey Nav
Check out the current issue of 4WD Monthly which included conversions for both Nissan 3.0TD and 4.2TD and all the stats.
For the 3.0TD, approx 20% increase in power and torque, 10% better fuel economy, extended fuel range, cleaner burning and an increase in engine life. Sounds good doesn't it!
Check out
http://www.dieselgasaustralia.com.au/ for more info
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:43
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:43
Thanks mate, will check that out..Nav.
Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:27
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:27
Sounds so good, I'm definitely going to do it to
mine.
Not 'til I've seen most of my 3 year warranty off tho - don't want to give Mr Nissan an extra reason to blame me for any problem that come up.
Benefits will vary depending how heavy your foot is, but there's sure to be some good. Gas
tank placement can vary according to th efitter - I think you can tuck it up out of the way under the str by relocating the exhaust, if you don't mind paying. If you're cutting th epipes - may as
well go for a schmick 2 1/2" system without mufflers at the same time!
Reply By: Nav 8 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:40
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:40
Thank you all for the reply's. With regard to where the gas
tank goes, both company's I spoke to told me its a 28 Ltr
tank and yes it fits up under the body with a mod to the exhaust. I would still like to hear from someone who has already had the gas fitted to a Navara if possible. Regards,,, Nav.
Reply By: frankn - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:49
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:49
Hi Nav 8
I had gas fitted to my 2003 str navara over a month ago and what a difference,I had it Dynoed before and after so i knew what i had acheved.I had a 2 1/2 in straight through exhaust fitted and i picked up 8 kws with just the exhaust, i now get with the gas and exhaust fitted 105 kw and 421 nm at the back
wheels i have the dyno printout to prove it.You only use the gas when under load.I have had
mine put on for towing my caravan (21.6 ft and 2.5 tonn )the gas bottle is mounted inside beside the chassis rail .It is a very neat job with the gas bottle and exhaust. As i have said the performance is unbelievable with the extra range it is great
Any other questions please ask.
Regards Frankn
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:38
G'day Frankn
Thank you for that, very much appreciated. I too will be using it to pull a 20ft full van as
well as off road 4 x drive work. Don't quite follow the 105kw as the motor's 110kw to start with. Could you just clarify what you mean by that. Sounds like it's a worthwhile proposition as I expected it probably would be. Thanks again
Regards Nav
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:38
G'day Frankn
Thank you for that, very much appreciated. I too will be using it to pull a 20ft full van as
well as off road 4 x drive work. Don't quite follow the 105kw as the motor's 110kw to start with. Could you just clarify what you mean by that. Sounds like it's a worthwhile proposition as I expected it probably would be. Thanks again
Regards Nav
Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:23
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:23
Nav 8,
I think you will find the 110kw you are talking about is at the flywheel on the engine, and the 105kw Frankn is talking about is at the rear
wheels. There is always power lost through the drive line.
Cheers Luke
Follow Up By: frankn - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 20:48
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 20:48
Nav 8
That is right the KW rating is at the back
wheels . Standard is about 77 kw at the back
wheels, you lose roughly about 30 % through the drive train
Frankn
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:00
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:00
G`Day all,,,Right, should have thought of that, that's a huge increase in power. One last question for Frankn, can you give me an idea on overall fuel consumption eg Ltr/100 and how long does a
tank of gas last compared to a
tank of fuel ? I think I will book her in. Regards Nav.
Reply By: ron44 - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:54
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:54
you should get all the feed back on web. site diesel gas technology .ron.
Reply By: vcbb - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:47
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:47
sounds exciting especially being able to hide the
tank. Does anyone run the gas whilst also using a DP Chip?
Have any of the conversions been done in
Perth, if so, whereabouts and also what are the costs , taking into consideration the rebates both State & Fed governments are giving?
Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:55
Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:55
Best quote so far is
Liberty Gas Rockingham $3800.00 so that's $800.00 after the rebates. About 8-10 weeks wait so will book in and get on the list. Nav.