Sticking with the Devil I know

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 23:04
ThreadID: 49382 Views:3015 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
After much deliberation I have decided to stick with my current rig and pass up the vx Sahara I have been looking at. I am going to do a few things to make mine a tad more comfortable though. I have ordered some Stratos Suspension seats (I have a really crook back) and have taken off my scrubs and steps to make way for some sliders. Also had some flares fitted and some panel work touched up. If you are near Rockingham and need a good panel beater try Doog's paint and panel on Ave. Have a look at my new rig photo at the bottom. Come up schmick. All I need now is some mud flaps and that should keep my plod happy!! Then when money permits Long range tank, Turbo, Diesel gas retuned for turbo and Lockers in that order. So if anyone has a turbo set-up of an 1hz they don't want and want to throw in some free lockers with it I will happily take them away(JOKE). But really thanks to all the advice re Sahara a few weeks ago.
Matt

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:16

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:16
It don't look like the Devil, unless it's actually cold down there. LOL

Who is paying for the Seats?? I am still trying to get DVA to pay for mine. Is it just the drivers seat or both front seats.
Let me know how they go offroad when you get them in.

AnswerID: 260628

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:35

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:35
Just been through the same thing over the last 6 months with the Paj.
Looked at other cars, but decided there is another 5 years left in it yet. Couldn't really find anything that said to me "must have".
AnswerID: 260643

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 16:47

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 16:47
Gee Matt, wouldnt be dissapointed with that rig...looks bulletproof and a great canvas for any improvement you see neccessary. Better that than spending money on a more expensive vehicle for stuff you doint need and then finding out you still need to customise it.

Went throught the same with the MU, wanted a Navara STR (TD dual cab)but couldnt pass up the 99 Rodeo, plus all my goodies swapped over no probs...LSD disc brake diff, Recaro Seats on rails, ARB bullbar, front diff locker, even the intercooler!! Would have to have purchased all these for the Navara and be still $20 000 out of pocket!

Bought Rodeo for 11k and swapped everything over and then sold the MU for $5k so for $6k and a bit of elbow grease have a great duel cad TDIntercooled rig...suits me and the dog in the ute(no more horse in the cabin)!!

AnswerID: 260731

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:14

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 18:14
Matt WA, so you've been looking to all those used big, shiny 'Cruiser V8 petrols advertised around Rocky these last few weeks haven't ya,,,,,,,,

Stay with what ya got mate. A V8 petrol is gonna be a liability in a few years time. Of late, they've been sending 'em in from Toyota dealers to Brunswicks in WA to have Chev V8 diesels put in 'em so the dealers can move 'em!

I'm in Safety Bay by the way.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 260741

Follow Up By: Rowdy6032 - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:04

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:04
Hi Bilbo
Any idea which Toyota dealers have been sending them to Brunswick's?

From what I have read they do a pretty good job and may be worth a look.

FollowupID: 522171

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:09

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:09
Rowdy,

Albany Toyota have had a couple done. Ron Krikke Motors in Bunbury has had a goood number transplanted and also acts a reseller for Brunswicks when they do an "on spec" change. i.e one of thier own, bought in 4WDs, change the motor and use Krikkes to sell it. They seem to sell well.

There have been a couple of Perth dealers have done it but I don't know the names thereof, or how well they sold.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522209