Breakdowns - how to request help advice

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:59
ThreadID: 49386 Views:5485 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Hi all, Sorry it's long. Thought I'd cover in detail while at it !
Most of you will already know what I about to say but for those that don’t it may be useful advice to keep in mind for any outback breakdown, not just our area.
cheers, Anne
++++++++

In the event of a breakdown requiring mechanical help.

Cattle stations & Aboriginal communities NOT offering tourism services will be either unable or unwilling to assist you. Unless a medical emergency do not waste their time and yours bothering them unless it is a very very last resort.

The North Kimberely is well traveled by others during most of the dry season so if you do happen to breakdown it probably won't be long till another vehicle comes past. You may have a satellite phone or you may need to send a message with another person.
We quite often get a message brought in by a traveler about another person who is broken down. The person arriving here might say
"There is a vehicle broken down up near the Mitchell Plateau road and they need help, we told them we would tell you."

Well wonderful ............ frankly that message is almost useless to us !
What we need is DETAIL, in legible writing from the actual person with the problem, in fact the more detail the better.

We need to be told,
If you are desperate for anything REALLY essential : ie water
Exactly in detail where the vehicle is situated, including full description, make, color etc.
Exactly what the problem appears to be or if you are not mechanical a description of what occurred.
If a tyre problem, exact details & numbers from the sidewall of tyre presently on vehicle.
Exact details of the vehicle from the compliance plate. Age, month, make, model - the more the better.
The registration state and rego plate number.
The vehicle owners FULL details, name, home address, home phone etc .
If a rental vehicle the rego plate number, rental company name, their help line contact number and ( important ) your hire contract number.
At minimum a written request from vehicle owner for a mechanic to be sent and the owners agreement to pay costs.

Now let me explain why all of above is required.
The more details we know of the problem and the vehicle the more likely the mechanic is to turn up with the right gear to fix ie do we need to send the portable welder or not, or what size wheel studs should we bring.
A breakdown place description of ' somewhere back along the Gibb River Road ' may see us go to the wrong place or turn the wrong direction at the junction.
Just telling us it's a tyre for a toyota or a battery for a whatever is insufficient info as there are so many options.
Parts required vary for vehicles, even when just a matter of months different in age. Especially important if we need to bring or order you in a part, knowing this details makes all the difference.
If it's a rental vehicle we are unable to touch it without the PERMISSION of the hire company & their agreement to cover costs.
If it's your own vehicle, sorry but we won't come unless you agree to pay the costs. A signed request note is binding and covers this.
This may sound mean but the fact is many times in the past we have sent off the mechanic who has driven for 4 hours to find the vehicle gone when he got there, or another passing tourist with mechanical ability already there fixing the problem. The mechanic has then been told, no we don't need you now and no we are not going to pay for your travel time. This I might add has also happened to many other service providers. Pick up recovery trucks have even arrived all the way from town to find the vehicle vanished.
While this may be a nice outcome for the owner of the vehicle it is not for the requested service provider!
It is also the reason most places are no longer willing to rush off on a mechanical rescue mission on nothing but a verbal, “come and help “ message.
The mechanic will have left other work to drive off to save you, the very least you are going to have to pay for is his travel time.
So if you ask for help please be prepared and willing to pay for it, just the same as you would have to do for any garage repairs in any town !

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:10

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:10
Thank Anne, you make a very valid point and it is more than reasonable to be expecting to be paid for a service even if someone later changes their mind. I for one appreciate that people like yourself are at least providing a service in areas where there is precious little and that it does not have to be of the benevolent type.

Keep up the good work.

AnswerID: 260635

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:21

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:21
Hi Beatit,
Nice of you to make that comment, thanks.
When I thought to make the post I was actually intending more to reinforce how important sending detail was than I was about the paying.
Makes it so very hard when you don't know anything about what the problem is you are going to have to try to help with !
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 522066

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:28

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:28
Does not seem mean to me, not being one that travells the outback that often I would assume GPS coordinates would be good as well.

Had not considered the permission thing just figured you pay the person who fixes your vehicle or picks you up.

I also figured if I asked someone to deliver a message to station that we were stuck and managed to get going again I would get a message to that station that we were now ok.

Hopefully I will never need to use the above other than taking the message. :)

I'm guessing by this message station owners and communities have had a gutfull of un thinking tourists on the $$$ and time impact on others.

AnswerID: 260640

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 09:43

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 09:43
Hi Brian,

Yes well if everyone was good enough to indeed let the place where help was requested know things were now ok, it would be nice.
That used to be the way of things but regretfully it's no longer the same. There is also the problem that they often can't actually do so, no phone service unless they carry a sat phone. So they get going and drive off and depending on direction quite likely pass the mechanic on his way up especially if the mechanic doesn't have exact detail of the vehicle he is looking for. If going the opposite direction some just keep going and conveniently forget they requested help.
GPS, well depends if you are off road out in the scrub, otherwise if actually on a road then just which road, your distance from a known place, north / south etc is more than enough.
Yes a couple of local places that do not do tourism are sick of being asked for help, they don't do tourism in any way, don't have the available staff etc and really don't need or want the intrusion. If there really was no help available anywhere else in the area at all it might be different. In this case there were other options they just happened to be a bit further away and no attempt at all was made to use other options, just instantly go to the closest place regardless if they are open to the public or not.
Problem is the number of times it happens, when it was once or twice a year they didn’t mind helping, when it’s every week or two they baulk.
Different if a medical emergency everyone will gladly help then.
Cheers, Anne

FollowupID: 522094

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:41

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:41
Hi Anne

All very valid points.

Thanks for bringing it up as many people go out there unprepared.

Maybe ExplorOz can take your points up in their TOPICS section.

AnswerID: 260645

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:00

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:00
Hi Willem,

I can understand why folks don't think of giving detail, doesn't matter when the car goes to the garage and the mechanic has the tools and parts on hand.
Just giving that bit of extra info about the vehicle and the problem can make all the difference. Instead mechanic goes 200km and finds out he doesn't always have the gear to do the repair, he can't just take everything to cover every posibility with him. Pretty frustraiting for all.

I'm asking the local travel guides if they will include a tad on this subject next season as well.
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 522097

Reply By: Alan H - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:51

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:51
Good post Ann.
I've printed it off and will keep it in the vehicle just in case.
Although most of it would appear to be common sense, in difficult situations some things will get missed but I now know exactly what info. you and others will require in order to help.

I intend to be up your way again early next year and fingers crossed all I'll be after is a place to put the camper up and some good cold beer from the bar!
Alan.
AnswerID: 260664

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:43

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:43
Hi Alan, Good thing you didn't come this year, for a couple of weeks there when the roads closed in June peak season the beer supply was in serious trouble. We had 100 odd folks stuck with us for 5 days or so, everything was in short supply by the time the roads opened to trucks again.
All that winter rain did make for nice rivers though, still all flowing now.
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 522388

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:37

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:37
Hi Anne, a bit long winded ....... Certainly NOT! I linked your post to "Outback Survival" as the points are very valid. One can imagine driving for miles and not knowing what to look for, where to look for it and what's wrong I.e. what to take?

Outback assistance is taken for granted I reckon, and almost always provided, but people should realise that there's costs involved.

We got stuck in the Otways overnight once and the ever reliable SES came to our rescue. We gave them a donation of $600 for their trouble on Easter Sunday. They aren't able to charge for their services so what we gave was our determination, but they did tell us of a guy who they dragged out in his everyday CAR and he slung them $5 and bolted. Hmmm wouldn't you think twice about going the next time? We got a wonderful letter back thanking us.

AnswerID: 260684

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:18

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:18
Good on you for being so thoughtful !
I think one of the best I ever heard about was a station manager heading out to town for weekend, 60 km from home he finds bloke with camper van. Van top has parted company with whole undercarriage. Bloke drives 60 km home gets welder etc, goes back. Jacks up whole thing puts all back in place and welds up good enough for bloke to get out ok, takes him hours to fix it. Now remember the manager still has to drive the 60 km back home to return the welder, then return 60 km again just to be back to where he found the bloke. Manager himself will now get to town in dark and miss part of event he was to attend.
OK job is done and manager ready to drive off, bloke says . Gee mate thanks a lot, here buy yourself a beer and hands him $20 !!!!!!!!!!
Hard to top that one I reckon.
cheers Anne
FollowupID: 522386

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:38

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:38
I guess it's not suprising but it is a pity that you had to post this. It just seems like common sense and common decency to me.

I broke down on Cape York, we went to the Heathlands Ranger Station and asked, more for advice than anything else. The ranger suggested I contact a mechanic and offered me the use of his phone. I paid for the call, virtually had to throw the money at him. The mechanic spent about 2 min on the phone and told me exactly what the problem was and how to fix it. Luckily it was pretty simple. When we got going one of the people who had stopped to offer assistance went down to the Ranger Station to let him know all was well. We had a chat and a laugh with the mechanic at the Wenlock River crossing, where he was staying at the time.

My point is I expected the break down to cost me money. If it had occured at home it would have. .

As for the information you require that too just makes sense. How can you fix something if you don't know what it is. I recently started up a relationship with a new mechanic and the first thing he did was get my vehicle details from the compliance plate and store them in his computer.

Why do people expect good will from total strangers just because they are out in the bush. And bush mechanics must be better than their city counterparts because they can fix anything with nothing where the city guy actually needs the right part.

It's great info Anne and a good reminder to all. I would hope that people planning to travel to remote areas would realise this sort of stuff but I guess not.

AnswerID: 260686

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:32

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 03:32
Hi Duncs, Hubby has done several of those phone ' how to fix' in the last few weeks alone. Always happy to help with some free advice info if he can solve the problem for anyone over phone.
Yes you'd be amazed at some of the stuff John has done over the years. Years back he welded a totally split in half diff case up the plateau track, told the chap ' it is tempory only' consider yourself lucky if it gets you to town. Replace the whole thing as soon as you can.
Man was from Karratha and about 3 years later he turned up here again on hols in same car. Went right up to John who remembered him & said ' Guess what, I'm still driving on that same diff'
John told him he was nuts. But all in all must have been a darn good job John did ah and done on the side of the road at that.
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 522387

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:38

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:38
Anne - a whole heap of sensible and information and timely reminders.

I have to chuckle about how mean people are - just driving about the bush, I have been able to help at the odd time that someone needs something, but never once have they said: "What do I owe you?"

The odd roll of wire, use of a fire extinguisher or a bolt / nut etc is nothing, and people have helped me with a quick tow or snatch over the years saving much hand winching or digging so I don't mind, and if they asked I would say "she's right". I do wonder about people's ethics in not even offering to pay though.

Funny for me, but for people like you providing a service all over a vast area, the costs of people doing "runners" as you describe must be horrendous. And one can imagine the squeals if you don't send out someone in response to a call, no matter how vague.

Thanks for being there for all us terrorists, and for the friendly service at the station as well.

Max
AnswerID: 260765

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:06

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 22:06
Hi Max,
Must admit even now we normally go even on skimpy info, but it is always a risk, been caught a few times. You are right folks get most upset if you don't go at once no matter how little info they sent.
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 522207