More Schooling Needed

Submitted: Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:11
ThreadID: 49421 Views:3339 Replies:29 FollowUps:40
I find it amazing the amount of spelling errors I see in this and other Forums, I was reading a Ute Forum a few weeks back and it was nothing short of disgraceful the way some of the words were spelt, We all make typing errors , that I can understand and accept but to spell the word Dual with an e instead of an a is in my opinion is not a typing error , we have a spell checker to use provided by David , why not use it, or if your unsure copy and paste it to Outlook and use that spell checker, at times you might see my term Center instead of centre , that's not a mistake , that's how I believe it should be spelt ...Oh and I had a Mum not a Mom, I don't care how a word is spelt regarding as to what country your from, I mean just plain ERRORS,It's got me buggered what schools are doing these days,

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:24

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:24
Hi Doug thats probably fair enough but to be honest if I had to take care to get all spelling and grammer right I'd only reply to half the posts I do.

Maybe when I retire I'll have more time to check 'em out better.

AnswerID: 260817

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:27

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:27
Fair enough, If you can't do it right then don't it at all .

FollowupID: 522238

Follow Up By: simple - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:36

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:36
it appears by your message robin that you're not someone who has trouble spelling.
i'm only 23 and find it ridiculously frustrating the kind of spelling some young people use (and some older ones too).
i'm also one of "those" people who uses correct punctuation in text messages.

joel

(i hope i used correct spelling and grammar in my rant)
FollowupID: 522240

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:39

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:39
I don't konw Doug

(by the way that spelling mistake was not deliberate - I think it comes from thinking ahead of your typing skills)

Perhaps we should conduct a poll.

If someone asked a question - and you know the answer but have lots of things to manage that day - do you think the questioner would rather have a misplete answer or no answer at all ?

FollowupID: 522241

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:14
Joel,

Correct punctuation, but not capitalisation it seems.
FollowupID: 522248

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:20

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:20
'misplete'?
FollowupID: 522324

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin E (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:00

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:00
"Questioner" ??
FollowupID: 522331

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:26

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:26
G'day Doug,

I totally agree with you. However, this matter has been raised before and a lot of people will probably come back with comments like: "what does it really matter, as long as the message gets across?"

To me, it's a bit like the detioration in the use of common manners that most of us older people (and I'm only 52) had drummed into us both at home and at school.

A couple of other clangers that I've seen on here are the following:

here/hear
there/their/they're
wood/would

As for use of spell checker, a lot of the time it would make no difference because the person has probably used a _real_ word and spelt it properly; it's just not the correct word for the situation. EG: in your example of "duel" instead of "dual"......both are real words and the spell-checker would not have identified it as a problem.
AnswerID: 260821

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:46

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:46
I know what you mean, We all make mistakes, but lets be honest , there has to be some intelligence shown too you know, I done my schooling in SA during the late 40s and into the 50s and we were taught well, I don't mind the slightest if someone picks me up on an error, my Grammer might be off a bit at times but ...well i'm an Aussie , I have heard English is the hardest language to learn , easy when you grow up with it.

FollowupID: 522242

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:14
"I done my schooling" ?

I figure if you want to be pedantic about spelling, it goes hand in hand with grammar. Personally, I don't care.
FollowupID: 522249

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 13:48

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 13:48
Roachie said

"I totally agree with you. However, this matter has been raised before and a lot of people will probably come back with comments like: "what does it really matter, as long as the message gets across?"

and then posted

"To me, it's a bit like the detioration in the use of common manners that most of us older people (and I'm only 52) had drummed into us both at home and at school. "

Now, I dont profess to BE an expert , however , I'm fairly certain . . . "detioration" is spelt "Deterioration" , but seeing how "detioration" isn't in the spell checker I guess I'm correct.

FollowupID: 522277

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:22

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:22
...... and it's 'grammar'!
FollowupID: 522326

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:35

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:35
hahaha....good one flappa......I meant to add, at the end of my comment; "can you spot my deliberate error?"....but I forgot.
FollowupID: 522366

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:06

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:06
My Grammar and Grampa died years ago....LOL

I wish the young ones of today were able to get the basics at school instead of half the crap they get shoved down their necks and in most cases will never use in their lifetime...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 522459

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:45

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:45
Hey Doug,we just have to learn to live with it.I know too that it is a pain to try & read some of the posts/replies & so on,but you get it all walks of life, like driving,road rules,& other laws of society, you know what i mean!!! As some would say all rules were made to be broken.:0))
Cheers Bob.
AnswerID: 260824

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:59

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:59
Maybe we could start a new trend, taken from ROAD RAGE , we'll call it FORUM RAGE , you know, if someone in Perth causes problems we'll all drive across Australia and smash his Monitor and Keyboard

FollowupID: 522244

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:33

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:33
Doug ,now there is no need to go to those extremes re FORUM RAGE just send a reply email with a TROJAN or some other type of explosive virus.Lol
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 522250

Reply By: RFLundgren (WA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:53

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:53
I think that it's just a reflection of our society today. Just have a look at what the kids are doing with MSN and text messages. None of them can actually manage to type an entire word these days. Everything either is, or has an abbreviation.

Computers have made our life somewhat more interesting and given us easy access to loads of information, but the basic and simple things in life seem to have gone missing.

I remember at school the daily spelling rounds we used to have in the classroom. It seems that now kids are not taught to spell properly. As long as it looks ok phonetically it's ok.

Personally I dont agree with it at all. Spelling and grammer has gone so far down hill since I was at school. Then again just look at society and the world overall, it seems that many, many things have changed and advanced, although I cant say that too many of these advances have been a good thing.

We need to get back to a more simple time and make sure that our kids get the basics down.

AnswerID: 260827

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:17

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:17
Yep agree.
What he said.

FollowupID: 522289

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:24

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:24
It's actually a sad testament to the quality of our teachers, many of whom have trouble spelling quite basic words.
FollowupID: 522327

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:59

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 08:59
Arrrr yer showing yer age....LOL

"Yus, I brought a Landcrusier with duel batteries for me Mom"

The decline of standards eventually may bring the downfall of our society as we know it. Lack of education and useable knowledge breeds contempt amongst the hoi polloi and its all downhill from there...LOL

AnswerID: 260829

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:04

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:04
Willem
Here's one for you .....when we go into a store to get the little thingy's that power our torches etc and only need one we ask for a battery, that is wrong, it is a cell, a battery is more than one cell

FollowupID: 522246

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 13:14

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 13:14
Does that mean that we don't have brain cells, we instead have "brain batteries"??

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522275

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:02

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:02
Well lets make the grammar or spelling a bit easier :) ............ I mean who ever made up the words had to (hmm or is it this too or this two) much time on their hands. Why make two or more words to say the same thing.

So from now on

Two - to - too = To
Their - there - there're = There
Duel - dual = Dual
Surprize - surprise = what the hell you pick one LOL
Centre - Center = Center (just because it sounds right).
Cheque - check = Roachie you can pick this one :)

Now how much easier will this be no more problems which or is it witch one we use. Just think how much easier it would be for kids (big kids to) and teachers in correcting spelling. Win Win really.

Said TIC

AnswerID: 260830

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:10

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:10
Your a bloody clown, what's going to happen when we go into the Pub for a drink and the mate calls out do you want a drink to , you will answer YES, I'll have "one" "to" and the stupid bloody barman will place 3 drinks in front of you

FollowupID: 522247

Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:37

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:37
of instead of have. to instead of too. very frustrating.
FollowupID: 522311

Reply By: nats - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:26

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:26
" ... or if your unsure".......

Schools obviously failed to get you to understand that you should have spelled 'your' - 'you're'. A fairly basic error for someone who is setting himself up as a social commentator.

Nats.
AnswerID: 260836

Follow Up By: thomasando - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:27

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:27
That's what I was going to raise too. And the use of 'grammer' in a subsequent post... the spell checker does pick that one up as being wrong ;)

Of course it could have been thrown in there to take the mickey out of someone, it's hard to read emotion on forum!
FollowupID: 522255

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:49

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:49
I think he likes stirring the pot, but he likes his soapbox just as much.
FollowupID: 522257

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:27

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 09:27
LOL more than enough grammar and spelling mistakes in this thread to illustrate Doug's point. Nice to see you joined in as well Doug hahahaha

AnswerID: 260837

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:29

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:29
I'd just say that if a spelling and grammar 'police unit' was set up to vet all posts before they appear on line, which deleted those that are not perfect, it would be a pretty slim and boring forum.

Would I rather a slim boring forum with correct spelling and grammar, with access restricted to those who 'pass the test'. Or would I prefer a (sometimes) lively, interesting and inclusivel one with a few spelling and grammar mistakes. I think the answer is obvious.

I think it is fair enough to criticize our education system and community attitudes that got us to our current state, but to criticize (in some cases) the victims of that situation and suggest that if they can't spell, then don't bother posting is a bit rich.

I sometimes proof read my posts before pressing the go button, but sometimes I don't bother, forget or don't have the time.
I generally take at least a little pride in getting my spelling and grammar into reasonably good shape. But I'm not anal about it.

After all, a forum is a 'conversation'. It is not a CV or a business letter.

Norm C
AnswerID: 260844

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 23:25

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 23:25
Hi Norm.
Funnily enough, if your 'police unit' was set up, Doug's post would not have passed the test!

FollowupID: 522375

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:37

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:37
I'm sure it is not an error, remember "Duelling Banjoes", just insert Batteries in the appropriate spot. It is probably due to the lack of a battery charge controller. I'm sure that is what they all mean. What about "burgandy" I'm sure that is ablout a bloke eating a hamburger.
Doug
AnswerID: 260845

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:25

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:25
Doug to Doug...
Sure do remember "Duelling Banjoes", and that's exactly what they were doing...Duelling, Duelling means fighting/competing, ie 2 banjo's competing , now on the other hand if you made up a bracket and fixed the 2 banjo's to it then you would have dual banjo's,

FollowupID: 522295

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:41

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:41
>you would have dual banjo's,

No apostrophe Doug, your usage of the 's' on banjo denotes a plural rather than a possessive. Although one could, cogently, argue it should be "dual banjo" as "dual banjos" implies four (or more) banjos and, I suppose that could be presented as dual dual banjos?

I blame chemicals in the water for the deterioration of standards.

FollowupID: 522296

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 00:09

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 00:09
Douglas M,
I don't think he got it; considering he masterminded this troll, he can't see when someone else is doing the same thing
FollowupID: 522379

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 17:05

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 17:05
Sure you mean "duelling Ban Joe's" don't you? Why else is the 'e' after banjo? It is obviously some sort of burger joint not burgandy Doug.... ;-)))))))))
FollowupID: 522573

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:37

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:37
I'm sure it is not an error, remember "Duelling Banjoes", just insert Batteries in the appropriate spot. It is probably due to the lack of a battery charge controller. I'm sure that is what they all mean. What about "burgandy" I'm sure that is ablout a bloke eating a hamburger.
Doug
AnswerID: 260846

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:02

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:02
Ah! 'Friday-itis' strikes again.

Cure: Get in the 4WD, don't tell anyone where you are going, and get over it, because it is here to stay and will continue to evolve after all of us here today are maggot infested lumps in the ground tomorrow.
AnswerID: 260851

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:20

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:20
yerv orl obviosly got two much toim on yer hans n' shood gett bak two werk...
AnswerID: 260856

Reply By: kend88 - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:25

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:25
Frankly I quite enjoy reading posts with spelling and grammar errors. Gives me a hint as to who the posters are. Sick of dealing with academic and office types all my life and happy to listen to the views of those who place more emphasis on getting their information across than, worrying about whether the spelling etc. is ok. Would hate to discourage anyone from posting because they had spent more time doing things than worrying about dotting the i's and crossing the t's.
AnswerID: 260857

Reply By: x4by4 - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:46

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 11:46
I probably do not notice the spelling errors, however I do find some grammar errors mildly irritating, but if the meaning is clear then it not so important. Thank heavens for spell checker.
The problem occurs when the meaning of the sentence is hard to decipher such as when No is used when Know should be used, or when Break / Brake and I’m not sure if he broke it or is referring to the brakes.
Diesel is one of the common words misspelt in the motor industry
A search for deisel disel diesil found 839 matching threads in this forum.

I prefer someone answering a forum question with knowledge regardless of spelling than someone answering who hasn’t got a clue of what he is talking about. One example was a bloke answering a elec question and he did not know enough to connect the batteries in parallel and not in series when talking about 12 v.

Peter B

AnswerID: 260860

Reply By: spudseamus - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 12:01

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 12:01
ohhh, i forgot its Friday ! lol
AnswerID: 260863

Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 14:41

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 14:41
If we kept spelling and speaking the same, old english would still be the go. Change is always happening and always will, spelling/grammer/manners they all change.

Look at me I came down from my tree. Some crawled and learnt to walk and some still crawl, I see it every day

AnswerID: 260878

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:37

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:37
Doug,
As a teacher who completed her degree as a mature age student (47) by the time i finished my degree. I would like to comment that before you pass judgement on other people it might be an idea to walk a mile in another person's shoes. Most people who find spelling difficult are only too aware of their situation and are very self conscious about writing anything down for other people to scrutinize. So if we are to benefit from their knowledge regarding subjects we might need to observe our own failings as we are all not experts on ever subject. As my father who was a very intelligent man who could work out the super feet in a tree just by looking at it and the best bush mechanic around would say " the more you learn the more you realise you have left to learn"

I just hope none of your family or anyone you know have to suffer the frustration of finding spelling difficult as it has such an impact on their self esteem.
Barb
If there are any mistakes in this post sorry if it offends but I see the anguish on the students' faces when they are ridiculed for poor spelling when it is beyond their control
AnswerID: 260884

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:33

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:33
Good Young thing,

You had the hammer and nailed the nail

From a person who struggled
FollowupID: 522310

Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:40

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 15:40
Having travelled a small part of our wonderful country, and meeting other travellers, it has been my experience that they are not all over 40 years of age, white, well educated, born and bred Aussies.
I am pretty sure much a fair amount of the poor spelling and punctuation is from people where English is not their first language, and instead of criticising their efforts, maybe you should be congratulating them on their efforts to at least be understood.
The rest is from people who may just have different priorities to you, and don't really give a rats butt if you like their typing skills.
Imagine if you were broken down on a remote section of dirt, and the mechanic who came to you had a typo on his signwriting. Would you tell him to pizzorf and get educated, or swallow your pride and accept his help?
The difference in speaking a language , and being able to write it in the correct context is not easy, especially in English, which has so many words sounding alike, with differing meanings, and lets face it, Spell checker ain't foolproof.
If a badly spelt word is the worst thing I encounter in my life, I would be happy.

AnswerID: 260885

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:00

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:00
We've all got pet hates Doug. Honestly but, at the end of the day, they're all pretty bloody petty.

I agree, that in some circumstances, poor spelling is inexcusable. ie a job application etc. But on a web forum, who really gives a toss? Why don't you find something more worthwhile to waste your energy on?

It's obviously not as important to some as it is to you. Build a bridge - and get over it!

Scoey.
AnswerID: 260888

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:29

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:29
The day is nearly done....here in the East, it's amazing to see how how serious some of you get about such trivial little issues, just take a look at all the replies over basicly 1 little duel ...or is it Jewel, All in the fun of the day, thanks all.

Doug

AnswerID: 260891

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:41

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:41
Doug, I'll take a leaf out of your book and blame the keyboard and the EO site. :))
Have a great weekend all.
Steve.

FollowupID: 522297

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:39

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:39
I never cease to be amazed at how 'schools these days' are responsible for all of the poor grammar in the world.

How many posters here left school within the last, say ten years??

Twenty??

It's also amazing how 'those young people' who use S.M.S. and M.S.N. are responsible for the downfall of our great, yet bastardised, language. Again, how many of 'those young people' are regular posters on this fine forum??

I'm a school teacher, my class has daily spelling and grammar activities, I have students who go to remedial groups for spelling. Should I call their attempts a failure, or should I encourage their relative success??

To suggest that 'schools nowadays' don't teach spelling or value grammar only confirms that you have no idea what is going on in the classroom!

Being able to communicate your ideas is the key, pleasing a spelling cop is considerably less important.

>

(and no, I have not quoted, hence my use of ' rather than " )
AnswerID: 260893

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:56

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 16:56
Pretty much since the internet became international (late 80s iirc) it has been a respected convention that one does not criticise the spelling or grammar of others.

A significant reason for this is that one often has no idea whether English is the first language of the person posting.

Another good reason is that it’s damn rude.

Not everyone had the benefit of a comprehensive education, not everyone is intelligent enough or has the type of memory/brain which enables them to retain the nuances of a language as complex as English – simply because a person is a poor speller or their understanding of the grammatical structure of English is less than perfect does not make them any less valuable, sensitive, helpful, kind or worthwhile as an individual than anyone else and to highlight areas which may embarrass them on a medium where they have no choice but to use the written word is crass, to say the least.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
AnswerID: 260897

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 17:02
Good one Mike.
FollowupID: 522298

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:23

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:23
I really don't give a hoot , not worth the effort to type any more for you , your a nothing like the rest of us , me included

FollowupID: 522307

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:26

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 18:26
>your a nothing

That should be "you're a nothing" Doug.

FollowupID: 522308

Follow Up By: Harry - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:07

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:07
Gees, Doug that was a huge can of wurms you opened up there

:>))) :>))))

You should get your dog to bite you everytime you make a spelling or grammaaar mistake.

YO ALL NEED TO LIGHTEN UP.
Gidday BigJohn and no it hasn't come yet. :>(
FollowupID: 522332

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:35

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:35
Hey doug, thanks for info. on T4A but I just can't resist...
You can't say "amount of errors" Has to be 'number of errors', just as "amounts of people' is a no no. But seriously, some of the post S & G make you (or as people at the Palace woud say "one'
cringe.
FollowupID: 522341

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:35

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:35
Hey doug, thanks for info. on T4A but I just can't resist...
You can't say "amount of errors" Has to be 'number of errors', just as "amounts of people' is a no no. But seriously, some of the post S & G make you (or as people at the Palace woud say "one'
cringe.
FollowupID: 522342

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:50

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:50
wigger
Wy are you stuttering , when yu press thu button only doo it wunce , I have notised a cupel of repeets b4 2day

FollowupID: 522346

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:40

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:40
Ouch!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 522360

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:05

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 19:05
It's one of my pet hates. Biggest is the morons who leave the 'h' off of verandah. It's got a bloody h on the end of it just like the good Indian's spelt it. Not some slack yankism that drops the h so we get veranda. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

AnswerID: 260917

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:47

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:47
There's no apostrophe in 'Indians'.
FollowupID: 522368

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:52

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 20:52
I think that a forum like this is much more conversationalist and I am a supporter of the view that getting the message across is more important than proper spelling, punctuation and grammar.

I spend my working days writing business reports and emails where I have to display a highly professional level of competency with the English language and it is nice to come home and use the forum in a slightly more relaxed manner.

While it is a step above the instant messaging and SMS where just about anything goes, I for one don't look that critically at what is posted on here.

What I expect to see on here is similar to what I would expect around a campfire (maybe slightly cleaner!). Honest chat about issues related to 4WDs and associated equipment, travelling around Australia, and where the hell that Pesky Flag got to this week!

Muddy
AnswerID: 260937

Reply By: Member - David B (QLD) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:46

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:46
AnswerID: 260947

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:14

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 22:14
I agree with Norm C & Muddy. Forums are a conversation not a university English examination, so can be colloquial, typed quickly and contain errors of grammar and spelling. I prefer to talk to you on the forum than think "that was a well written essay". This opinion from me, who used to send the newsletters back to the school with yellow highlighter through the errors. Keep talking forumates; i won't judge you on your typing, spelling or grammar skills.

AnswerID: 260953

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 23:07

Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 23:07
Motherhen, I'm with you on this one. It's ironic that most people posting about their intolerance of incorrect spelling have made spelling errors in their own posts/replies.
FollowupID: 522373

Reply By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 12:15

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 12:15
Now don't be too hard on people Doug & Dusty. I will reveal that I have been a teacher for 40 years though work more with computers now than actually teaching. In the seventies the Education Dept in Qld at least had the brilliant idea no doubt imported from the U.S. that kids would learn to spell by some sort of osmosis. Actual spelling rules would not need to be taught. You know, "i before e except ... etc". This was about the same time teaching phonics in reading went out the window.
Of course older teachers became closet spelling and phonics teachers so all was not lost.
Consequently we had a generation of kids who never really learnt to spell, and some of them ended up being teachers, so what would they know about teaching spelling?
Thankfully sanity has returned to a large part.
As for dual and duel, phased and fazed etc, I can handle it in the forum where I have no knowledge of the educational opportunities of my fellows, but to see these kinds of errors by professional writers in newspapers really grates.
One last point is that it is far more difficult to pick up typos on a computer screen than if you printed out the page and read it.

I'll get off my bike now, it's time for my pill.
AnswerID: 261013

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:38

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:38
Phonics was to spelling, what Cuisenaire Rods were to maths!
FollowupID: 522515

Reply By: Wandering Wobberly - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:13

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:13
28 replies and 38 responses...now 29 replies - very good!

"... as to what country your from..."
maybe
"... as to which country you're from..."

Nonetheless, I agree!
AnswerID: 261121