OT Charity begins at home, That's for sure!.
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:19
Member - Axle
The eldest daughter turned up this morning, with not a" hello dad", But a" Hey dad can you lend me $150 till i get paid"?. So with the notorious frown out come the wallet, and a hundred and fifty dollars disappears up the road. Bugger me dead!, ten minutes later the youngest one rocks up in tears," Hey dad! can you lend me $260?,. their going to cut the power off. Its been raining all week and as her hubby is a concrete renderer so the income has not been there, as
well as just moving into their new home. So a cheque was made out, the frown is back again, meanwhile symbo is grinning from ear to ear, funny sense of humour i reckon, and to top it all off!!, some dude from the police football club rings on the mobile asking for a donation. Stuff Me!!!.
Exasperated Axle.
Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:29
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:29
Hi Axle.
It's good to hear that someone else has this problem. The older they get the more it costs us. Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:42
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:42
Your dead right there mate!, But what do you do?, Wouldn't be without them.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:30
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:30
LOL children are expensive, even when you think you're rid of them hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:45
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:45
Rid of them!?, When they left the nest they only moved two trees up the block!....lol.
Axle.
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:48
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:48
Thats parenthood. You can guarantee that when they leave home, they will always ring you occasionally - usually because they need money!
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:04
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:04
Mother Hen, Theres no doubt about how hard it is out there for the
young families.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:43
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:43
Sure is Axle, and for the old families!
Mh
Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:50
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 17:50
Good on yer Axel.
Families are important... albeit sometimes expensive :) But, hell! it's just money, it doesn't matter - like people do.
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:03
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:03
Hi Mike.
Couldn't agree more. My daughter's husband left her for greener pastures & she has to raise 4 children under 10.
At least the grand kids like
camping with nan & pop.
Life is too short not to help out your family in times of great need.
Regards.
Vince
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:11
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:11
Very true Mike, The standard of living these days also creates pressure.
HEY!! don't get ya Axles crossed up.....lol
Regards Axle.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:23
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:23
>she has to raise 4 children under 10
That will be a tough job for her Vince but it sounds as if she has some help along the way :)
--
>HEY!! don't get ya Axles crossed up.....lol
Oh no!!! The spelling police will be on their way :)
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:22
Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:22
Yeah , my
young fella , all of 9 going onto 21 hit me and the swmbo up for the cricket yesterday , $170 registration ,$240 for a couple of sets of whites /shoes ect , and then another $260 for a kitbag /bat /gloves/pads ect ,,
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:08
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:08
Wait till you get grandkids!! they cost more than you own, & hey, there is more of them. But there is no way you would change it. Luvvin it.
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:27
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:27
My Mum & Dad helped us out in so many ways when things were tough and we had little kids and a mortgage and no money left because the company changed me from fortnightly to monthly pay, or it would be cheaper to lend us the deposit on a block of land than getting a personal loan etc etc that I don't think we could ever do enough for our kids to make it up.
Then over the years Mum & Dad used to visit us, and nothing would make Dad happier than finding a long list of "fix it jobs" around the house. Made Dad feel good and got stuff done when I was pressed for time. Now 20 years later, one of our daughters, with hubby and family have moved back from overseas, and I have had a great time as foreman and handyman on their house which has had a complete makeover in the past 5 weeks.
Mum & Dad were never wealthy, but were always there for us. We don't care how much we do for our kids - it would never be as much as we received. Its great to have the excuse to be with them and their families too.
The kids care for us when we need them too. Like, all three flew to
Perth a couple of Christmases back when my wife had an extended stay in hospital.
Yep - they are worth it, and good on you Axel for being there for yours.
Max
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:27
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 18:27
My Mum & Dad helped us out in so many ways when things were tough and we had little kids and a mortgage and no money left because the company changed me from fortnightly to monthly pay, or it would be cheaper to lend us the deposit on a block of land than getting a personal loan etc etc that I don't think we could ever do enough for our kids to make it up.
Then over the years Mum & Dad used to visit us, and nothing would make Dad happier than finding a long list of "fix it jobs" around the house. Made Dad feel good and got stuff done when I was pressed for time. Now 20 years later, one of our daughters, with hubby and family have moved back from overseas, and I have had a great time as foreman and handyman on their house which has had a complete makeover in the past 5 weeks.
Mum & Dad were never wealthy, but were always there for us. We don't care how much we do for our kids - it would never be as much as we received. Its great to have the excuse to be with them and their families too.
The kids care for us when we need them too. Like, all three flew to
Perth a couple of Christmases back when my wife had an extended stay in hospital.
Yep - they are worth it, and good on you Axel for being there for yours.
Max
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 19:36
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 19:36
Just trying to picture Axle's place with an ATM mounted in the wall next to the front door....
Maybe he could member message us with the PIN code!
Keep up the good work mate!
Muddy
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:55
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:55
Thats what i need Muddy!, A bloody ATM. With out my dosh in it. :))))))
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:40
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:40
Can i borrow $50 so i can renew my
membership?
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:58
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 20:58
No worries Mate , Take my last fifty!!.
Regards Axle.
Reply By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:29
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:29
if one wet week has sent them to the folks cap in hand ,maybe they spent to much on the NEW home.Spose they could always blame John Howard.
Reply By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:33
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:33
if one wet week has sent them to the folks cap in hand ,maybe they spent to much on the NEW home.Spose they could always blame John Howard.
Reply By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:33
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:33
Reply By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:34
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:34
if one wet week has sent them to the folks cap in hand ,maybe they spent to much on the NEW
home.Spose they could always blame
John Howard.
if one wet week has sent them to the folks cap in hand ,maybe they spent to much on the NEW
John Howard.
Follow Up By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:35
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:35
oops
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:43
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:43
He is self employed mate,! One wet week can be a disaster, as tradesmen in the building industry will
well inform you.
Regards Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:46
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:46
He is self employed mate,! One wet week can be a disaster, as tradesmen in the building industry will
well inform you.
Regards Axle.
Follow Up By: Felix Oflanigan - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:05
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:05
i to am self employed but i am sure i wouldnt have to run the folks after 1 wet week.in my work i go 6 weeks straight with 0 income every year, havent had to go cap in hand to folks or anyone else yet.like i said maybe they spent 2 much on the NEW house.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:52
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:52
have you two got the stutters????
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:27
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:27
Whats doing that?? Giving me the chits!.
Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:50
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:50
Axle the best thing about this story is that you were in a position to actually assist at all. I know my parents went through a poor stage when I got my first house at the same time as establishing my business. I had some hard times with almost no help. But they have still given immense amounts in every area over the years. Good on everyone here for helping another family or not.
Reply By: George_M - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:56
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 21:56
Axel
I'm told that there's now a term for this generation of
young people. They are called KIPPERS - Kids In Parents Pockets Eroding Retirement Incomes".
I've got two of them doing their very best to prove this stereotype right....
George
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:04
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:04
Kippers is offset by parents who love to "Ski" :-)
Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:42
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:42
Hey , i was asked to make a donation this week to the Police xmas fund in the form of $238 and 3 points whilst riding my CBR900 Fireblade down a quiet country road........
so on top of my donation of more than $500 a week in tax they shall get a further $238 to disperse to all the deadbeats and drug addicts.......
Yes charity does start at
home .. at least you know yours goes to a worthy cause
Boc
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:16
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:16
ROFL .............. I am so pleased I'm not alone, thought I was in an elite club all by myself, but alas I have company.
At least I know when they ask ....... things are BAD and I have no problems helping out. In fact I'm heading up to
Darwin in 4 weeks to save my daughter around $11000 by reroofing her house. As I see it if I can help my kids out I will, in the end its a good cause.
Reply By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:41
Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:41
Tell me about it.
Son phoned on the way
home from
Townsville this morning where he had been working.
"Hey dad, can you pick up Old Mate (the '86 Cruiser) and fix up the $470 for the alternator etc? Oh and I picked up the air horns off
the bench you were going to put in the Rodeo and got them to put them in while they were at it"
He's
home but haven't seen any of the $$$ yet and don't expect it in a hurry.
But as others have said I count myself fortunate that I am in a position to help out.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:16
Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:16
I also got helped out as a
young adult. As things are now pretty good for my
young family (not flushed with cash, but comfortable) I get the opertunity every now and then to help my parents out financially....I hope my 2 and 4 y.o. have seen what I am able to do and can return the favour in 30 years or so LOL
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 13:48
Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 13:48
Gday Axle
I know how you feel.
We , Darling and I, are in the same boat....So when they now want to "borrow" i'll tell them to ring Axle.
Murray
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:22
Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:22
Thanks Murray You are such a thoughtfull soul!
Axle.