No more polar bears - now that is a shame,,,,

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 22:37
ThreadID: 49484 Views:3783 Replies:17 FollowUps:41
What a shame,,,,,,,,,,,,,,polar bears will be all gone soon!

I like polar bears,,,,,,,,,,,,

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/09/08/2027423.htm

What next? Skippys? Koalas? Sharks? Thrill Necked Lizards?

Bilbo - ",,,,,,,,,,polar bears are not tossers"

Reply By: Olcoolone- Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:12

Saturday, Sep 08, 2007 at 23:12
They say that in another 70 years there will be no Arctic Circle ice cap.

People talk about global warming but very few understand what is happening.

It is really surprising how tidal changes can screw up fish stock.

Arn't we a stupid race....destroy the world we live in in less then 150 years.

Sooner they bring out nuclearer powered computers and 4wd,s the better.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 261120

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 07:38

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 07:38
Considering that the world has been around for some billion years, is a living cell, and will rengenerate itself as it has done on timeless occasions, I doubt whether what people are saying is remotely true.

Dooms'dayers!

Yes the Dodo is extinct and so are many other species. It is part of the natural occurrence of this planet.

If the Polar Bears do not learn to adapt to new living conditions then they are doomed. They can swim and will make for hard ground if the conditions should change beyond their comfort zone. The melting of the icecap (should it melt in the next 50 years after being there for millions) will not raise the sea levels.

Anyway, what is so nice about Polar bears? They eat people!!!!

Thrill Necked Lizards????????(Confused Bilbo...LOL)

AnswerID: 261139

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 08:27

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 08:27
Willem
Thanks mate, saves me saying anymore on the subject, I could add a couple of pages but I'm just tired of the BS they go on with, They just put the mouth into gear without any real deep thought on the subject.

Doug

FollowupID: 522533

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:02

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 09:02
Amazing! Based on what I have just read above, it appears to me that the Dodo is not extinct at all :)

FollowupID: 522542

Follow Up By: dave_c - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:28

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:28
Gday Willem,

Absolutely spot on there, IMO anyway. It's a natural proccess just running its course. Good luck to the ones who are trying to reverse this. Let the worriers do the worrying and we will do the living.

Cheers Dave
FollowupID: 522549

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:58

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 15:58
Willem,

I like polar bears, they are cuddly and white - and they DO eat people as you say. But have you ever thought that's PRECISELY why I like 'em. After all, I'm sure you know heaps of people that should be fed to polar bears??? I certainly do!

And Willem,,,,,,,,,,,you may call them,"Frill Neck Lizards", but I call 'em "Thrill Neck Lizards". Ya see, it all depends what you do with 'em ;) Don't tell me that you've never, ever had a ferret down yer pants!!,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo - "The kinky hobbit"
FollowupID: 522565

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:06

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:06
That's a mighty fine attitude you and Doug have there Willem! Is that you don't have another 50 years left on your tyres that you're so flippant about this issue? If so, then I have to say how dissapointing it is to hear that!

Worst case scenario: the world's ending and we do what we can about it.

Best case scenario: it's all BS (to use Doug's words) and we spend a bit of effort trying to live cleaner and greener anyway.

I can't see a down side there?

It's the self serving attitude of those that think they know everything and care for nothing more than themselves that has this planet in the state it's in today.

Don't get me wrong - I hope you're right! Because I do have plenty of years on my tyres! One day I'd like to have kids too and I'd like a world for them to enjoy too!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 522613

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:36

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:36
Scoey

I base my comments on more than 50 years of experience of having crap drummed into my head by the print media, radio and TV, in their self serving race to confuse Joe Blow and the public.

One of the main things in life, and that is indeed why I have been travelling for most of it, is to observe what lies around you.

The next thing is to read up on your favourite subject and beyond that as well.

The third thing is to listen to a variety of opinions of life in general from older people.

After you have done this, then you may form an opinion on world matters.

So that is what I have posted. MY OPINION!

If you feel disappointed by it then you only have yourself to blame.

FollowupID: 522624

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 10:18

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 10:18
Willem,

You might find this an interesting read:

Intel Failure

Pete
FollowupID: 522670

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:02

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:02
This is also interesting and provides factual information, unlike the previously posted link...

Global Annual Mean Surface Temperature Anomaly

What is causing it is another question and some may like to disagree with others....but it appears to me that the world, on average, is getting warmer..or have I got the computer screen upside down?

FollowupID: 522677

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:00

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:00
Willem,

I'm not dissapointed in the fact that you posted your opinion. I'm dissapointed in your attitude. Not that I expect you to care. But maybe you do?

It's an attitude that's shared by too many people and frankly, in my opinion, serves no positive purpose.

In my opinion, it would be an ignorant person who believes that the human race aren't having a detrimental effect on the earth and that nothing need be done about it. Not someone who is well travelled, well read and worldly.

There is such a thing as irrepairable damage.

As I said before, I hope you're right and everything will be ok! But where's the harm in trying to encourage people to live cleaner and greener? Where's the harm in trying to reduce the human race's impact on the earth?

Clearly, I'm about as likely to get you to agree with me as I am, to agree with you and that's fine. I just think it'd be nice if someone reading this changed thier thinking just a little bit.

I don't mean to have a go at you by saying that your attitude dissapoints me, but then you already know that if you care about that, then you only have yourself to blame hey?

Scoey!
FollowupID: 522688

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:26

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:26
Scoey
We think as humans we are superior, ...well were not , if you want to size things up check this. and we think Earth is big , are we entitled to say "Australia, she's a big Country mate"
Compare the size

FollowupID: 522696

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:50

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:50
Scoey

What a wonderful discourse!

I have not met you in person and so you do not know me and therefor it is really very silly for you to state that I have a bad attitude towards things environmental. And I don't need to tell you how I see myself as past of this planet.

In response to Bilbo's emotive plea to save the the Polar Bear I merely stated >Considering that the world has been around for some billion years, is a living cell, and will rengenerate itself as it has done on timeless occasions, I doubt whether what people are saying, is remotely true<.......From this you have deducted that my attitude towards life on this planet is abysmal. You go on to state that maybe I don't care because I am an older person, inferring that my time may be up soon and that I should care etc etc......

As for irrepairable damage...that is only a perception.....it is just a re-arrangement of atoms. Atoms can be split but not destroyed.

Enjoyment of life is in the eye of the beholder. What you may consider as enjoyment now, your children of the future might find repulsive.

Perceptions... its all a matter of perceptions.

FollowupID: 522703

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:58

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:58

I was typing a response but had a time-out and it wasn't long-winded either...lol

I read a book once with the title "How to lie with Statitics"

Your graph is the work of a human, and humans are fallible.

Then again, my screen might be upside down as well.

FollowupID: 522707

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:35

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:35
Willem, Willem, Willem - your comments never cease to amaze me (I found your suggestion that polar bears should just swim to hard ground when the Artic ice melts and all will be OK particularly amusing). I am also curious as to how you have concluded that the sea level won’t rise if the Artic ice (continues) to melt. It is possible that sea levels won’t rise any further but, from what I can figure, only if the additional volume of water being created is removed (along with the additional water coming from other melts) to some other part of the water cycle that does not include the oceans. I know its only your opinion but if you could clarify your ideas/thoughts on this I would be interested to read them.

You are correct on statistics – they can and have been presented in ways that suit particular agendas. I am however not sure that a simple graph of average temperatures can be manipulated too much (unless you are suggesting the actual data is made up?). Anyway, I think the raw data is available for download so anyone can graph it themselves and make up their own mind on what it means. It appears pretty clear to me though. All food for thought.

Everyone having Fun?

FollowupID: 522718

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:18

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:18
Greg, Greg Greg!!!

I am stuck indoors with a rotten cold...what is your excuse?

Also there is no global warming here today. It is cold, wet, and windy.

Ice is expanded water. Should it all melt, the rise in sea levels would be negligible. It had has been said that if ALL the ice on this planet should melt, then the seal levels would rise by 70metres. That, in my opinion is negligible. Maybe it weill happen in a million years from now, maybe not. Then you have to take natural evaporation and precipitation into account. By how much has the termperature risen in the the last 100 years. One Google site says 1 degree Farenheit! Not a cause for alarm is it? Now suddenly the bears are going to have no ice in 40 years time?

I go back to what I said in the beginning >Considering that the world has been around for some billion years, is a living cell, and will rengenerate itself, as it has done on timeless occasions<

I will go for Charles Darwin's theory of natural selection and survival of the fittest. Them's the breaks for the Polar Bears unless we humans intervene and relocate them to solid ground somewhere and declare that we have saved another species from possible extinction. What will the bears think of it? We know best, don't we.

We can go around and aroundin circles for hours mate, discussing these things. Best solution I think is for you to meet me somewhere in the Western Deserts around a camp fire in 09 and we can discuss global warming at length.

FollowupID: 522722

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:33

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:33
My excuse! Writing reports (I work out of home) for all the field work Ive been doing! I am easily distracted. Its polar bear cold here too..which reminds me of the poem

Cold as a frog in a frozen pool
Cold as the end of an Eskimos t**l
Cold as the hairs on a polar bears b*m
Cold as you love for a ***** when youve ***........woops sorry x-rated

09 Western Deserts - could be a possibility - certainly plenty of time to prepare...though by then it may not be a desert:)

Bugger off I’m busy and now I’m another 10 minutes behind

FollowupID: 522726

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:45

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:45
First you elicit a response, and now you tell me to bugger off.

Best you bugger off and do some work...lol

FollowupID: 522731

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:01

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:01
Bl**dy hell you're right - sorry for being rude.

Ok - I have read your response to my queries regarding your ideas on sea level and polar bears. In summary, I don't agree with most of what you've said and in fact think you are crackers...but thats Ok cause so am I:)

Catchya

FollowupID: 522735

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:54

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:54
Hi Willem,

You're right - I have never met you and so to make a judgement on your attitude on things environmental would be silly. That is why I made a judgement on your attitude expresed in your post.

I also expressed that I was dissappointed with your view you had put forward. To say that I think your attitude to life on this planet is abysmal is quite a stretch, to say the least.

I also questioned whether you would care what I think. No where did I say that this was because you are an older person. And any inference you took from that was all your own.

As for irrepairable damage being only a perception?... Have a chat to someone who's lost an eye. I'm sure it's just thier perception that they can't see out of it. Or maybe we should look at the Dodo?

Anyway, thanks for the chat. Take care!

Cheers, Scoey.
FollowupID: 522742

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:17
just to set the record straight the issue the bears have with the lack of ice is it greatly impedes the way they hunt and get food,. In summer they are forced off the ice packs and eat little until it reforms. The issue is the ice is melting sooner and reforming later increasing their fasting spells.
weather or not this is mans doing or not i have no wish to discuss over the internet.
HOWEVER
i i magine seals and beluga whales etc are doing it much easier without being plucked from their breathing holes by a waiting bear. the rise of small seals could increase the numbers of leopord seals or something
nature hates a vacume
FollowupID: 522762

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 06:56

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 06:56
Arn't those leopard seals a nasty looking beast.

I was called out to 'rescue' one on a beach when I worked for the RSPCA. It was just resting and there were a couple of kids kicking sand over it - until it yawned. They took off then!

Two days later we had an excited call from the tour operators at Granite Island - it was hunting penguins just off the jetty and throwing them into the air before munching them.

"Can you get rid of it?"

"Sorry ma'am. Thats what nature does."

It hung around for a few days then left.

I have a mate who worked at Mawson station and he was hunted by one once when on the sea ice.

Pete
FollowupID: 522835

Reply By: Olcoolone- Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:06

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:06
I said for years that it was all rubbish until we did a training course on refrigeration and the person conducting the training (not a greeny) raised some interesting questions.

This may just be a normal cycle that happens every x amount of years.

We are workin hard to make the businesses we own becoming more enviromently aware.

It's a interesting subject with so many differant out comes.

We can't even look after our selves regarding our own health (me included) let alone the world.

I supose it's the old story.....It's never going to hapen to me, so why should I do anything about it!

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 261164

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 10:56
OK, if humans are causing climate change, who caused the Ice Age??
AnswerID: 261172

Follow Up By: Olcoolone- Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:21

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:21
The ice age didn't happen over nigh, it happened over 10,s of 1000's of years.

The change we are seeing now has increased in the last 40 years and we still have 20 to 30 years of pollution stil to do damage.

The whole world is a eco system and we are part of it.

I thought the 4wd thing was "leave nothing but foot prints", it's no differant, you don't go out and wreck the enviroment when you are 4wding....but when it comes to the world very few care.

Perhaps when we go like China and have to wear face masks for every day activities people may start paying attention to it.

There are 3 types of people in this world, LEADERS, FOLLOWERS and KNOCKERS......which one are you (it's not directed at SHAKER)

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 522551

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:35

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:35
To be quite honest, I'm not sure which one I am, I would assume like most that I'm a follower.
I do know though, that I live in country Victoria & if you talk to old farmers about the drought, they say it reminds them of 50 or 60 years ago when farmers were forced to leave the land.
I also think that a lot of very marginal areas are now being farmed & it doesn't take much of a climatic glitch to make it unviable.
FollowupID: 522553

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 12:38

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 12:38

I am a LEADER. Which one are you???....LOL

FollowupID: 522555

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:10

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:10
Shaker asked,",,,,,,,OK, if humans are causing climate change, who caused the Ice Age?? ,,,,,,,,,,"

Polar bears, Shaker, polar bears. They wanted things all thier own way, but we showed 'em eh!

Which is how this thread started I think,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522567

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:14

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:14
Good Knockers usually have many Folllowers :) ... what am I Leading to....

no pics sorry.....
FollowupID: 522678

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:00

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 11:00
Here is an interesting document.

http://www.iucn.org/themes/ssc/red_list_2004/Extinction_media_brief_2004.pdf

Shows that species extinction is nothing new over history. The problem existed even with our early settlers - a quote from the article "In Australia, where the earliest human remains are dated to approximately 64,000 years, the great majority of the 22 identified genera of large land animals disappeared between 30,000 and 60,000 years ago."

AnswerID: 261173

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 12:37

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 12:37
It's very hard to make a judgment, I'll add a 4th to the 3 types of people...skeptic???? not in a bad way, but I think both the sides of the 'fence' loose a lot of credibility (in my view) with the selective nature of their presentations. ' An unfortunate truth' was interesting, but as passionate as Al Gore is, He has no trouble flying first class, being driven around in large cars etc all through the film. Not knocking him for it, but it goes against his preachings. He makes heaps of examples of the sea levels rising, which they seem to be in the short term, but in the another section of the film he talks about europe being covered with ice....no mention of lowering of the sea levels though.

One thing I do believe, is that we are heading for problems, due to overpopulation. Treat the planet like a farm, sure you can overstock a farm for large short term gain, but then face damaged soils etc in the following years. Are we overstocking the farm??

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 261187

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:07

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 16:07
Isn't it odd. Several people on here have said that, "Its just a natural cycle snd if certain species can't adapt then they become extinct"

I've heard scientists say, "The earth is a organism, a massive ecosystem of an immense size and like any other superior organism it will cure itself of major irritants by getting rid of those irritant"

Wouldn't it be a real bummer if we are the worst major irritant and it gets rid of us?

Well maybe not all of us. Just half of us, to bring things back to being manageable. I wonder what "the living half" will do when they see the other half dying off? Prolly what they do now,,,,,,,,,

"Pass me another beer love, what's for tea, must get me lawn edges done this weekend or shall we go bush-bashing,,,,,,,,,,,"

Bilbo - "The third eyed hobbit"
AnswerID: 261227

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:05

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:05
Problem with getting rid of half, is which half do we get rid of, and who decides. Half would be insufficient, as the population would double within one generation..

If anyone confesses to knowing which half (or 80%) should be selected to go, what does that make them?

I am inclined to think we will eventually annihilate ourselves (or a substantial portion of ourselves) basically by consuming our habitat, like a locust plague. When there is no food left, the plague is over, all the locusts are dead.

There will probably be no wild animals or fish left when that happens, as we will eat every available gram of protein we can catch, and all plant foods will also be gone.

Not much food on the moon, so we can't go there.......

FollowupID: 522586

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:09

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:09
Anarchy, will decide which half

FollowupID: 522588

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:34

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:34
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaia_hypothesis

GAIA

Interestingly James Lovelock is in favour of nuclear power - a man of much wisdom and insight.

FollowupID: 522598

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:23

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:23
On the money, Gerhard, spot on.

Equinox - a very plausible scenario. May I just say, that it's a scenario that we may yet have even without climate change. Have you seen peoples reactions to APEC and other such global
trade meetings? It's coming,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

And finally me ole mate, Mike H,,,,,,,,,,,,,James Lovelock and "The Gaia theory" Top stuff from a guy that 40 years ago started the Green Movement all on his own. What a change of heart he had about nuclear power. Scary reading for some but I reckon he's right.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522622

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:18
I think it's interesting that 'global warming' has eclipsed all other environmental issues. We may or may not be causing/contributing to global warming, yet those things attributed to causing it are problems in themselves: mowing down huge tracts of rainforest worldwide, major cities pumping out masses of toxic chemicals into the atmosphere etc. Forget global warming; what about unsustainable harvesting of the oceans, clearing the natural habitat of native species whose numbers are already vulnerable due to feral animals, our European farming practices which don't suit this environment, urbanisation of areas beyond the catchment area's ability to cope with the population.....It's all short-sightedness.

We will directly bleep this place up a long time before global warming does.

And now nuclear energy is the solution and apparently it will be safe. Consider the transporting of waste: there will never be a cargo ship run aground will there? There's never been any incidents in modern history of ships having 'leakage issues' while carrying fuel or other toxic cargo. We wont be losing a species, we'll be gaining a mutant one.

That's my rant :-))
AnswerID: 261249

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:40

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:40
>what about unsustainable harvesting of the oceans

Type "bottom trawling" into Google - it's a disgrace and a shame on us all that such a practice should occur.

http://www.greenpeace.org/international/campaigns/save-our-seas-2/save-deep-sea-life

Bottom trawling

FollowupID: 522600

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:28

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:28
It has been forecast that within 25 years, seafood will be the province of only the very rich, if it's available at all.

Huge areas of SE Asia have been fished out for the last decade.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522623

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:26

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:26
I installed a Solar hart and fluro power saver globes as well as use the hills hoist instead of the dryer
Seemed to work, perth was damn cold last summer. Maybe the Polar bears can live there
AnswerID: 261253

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:31

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:31
I started reading your post and thought you were talking 'survivalist' LOL

FollowupID: 522597

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:53

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 19:53
We are causing a whole host of issues in the world. If you read the facts (and there are lots of em!) you will have to agree we are causing climate change. All scientists agree but where they disagree is exactly what we are doing. The climate is overly complex and we may never really understand how trillions of tons of air will react to the copious amounts of CO2 we are putting up there. Basically we are currently in the middle of a huge irreversible experiment, to say nothing is going to change is idiotic. To me the green people (I would be somewhere in the mix of greenies I suppose) are the most conservative in the world as they want to maintain what we have and the only way to do that is to stop the cause of the problem, mainly pollution. People who want to ignore the problem are basically saying they care nothing for the consequences of the changing earth. BTW the earth will be fine through all this, we should not worry about it, its been here a lot longer than us! What we are actually worried about here is humanity as the earth may get to a stage where it will not support our lavish lifestyles and change to the point where only some, or none of us will survive, I suppose in another way some people dont have an issue with this either.
AnswerID: 261258

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:37

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 22:37
F4,

Yep mate, that's it,",,,,,,,,,,the earth will be come through just fine,,,,,,,,,,,"

But perhaps 70% won't be here to see it.

It's not just "Climate Change" that's the problem. it's the additional "load" of pollution, overuse and an increasing population.

I wonder what will happen when the Chinese run out of room, food and resources to provide for thier nation?

"Hmmmmm,,,,,,,,,Austrayyiaa rooks a good bet eh! Rotsa food, rotsa space, rotsa lice, rotsa evellything and not so many people, not so squeezy as China eh. Dey got noe pranes, not many ships, subarrines no broody good, hericopter clash all time. OK we invade Austrayyia tommollow"

Bilbo.
FollowupID: 522625

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:35

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:35
I agree, in those empire building computer games there is an option to pay off larger empires than you with money to stop them attacking. The thing is, it only works for so long before their demands keep rising and eventually you cant pay and they attack. I recon in the future good political relations will only go so far until we have some serious issues to face.
FollowupID: 522661

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:35

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 09:35
I agree, in those empire building computer games there is an option to pay off larger empires than you with money to stop them attacking. The thing is, it only works for so long before their demands keep rising and eventually you cant pay and they attack. I recon in the future good political relations will only go so far until we have some serious issues to face.
FollowupID: 522662

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 21:26
When It Comes to Global Warming, Just Cool It

AnswerID: 261277

Follow Up By: Ive Biggin {A.C.T} - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:30

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:30
What a load of CR*P Doug T
What has god and the environment got to do with each other
Look at the name of the web site that you are directing readers to
http://www.biblebelievers.org.au/
They only print what they want there believers to believe in
How can any one believe is such utter rubbish and still warrant respect

Ive
FollowupID: 522639

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 00:06

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 00:06
Ive

Your name says it all
FollowupID: 522642

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Sep 09, 2007 at 23:44
A few dead fish in the sea a bit more oil on the beach, the world will go on adapting and get used to the change.

Even Greenpeace uses fossil fuel to get around remember!

AnswerID: 261299

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:14

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 11:14
Why not check out these periods, and then tell me who created the warm and cold periods of millions of years ago
geological time periods

AnswerID: 261338

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:32

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:32
What is the argument about? Seems to me that everyone accepts that overpopulation and pollution are bad!

AnswerID: 261360

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:52

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:52
Over Population. I was looking at the Earth as seen from space, I see an image of Australia from 4000 klm , there are what some 20,000,000 in Australia and I couldn't see not one human

FollowupID: 522732

Follow Up By: Member - peter C (WA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:24

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:24
No humans?? What about polar bears, or forum members (arguably too many of the latter)?

FollowupID: 522778

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:28

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:28
We certainly are an extremely selfish species Bilbo and I
would miss the Polar bears.

As for whats next, was listening to ABC radio today about the
extinction of a Goanna species in Northern territory.

While some still hold onto the idea that we are not responsible for
a large part of warming, few would have issue with this Goanna's
demise as being caused directly by Cane Toads and indirectly by us
as its an introduced pest.

AnswerID: 261367

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:21

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:21
Bilbo, youv'e done it again, what an angler, star material mate LOL,
seriously though folks I dont really go on the "end of the world is nigh" syndrome, but has anyone read Graham Hancocks Finger prints of God ? 600 pages of hard facts and an absolute must if you've a building background like myself, the conclusions in this book are staggering, everything from the beginning to the end of the world, if you've ever wondered about pyramids etc, have a read of it,
regards,
AnswerID: 261374

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:51

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:51
Gee, thanks Dave.

I dunno how I do it sometimes,,,,,,,, ;)

I just type in a little comment, maybe add a little pepper to it with a loaded, (er sorry that should "leading") question and next everyone's at each other throats,,,,,,,,,,,,

Good eh!

Bilbo - "The pot stirring hobbit"
FollowupID: 522755

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:43

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:43
Oh no we can't do without this little fella

AnswerID: 261379

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:45

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:45
Exactly!!!

The prosecution rests its case M'lud,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

and,,,,,,,,,,no polar bears = no Wallabies!!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 522753