Towing to the top of Cape York
Submitted: Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 12:28
Lesley Briggs
Just wondered if anyone has towed all the way to the top, how did you go, what did you tow and would you do it again and what can you tell us please?
Reply By: Grungle - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:01
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:01
Van or off road camper?
We have towed our Aussie Swag all the way via the OTL. Reasonably hard but very doable. If going via the bypass then you will have no issues at all and could even take a onroad van (albeit carefully). There are some bad corrugations up there depending on when you go (graded at around the school holidays).
I don't recommend the bypass except for heading home maybe as you miss out on a hell of a lot of the best parts of the Cape.
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:51
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:51
Hi David - thanks for your reply.
We will be towing a Trakmaster XCountry offroad 4x4 pop top caravan (only 16'6" long but with dual
wheels) and are heading there mid next year. We don't want to take the bypass and want to tow to
Bamaga. We have a Nissan Patrol fully rigged and have done lots of trips with the
Kimberley Kamper we are now in the process of selling.
When did you do your trip? We are travellilng with another vehicle who will also be towing a Trakmaster, and Trakmaster have told us we can take them anywhere. I have told them we had better be able to !
Would you do the OTL both ways and if not which way would you think the best way to see all the good sights?
Look forward to you reply.
Cheers .... Lesley
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:22
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:22
We have not been there, but our Trak Shak has. I see why not, with your Trakmaster, they are a very good, tough caravan.
Dunno about the manouverability with them, I hear that at times it gets a bit tricky on some of the
creek crossings. By the way, what weight are they fully loaded ?.
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:52
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:52
Hi Bucky
Thanks for your comments - yes I believe Trakmaster are an excellent van. We have seen them being built and are looking forward to getting ours. We have a
Kimberley kamper at the moment and while we love this are really looking forward to the Trakmaster !
i don't know the weight but believe they are very similiar to the KK maybe slightly heavier. It is also being built with a XCountry chassis and dual
wheels so should ride much better over corrugations etc.
Lesley
Follow Up By: Grungle - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:11
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:11
Hi Lesley,
I would say not to attempt the OTL with the Van. We were there in June this year and it was pretty difficult. Many horror stories about being stuck, drowned etc. I have not heard of any caravans going through since Kedron did their DVD - "The Rugged
Cape York Adventure". I would suggest you get this and then make your decision as little has changed with reards to difficulty.
There are may dropoffs, hairpin/90 degree bends, holes etc and unless you have a support team (which Kedron did), you would be shoveling banks, stacking rocks and generally doing it hard.
I am all for the experience and the adventure but I would put money on decent damage to the van in this particular case - regardless of its offroad capabilities.
Reply By: Mick - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:21
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:21
Don't even think about it!
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:36
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:36
That's a constructive comment, does it mean don't think about it just do it??
Camper trailers go to the top all the time and the Kedron Boys have filmed their trips with caravans.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:56
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:56
I'd also be thinking it meant "just do it" !! Just have to convince the other couple we are travelling with....
And anyway - what's life without a challenge !
Had another reply to my question who said he had towed to
Bamaga and there were more campervans there than tents !
So looks like my question has been answered !
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:00
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:00
I say, just take your time and enjoy your trip.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 23:23
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 23:23
Kev,
Have you watched the Kedron boys doing the OTL? Yes they did it, but they needed about 5 guys and 3 vehicles to get the van through, pushing, shoving and digging their way.
Also they didn't want to keep the van for themselves after the trip. I certainly wouldn't have bought it. They do a lot of trips, not advising to do them just proving the vans can make it.
I couldn't see anyone enjoying a trip with a full size van up the OTL. Have a mate who done it last year with a GU and an adventurer camper, and thats about maximum size.
Reply By: Member - Terry G (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:23
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:23
Lesley
We were there in June and there more camper trailers in the van
park at
Bamaga than there were tents!!
tessa
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:59
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:59
Hi Tessa
Thanks for that - did you do the OTL or the bypass? And were you towing?
Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:45
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:45
If Tommo can do it, than it must be doable, his film crew have to sleep somewhere Lol!
Reply By: Lochmonster - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:58
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:58
Lesley, if your camper is off-road equipped, ie; heavy duty components and is in good condition, then as long as the operator is sensible and the vehicle capable then you should make it. There are sufficient bypasses to take to avoid unnecessary risks, ie; Gunshot. Most common breakages are suspensions components and wheel bearings; service them. Check your vehicle and trailer more than once daily.
Negotiating obstacles; normal procedure, pick the best and safest route, prepare recovery points (even better if you have a 2nd vehicle with you) and go. Before you go on the trip, take your camper to good off-road areas near home and test and familarise yourself with all possible obstacles you may encounter, ie; tight hair-pin uphill ascents,
creek crossings, loss of momentum, difficult reversing recoveries, trailer recovery....to name a few.
Besides, you'll sleep better knowing that the 4 metre salties will pick the easier meals sleeping in tents than having to first get into your canvas and then climb the step-up to sink his chompers into you!
The main ingredient?............a sense of adventure.
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:10
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:10
Hi Lochmonster !
Yes, to all of your comments above and we are travelling with another couple we have had some fantastic 4x4 trips in different parts of Oz with over the past 4 years, who will also be towing their Trakmaster offroad caravan. We have been told we can take them anywhere so guess we will see !!!
Would hate to get there and have missed out on some fun along the way !
Cheers ... Lesley
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:53
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:53
G'day Lesley,
I have taken a camper trailer a couple of times and I would say your major hang up so to speak will be the trailer width. We found the track narrow and sharp in some
places making it difficult with a following trailer. I must reiterate though this is only in some
places, most of the OTT I found OK but a little extra width of a van might make all the difference.
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:34
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:34
Hi Beatit !
Thanks for that - we would probably go ok then as the width of the van is no bigger than the width of our vehicle.
Did you go to the cape along the OTT or by return?
Lesley.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:40
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:40
G'day Lesley,
Probably 95% of the track right up to the old vehicle crossing. Somehow we missed a bit with a wrong turn. We have avoided Gunshot however a fellow traveller did it in 2002 - there was a gentle slope option there but very narrow (read drop on one side and a wall on the other). Also been to iron range via frenchman track and the Pascoe, been to
Vrilya Point and in about a week will be
camping at
Cape Melville with my trailer.
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:43
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:43
Thanks for that - I'm definitely looking forward to heading north again and value your comments !
Happy & safe travelling on your next trip !
Lesley
Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:09
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:09
Hi Lesley,
Could you email me and give me some thoughts on your trackmaster caravan as we are thinking about purchasing an off road van and can you tell me some of the
places you have been.
thanks in advance
barb
PS if you click on my profile you will be able to message me I think ta
Follow Up By: Lesley Briggs - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:40
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:40
Hi Barb
We haven't taken possession of our Trakmaster yet - it will be ready mid December.
What we have at the moment and are selling is a
Kimberley Kamper - and the only reason is to go to the next level of comfort as I love the KK !!
We have done the following trips with the KK - High Country VIC,
Border Track which runs from the
Murray River to the sea,
Innamincka and the old Strezlecki track, East &
West MacDonnell Ranges including into Ruby Gap and all around Alice,
Oodnadatta Track, as
well as heaps of more local long weekend trips in Vic.
Lesley
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:47
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:47
Hi Lesley,
I towed a builders trailer set up for that that trip to the cape via the OTL and return via
Weipa and Chilli Beach. I was only towing with a petrol pathfinder but still had no probs power wise. Things change dramatically from year to year but I would think the majority of the time you would be OK with the van in tow. However, the "other" times will test you severly, by way of tight twisty sections and sharp drop offs in and out of creeks, if you are prepared to fix things if they break then by all means have a go. IF NOT THEN DON'T BOTHER.
North of Elliot falls is where most of the fun will begin for you if you take the van, so if you are struggling by the time you get to here then I would advise taking the bypass from here. Don't miss the top section of the OTL if you do go bypass, just set up
camp at the falls and do a day trip to the sth side of
Jardine river with vehicle only (or better still split it over two days and tent it at the
Jardine). I loved Chilli beach but the last few k's in was a real killer with huge wombat holes when I went so again this would test with a van. The Pascoe on the Frenchmans track was real stony and deep so with a van would be hard yakka but doable if you are prepared to fix things if the worst happens. Also Cypress Ck with it's "bridge" would be heart in your mouth stuf. If you find a pic on this
creek you will know what I mean.
How does the Trackmaster go for
water sealing, some of the creeks should test this if it is not too good. I would also suggest at least one vehicle to have a suitable winch if you are taking the vans.
I would love to see pics of this trip, so if you do go with the van in tow, please let us know on this site when you get back and have pics for us to see please.
Best regards, Trevor.
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:37
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:37
We have had camper trailers with us on just about every trip some struggle and some dont.
It dosnt matter on type or make it just seems to be the luck of the draw.
All the best eric
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:27
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:27
Hi Lesley
I hav a DVD that was put out by the Gall boys at Kedron Caravans , its called the rugged
Cape York adventure in my opinion i think this would give you a really good insight into what your in for towing a van up the Cape via the OTL ......this is the link to their website i think from memory the DVD was about $20 unless of course you are in
Adelaide then i would let you borrow my copy ...............
http://www.kedroncaravans.com/.
Cheers.........Dave
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:29
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:29
sorry looks like the link didnt work ...but the website is www.kedroncaravans.com
Reply By: Member - BIGMARK (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:36
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:36
Hi Lesley,
Dont forget to run your tyre pressure a bit lower ie 25-28 psi on my Kanga.
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:12
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:12
Lesly,
No hassles towing the van to
the tip.....via the bypass. You could even take on the bottom half of the OTL without too much hassle-I've seen photos of 20ft Bushtrackers going down Cockato Ck. Like Trevor said above, the top half of the track is where the more challenging driving begins. IMO you'd have to be NUTS to tow a 16 and a half foot van of any kind over the top half!!
Watch the Kedron video..... They went in there with seemingly zero research, and
well...watch it!
Unless you own a caravan manufacturering company, I would suggest doing the top half with out the van. Set the van up at Canal
Creek and go have some fun with the car, come back for the van and go the bypass.
If you do tow it over the top half, film it at least so others can see how you went!
We left our van at Mt Carbine and camped out of the Troopy for afew weeks. I didn't want to have to think about where I could or couldn't go. The Cape was as much about 4wding for me as sightseeing, so the van would have been a pain. Having said that, we agreed that if we went again we'd tow the van to Seisa or
Punsand Bay and sit up there for a couple of months, play on the OTL, do other side trips at our liesure....
Good luck,
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:21
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:21
Agree with you Troopy , imagine trying to do some of the stuff them Gall boys did without the crew they had with them ?? somehow i dont think so ...lol
Reply By: Members - Bow - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:55
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:55
We are camped at
Weipa at the moment on the way home from
Bamaga towing a Bushtracker.
Travelled the bypass road and some sections of the OTL
On the OTL width is a Major problem (trees and tight turns). The Bushtracker can handle
creek crossings up to 1.2m
Tyre pressure needs to be lowered to 28psi
If you take your time and survey every obstacle it is easy to keep out of trouble.
Camp at Elliot falls and and spend a few days playing on the OTL