Fuel Prices....Yet again
Submitted: Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:16
Mr Fawlty
Fuel Prices yet again. Wanted to buy diesel in Forster and because I had a “Coles” docket I stopped at the Shell opposite the Maccas. Not such a good idea, the Diesel is not advertised on the “Big
Sign” out front and it’s not till you check the price on the bowser that you see that it is $1.419. I had unfortunately put $30 worth in the Jack before realizing the price. The other servos in the area sell from $1.29 (Volume Plus) to an average of around $1.369. I did suggest that the behavior of the Management in not displaying the Diesel Price until you get to the pump was letting the side down and most unsporting. She said the price of the Diesel was so high as it had too “offset the price of the unleaded”. Yeah I should have known, if the price isn’t upfront it would be high. I could have driven off but anyway I’ve had my whinge and feel better now.
Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:50
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 13:50
Hi Mr. Fawlty.
I would never use the
supermarket dockets in this area(
Tweed Heads) as I found that Coles & Woolies fuel prices were 3/4 cents above the other local outlets.Not worth the hassle to save 1c a litre.
Follow Up By: Lochmonster - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:12
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:12
Vince, it's the same up here in NQ.
Follow Up By: Robnicko - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:25
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 14:25
Vince,
I used to use the dockets but the non-safeway-
Caltex near me is always cheaper than the Safeway
Caltex up the road. Even on Wednesdays when the prices go up the non-safeway
caltex doesn't put his prices up until the following day, and even then thier price is still cheaper than the safeway branded
caltex.
The only docket worth getting is the one Coles do when you buy 6 bottles of wine and get 20cpl off. Thats if you like wine.
Rob
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:28
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:28
Now I've heard everything, using diesel to lever the price drop in unleaded....
Diesel here has hovered around the same price here in SQLD for weeks, yet unleaded is up and down like to perverbial...
Lets hope this current inquiry into petrol price fixing and supermarkets reveals some truths...
Follow Up By: glids - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:38
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:38
Unfortunately the enquiry only covers ULP.
Diesel should be cheaper than ULP as it is cheaper to produce, but the fuel companies use the supply and demand excuse to keep prices up.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:39
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 15:39
I don't normally go with the 4c discounts - rather get BP. But I bought 6 bottles of wine at Woolies Liquer. The wine was already on special, then they took another 10% off, and then give me a docket that gives me 20c off per litre of fuel.
I put 150litres into the diesel yesterday and it cost me $1.12 per litre. That $30 saved.
Got to admit that that was a good deal. The offer ends this week.
Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:19
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 16:19
hate to tell u this buttttt u got ripped off for the wine,,
Follow Up By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:06
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:06
I paid $1.14 with no dockets in Mt Isa early August and at the time it was $1.25 in
Rockhampton. Work that out
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:23
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:23
"hate to tell u this buttttt u got ripped off for the wine"
I expected to get ripped off for the wine, but $36 for 6 bottles, and got $30 off fuel............
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:54
Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:54
I reckon the Gov. will not do much, they make to much with the GST component, the higher the price the greater their take, so there is not much incentive for them to get fair dinkum with the oil companies by way of price justification.
Prices here in
Newcastle for diesel are pretty consistent at about $1.33 & have been for a while. ULP fluctuates in our area by big margins, $1.38 a week or so back & in the past few days around the $1.20 mark (Ithink)
Anyway, you have to have it so you have to pay for it, but it would be nice if it were more consistent so that those people travelling for extended periods could work out a meaningfull fuel budget.
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:23
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:23
Kevin07 has just knee-jerked (justifiably) on pokies, perhaps he could be nudged on fuel prices including diesel!!
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:24
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:24
Kevin07 has just knee-jerked (justifiably) on pokies, perhaps he could be nudged on fuel prices including diesel!!
John G