A new breed of car thief.....

Submitted: Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:03
ThreadID: 49526 Views:3764 Replies:11 FollowUps:23
Woke up Sunday morning to find the cruiser had been visited in the night by the local low life.

Silly me had cleaned the car on Saturday and left it out the back unlocked thinking it would be safe. These buggers came through the rear gate from the lane and when I found it in the morning, vehicle was open with doors open wide and canopy sides up in the air.

But bugger me if they weren't a tidy lot. They had taken a blanket from the rear and laid it on the ground, then all the stuff they had removed in the form of spot lights, head lights etc but not stolen, was sitting on top of the blanket. The fold up chairs were also stacked in a neat pile alongside.

Then perhaps they were going to wrap them in the blanket and make off like Santa

The only things actually missing were some bino's and a couple of baseball type hats. Nothing else taken and the vehicle is always ready to go with fridges, radios etc permanently installed so they could have had a bonaza if a little more industrious..

Cops were a bit ho-hum but then what can they really do.

So take care oe'rs. Even the backyard isn't all that safe anymore.

Reply By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:12

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:12
Sorry to here about your misfortune, I always reckon its good to have a "Beware of Dog" sign on all the gates even if you haven't got one, let them do some hard thinking before they take the final step through the gate.
AnswerID: 261385

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:16

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:16
Franga,

I actually have a largish Maremma which is a great guard dog but kept him in that night because the neighbours were having a party.

Perhaps that's where the thief came from but apparently a few other vehicles in the neighbourhood had been turned over as well..
FollowupID: 522745

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:20
Mine just says a red heeler/ridgeback prefers to reside here, nothing else, lovely dog, great with people/kids and sometimes other dogs.

They get the message, she is awesome when she gets bleep off

FollowupID: 522747

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:00

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:00
The sign is ok if you dont have a dog, but a liability admission if you do....you need to put old blue in the back of the truck to sleep at night :@)now they know whats in there, hook a coil up to your battery and the door handles...
FollowupID: 523020

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:58

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 17:58
Gee John,

So they break in, but don't think your stuff is worth taking :-(((
AnswerID: 261395

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:05

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:05
No mate, they were disturbed perhaps by the party next door, good thing
FollowupID: 522759

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:41

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:41
It's a worry isn't it Phil.

All that hard earned and worrisome decision making on which or what to buy and it's not even worth knocking off.

It's interesting tho to try and remember all the bits that were in there loose, as in torches, headlights, hand helds etc. I went for a wander down the lane and found a spare fire extinguisher which they decided not to pinch and an RFDS hat which I hadn't even missed on first inspection.

My main concern is that they will get organised and bring some tools back with a ute to get the expensive stuff..

Think I might let george the Maremma sort that lot if it occurs.
FollowupID: 522775

Reply By: JimDi - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:01

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:01
John,
Was staying in Canberra a few years ago,when George Bush was visiting young John. Was within 4klm's of Parlt. house with approximately 1500 cops in the area when a low life removed the aluminium side steps from the 80 series cruiser. About $2000 at the time.
Insurance paid up but I must admit the attitude of the police was disappointing. I understand they have a tough job but it seems they are more and more claiming that the law constrains their response. What to do about that. Beats me.
JimDi
AnswerID: 261397

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:31

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:31
I think I got off pretty lightly as the bino's can be replaced for a couple of hundred dollars but if they were really organised they could have cost me a fortune with the gear that's mounted in there.

I am just a tad worried that they might be back with a truck next time to load all the gear into but the dogf now stays outside to do his duty methinks.
FollowupID: 522768

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:46

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:46
Perhaps they hadn't got the fence organised so far. There is always next week......
FollowupID: 523038

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:25

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:25
JimDi,

Read my reply to Stephen above.

Like you I was disappointed with the response & attitude of the police when mine was stolen

The police don't care about stolen cars. They leave the searching & the worrying up to the insurance company.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 261401

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:33

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:33
I think the police are simply being worn down by the system as if they catch the liitle mongrels a slap over the wrist is all they will get at best.

Must be pretty disheartening for them to put in some effort only for the local beak to give the pep talk and open the court house door.
FollowupID: 522770

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 08:44

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 08:44
John,
You've summed the lot of the poor old copper up fairly well, at least in NSW anyway.
I've got a few mates who are past and present members of the force.

To a man they are frustrated with a system that wants them to police with both arms tied behind their back and one leg chopped off at the knee.

I know one of them got so fed up over one case he resigned. My mate and another copper chased this bloke down the main street of a small North West NSW town as he proceeded to smash the windows of every shop he passed using a lump of 4x2.

The magistrate had a cry with the crim, pointed out he was from a minority group of disadvantaged no-reflective types and promptly dismissed the charges. Then the beak had the hide to rip into the two coppers about arresting disadvantaged peoples.

That little episode cost the NSW people two of the best coppers they had. The sort of blokes who'd rather have a yarn about the error of your ways than go for the biro.

FollowupID: 522853

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:33

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:33
They may be expensive but Keyed Lock Nuts save some agony.
AnswerID: 261405

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 18:40
Bilbo
It's not for food on the table, It's for the drugs they need , Mongrels deserve to be shot

AnswerID: 261408

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:27

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 19:27
Mate one thing I really admire about the summary justice dispensed by some Islamic groups. You steal something they cut of one hand. You steal again - they cut off the other hand. Drastic measures but a sure fire cure for light fingered low-lifes.
AnswerID: 261427

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:48

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 20:48
DIO,

There's a lot to be said for certain aspects of Shariah Law,,,,,,,,,,,,,

That bit about theiving is a good one.

Also, I kinda like that other one about women having to walk behind a man and serve him until the man wants another "servant", at which point she can be dumped.

Will there be a Muslim Party at this forthcoming election?

Bilbo - "The chauvinist hobbit"
FollowupID: 522803

Follow Up By: nats - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:12

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:12
Transportation was a popular response some time back and there is always Capital Punishment to resort to ..... or cliches....
FollowupID: 522811

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, Sep 10, 2007 at 21:08
i left the 4x4 on the road last week locked up. punks took my laser level, studd finder, every coin, some gold medallions. Police dealt with it very well. I cant heko thinking that if I found the guys who did it I would like to sort them out.
AnswerID: 261448

Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:02

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 00:02
How do you think I feel, off we go to Perth on the weekend to take mother dearest down for a musical. Traffic was horrendous so we were running a bit late and could not find a parking spot, finally found a dingy car park behind a pub.
Any way off we go, had a great time and on our return to the car, as I am approaching the drivers door I thought "Gee that window looks too clean" so I reached out to touch it, it wasn't there. My heart sank, because we were late I didn't take the time to hide all the goodies, kids DVD players, hand held UHF, CD player, mobile phone, navigation system and all the other usual stuff.
I unlocked the door and checked, IT WAS ALL STILL THERE.
I thought "why would anyone break the window and not take anything and where's all the glass" so I checked the window. To my horror I found out I had neglected to wind it up.
Boy did I feel like a dill, a very lucky dill and I have yet to tell the better 1/2, might just to forget to I think.
AnswerID: 261463

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:16

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:16
That's a great story Charlie - and I will admit to having done a similar thing myself and being surprised to find nothing missing, even tho I had left a handbag in full view on a Thursday night at the local shops with the back windows down. Depends on the luck of the day I think.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 522888

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:19

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:19
Ditto.
Must be an age thing :-)
FollowupID: 522889

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:21

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:21
It's OK Michelle I know how to deal with this! Charlie you must be a very young man indeed.

FollowupID: 522912

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:22

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:22
Oops that should be John - sorry John or Charlie.
FollowupID: 522913

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:01

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:01
Thanks Beatit - nice to know there are some chivarlous fellows out there protecting my sensitivities. I will remember who to come to when I suffer the transition to the big four-o in February!
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 522923

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:02

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:02
chivalrous
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 522924

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:07
four OH you mean :o)

FollowupID: 522966

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:14

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:14
I can't even rember waht it was like to be four - 0 - 0h.

u - oh time to plead alzheimers methinks :-)
FollowupID: 522967

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:08

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:08
Could be worse, remember the bloke few yrs bck on here morning of his honeymoon and also kids birthday trip, came out and car/campertrailer with everything was gone... Never seen again.
AnswerID: 261546

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:15

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:15
I have had 2 very different results in the last few months.

Someone decided to torch my Pajero at about 11.00pm one night while it was in the middle of my driveway , about 5m from our bedroom.

Bastards stole nothing but a few coins , but obviously they decided torching the car would be fun.

More recently I had left my Patrol unlocked after returning from our Tassie Trip. It had a heap of CD's, UHF radios , GPS etc etc etc etc , and nothing went missing . . . at all.

Only thing left were 2 smoke butts.

For some reason they decided the Patrol was a good place to stop for a smoke.
AnswerID: 261548