Feedback on purchase of Maxxis Bighorns for your info...
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 06:51
Vicar
Gday all,
Just a result of your help re tyre selection. Finally chose to go with the Maxxis Bighorn and received prices from all kinds of mobs in brizzy as high as 310bucks for 265 75 16.
I'll give the company a wrap, its callled ace tyres and I got them for $254 each. You can, which I did pickup really competitive priced EFS
suspension as
well, I got a 2 inch kit heavy duty supplied with the new elite branding including steering damper for a GU Patrol 99 for $813.00. Bargain in my eyes...
No I'm not affiliated with them, sparky by trade, just impressed that there is someone still out there looking after our wallets.
Have a great one...
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 07:12
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 07:12
Good to see that you got a good deal with your purchases.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 08:01
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 08:01
Thanks kev, just posting so other locals can take advantage as
well...
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:28
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:28
Mates got the Bighorn muddies on his Jack and I was astounded just how quiet they were for new tyres on the road. He reckoned that in mud and rock they were excellent and I saw them in sand and deflated to 12-14psi were excellent in the sands around Willbinga.
Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:35
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 09:35
Hoping to have a chance next month to test them out, only done about 60 or 70k's on them so far, I've always loved that mud tyre hum...
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 16:36
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 16:36
Had
mine for about 7000kms now.....seem to be good still, no dramas
Follow Up By: Vicar - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:18
Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:18
Hi Stefan,
By the looks of things you've done some mud. They clean out ok?
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 16:27
Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 16:27
G'day Vicar, just remember they are more of an intermediate mud tyre, so they don't clean as
well as a full mud tyre, but saying that they clean alot better than any AT tyre I have had before
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Vicar - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:33
Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:33
stefan,
thanks mate...see how they go...
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:01
Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:01
My discussions with Bob Jane today have resulted in me being confused lol. They said the MT762 is the Bighorn and they said its no longer imported to Australia. However they sell a MT754 Buckshot. Is this going to be as good as the Bighorns?? At $209 for 32x11.5.15 they seem good value.
Follow Up By: Vicar - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:38
Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:38
Gday brew,
As far as I've been told, they are only fairly new the bighorns, i've run a set of buckshots before, cheap as chips but they were pretty skitish on the road. I got a set of 33 buckshots for 198 bout 14 months ago. They were pretty good, like I said above, little bit wild even in the dry. I was runnin a petrol GQ with a bit of power with 4 inch coil 2 inch body and few other bits and pieces. For what the buckshots are, I reckon they are worth what you pay for them...