Best clothing storage???
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:19
bundyluva
Just after a few opinions on what fellow travellers have found to be the best way of carting your clothes.
We will have a Land Cruiser wagon and camper trailer with 2 adults and 2 kids.
All suggetions will be useful.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:36
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:36
We have 2 large _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx in the canopy (his and hers). Got sick of bags.
Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:00
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 18:00
When does she ever go with ya,
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:36
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:36
Whos that hidden there?????????? hehehe
"She" has had a bumper year! "She" said bugger the netball, and we spent 6 weeks in the
Pilbara, 9 days in GVD, 2 weeks in Tassie and a weekend at
Beachport. Theres only 3 other trips where "she" didn't make it!!!!!
Come to think of it, I've had a bumper year :-))
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:16
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:16
Ahhhhh Edmund :-)))
Actually 2006 was pretty good too. "She" got to do 2
Simpson Desert trips -
Madigan Line and French Line and 2 weeks in Qld.
Reply By: Rocky_QLD - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:38
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 11:38
Hi Bundy
We use plastic boxes with sealable lids, picked them up from bunnings reasonably cheaply. We have one each and they store under the bed in the c/t, dust proof and readily accessable. There are plenty of different sizes available.
Rocky
Reply By: marq - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:04
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:04
Two of us - one main bag and two compression bags (swap between summer/winter gear).
Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:09
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:09
We are in a similar situation. Cruiser, camper and 2 kids (teenagers). On the last holiday we trialled a new system - one of those cheap, medium sized, suitcases you can get at
places like the Warehouse or Crazy Clarks for each of us. They fit neatly on the shelf I have in the back of the Cruiser. Worked a treat.
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:22
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:22
I use an ARB Spacecase that is 1100mm x 550mm x 310mm and it goes on the roof rack. Heaps of space for 2 adults and 2 kids under 4 year old.
If I'm lazy it can go in the trailer.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:43
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:43
Must be a hassle climbing up the rack every time you want a change of undies??
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 16:15
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 16:15
Signman,
You have to wear them to change them LOL.
But seriously it is no different to getting the Tent on and off, ie clothes out when needed (last thing or first thing) during the day. If base camped then the box comes off.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:06
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:06
The first thing bundy is to reduce the clothes you carry. On our first big trip, the wife insisted on taking about 5 pairs of shoes and 2 weeks worth of clothes. Nuts.
Now even when traveling for 3 or 4 months, we limit ourselves to a pair of thongs / sandals and a pair of runners/walking shoes each. We carry one set of 'good' clothes each (jeans and shirt that we wear with the runners) which are packed in plastic bags to keep separate. Other than that, we live in shorts and T shirts (about 4 shorts and 6 shirts each, plus underwear). Add a track suit or sweat shirt if likely to encounter some cold weather and thats about it. Hand wash as required.
We now carry all in _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx in the CT. Before that we tried duffel bags, plastic bags and plastic boxes. Duffel bags are easier to pack, plastic bags the same, but not as strong. Both are a pain when you are looking for a specific item. Plastic boxes take a bit more space, but are easy to use.
If you use one big box between 2, beware, the wife will use most of the space. If you can fit 2 smaller boxes - one each and both pack only what will fit in your box, you are on your way. But good luck to limiting the wife to one small box!!
Reply By: Mal and Di - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:24
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:24
Don't take them, the clothes not the kids I mean.
I have found that we always take too much.
All you need is the set you are wearing, 2--3 days for the fellows and a day less for the girls and another set to put on when the are dirty.
You can usually wash at least once a week.
In the past with a camper trailer we used plastic boxes with lids but as an extra dust measure put a bin liner in first and then fold it all in.
M.
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:47
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 15:47
We use the nally
bins black tubs with lids
http://www.blythenterprises.com.au/plastics.htm
The one we use is the IHO51 Crate
They last for ever and the lids clip on one end and on the other end there is a hole and just put a twist of electrical wire through the hole and all's good.
They sit on the truck and are just about dust proof (a small amount sometimes enters.) But rarely.
Each family member gets one if it don't fit in the binn it dont go.