VOLTAGE DROP
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:32
Muzzgit [WA]
Hey guys, I recently had an anderson plug put on the back of the pootrol and had the 12v hotwire for the camper put thru an anderson plug instead of going thru the trailer plug.
I now have a voltage drop in the camper of about 3 volts!!!
I don't know if it was like this before, but now when I check the voltage of the camper battery by putting the multi meter on the anderson plug I get a very different reading to what I get directly from the battery terminals. The camper is a 2005 Jayco outback.
So the question is.......does anyone know where I might start looking?
THANKS.
Hopefully, with some helpfull advice I can avoid pulling half the camper apart.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:55
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:55
if not too inconvenient, take it back and get them to do the same check as you, with their test gear, you witnessing.
could be a high resistance joint at the anderson (poor soldering or crimping or both.)
is your camper connected when you measure at the anderson?
Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:57
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 13:57
Hi Muzz
I have an Anderson plug on the back as
well because, like you, I found that there was a large voltage drop between the car and trailer.
I left the original wiring at the trailer plug as it is and ran a pair of 6mm cable (conductor diameter) from the front of the trailer to the fridge. Because the fridge is isolated from the house battery, I now have two separate circuits. The voltage drop went from about 3 volts to less than 1 volt.
You haven't said whether your problem is charging the battery or effectiveness of the fridge. My problem was the fridge.
Measuring the voltage at the battery may be misleading because there is an isolating diode in circuit to prevent the fridge running off the battery. You will always experience a .6 volt drop across a diode. This is normal.
As far as charging the battery is concerned, I have an Arrid Twincharge battery charger installed. It will fully charge the house battery with input voltage anywhere from 8 to 15 volts.
Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:06
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 14:06
Some questions that are also points along the path to find the cause of the voltage drop:
Where does the "hot wire" originate? Does it run directly from the Patrol main or second battery, via a fuse/circuit breaker to the plug?
Where does the earth come from?
What is the size of both wires?
Has the Anderson plug been assembled correctly (springs on the opposite side to the contacts, wire cleaned before crimping/soldering)?
Where are you measuring at the camper end? What is plugged in at the time (fridge, lights, batteries)?
Voltage of the camper batteries when disconnected (if the batteries have never been charged properly then trying to charge via a hot wire will take a very, very long time - if the battery is low 9.6v if the drop is 3v it may never charge)
What's the wiring like between the anderson plug on the camper to the battery (number of connections, circuit breaker, size etc)?
Hope this helps as a start.
Adrian
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:21
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:21
The wiring on the car is not the problem. It runs from the aux battery thru a circuit breaker.
I was testing the voltage for the camper battery.
The car is not connected.
The battery is being charged by the inbuilt power pack. The battery holds a healthy 12.8v for several weeks. I plug the power pack in every couple of weeks to keep it topped up.
The earth is the standard Jayco wiring.
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:29
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:29
Sorry Muzz but I'm now confused (only NOW? some might say...) where exactly are you measuring the voltage when you see the 3v drop?
Adrian
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:59
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 17:59
Adrian, Muzz,
Thinking the same way - earth?
The voltage reading is only as good as the earth.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:03
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:03
Yeah, the earth is what I'm thinking, but I thought maybe someone on here has had similar troubles.
If I measure the voltage at the anderson plug by pushing the prongs of the multimeter into it I get about 3v difference from testing direct from the battery terminals
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:46
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:46
Muzz
You still have not directly answered the question asked a few times. Was the camper trailer connected when you poked the meter leads into the Anderson plug???????????
Unless you answer the questions asked you will not get an accurate answer.
You will not get any measured voltage drop unless there is current being drawn by the load.
One way to measure voltage drop at points down the line is to stick dressmaking pins through the insulation of the cable so that they touch the copper cable inside (if you can not get get the probes into the metal pieces of plugs, sockets and fuses.) You connect the load, start the motor and then measure the voltage ar various points along the cables the whole way from the alternator to the battery. You measure the voltage each side of every connector or plug in the line. That way you will see if you have a problem in each and every piece of wire, fuse or connector.
Follow Up By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:59
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:59
Muzz,
I assume you have the car disconnected when you take the measurment.
I've only looked at a friend's Goldstream camper - if the Jayco wiring is anything similar then there are lots of connectors, junctions and "devices" (eg charger) tucked away under seats/in cupboards and anywhere else that was accessible during the build (but NOT afterwards!). Did the manual come with a wiring diagram? To eliminate an earth problem, connect a thick wire (jumper leads work
well) to the -ve of the battery long enough to reach the Anderson plug and measure the voltage between this and the +ve terminal on the plug. If it's still 3V difference then it's a problem in the +ve line but if it shows almost the same as the battery then it's the earth (could of course be that there is a problem in both).
Adrian
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:59
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:59
Thanks guys. I have booked it in to an auto leccy for Thursday.
PeterD, yes, I replied above and stated that the car is not connected.
Reply By: Ken - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:36
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 19:36
Muzz, this makes no sense. If you do not have the trailer lead connected to the car, the voltage at the trailer end of the Anderson plug from the battery should be exactly the same as the battery voltage. The only current being drawn on the lead SHOULD be the minute amount drawn by the multimeter which even with undersize cable to the battery, will have no measurable voltage drop.
If there is a load on the camper battery somewhere off this wiring then what you are seeing makes sense as the current drawn by this load will cause a voltage drop if the wiring is too light. Check that there is nothing loading the battery off this lead, if there is isolate it and the voltage at the plug should be the same as the battery terminal voltage. If this is the result you see you need to find where the voltage drop is being generated. It could be the wire gauge is too light or there is voltage drop across some of the connections. It won't be in the Anderson plug as you are not drawing any current through it if I understand your test method. I'd start with the battery terminal connectors as I have had problems with a vehicle main battery where the inside of the connector clamps are corroded resulting in a poor connection to the battery posts. A measurement on the battery terminals and another on the outside of the clamp might show an interesting result.
Good luck,
Ken
Reply By: techo2oz - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:27
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:27
G'day Muzzgit,
if your internal wiring is as it was out of the factory, even if it has been uprated, this might explain the difference.
The auxilliary line goes into a switched input on the regulator which essentially isolates the wiring back towards the vehicle. While I haven't tested it, I think it will also act to minimise discharge back into the vehicle if the engine is off and power is being drawn on that circuit.
As indicated above, it also allows for switching of power to the fridge when there is power from the vehicle, but disconnects the fridge from the house battery when the vehicle is disconnected.
I suspect if a load was placed across the anderson plug, you would see zero or next to zero volts available.
If I get a chance I will test the theory on
mine.
Follow Up By: techo2oz - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:11
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:11
Well, that theory is out the window.
Just tested
mine and there is no difference between battery voltage and the input to the regulator nor to the wiring to front of draw bar.
What you could do is under the
seat where the regulator unit is, measure the voltage there. Looking at the top of the regulator, there will be several wires plugged in using spade connectors. There are 2 rows. looking from right to left, the rear row is Vehicle Aux in + Further along there will be the -ve connections.
On the front row, terminal on right most side is the battery connection. By placing the negative of your meter onto any negative terminal, then measure your battery side then compare to the Aux in side. If you still see 3 volts difference, try disconnecting the spade for Aux in. I guess from there you could use process of elimination to work out which direction in the wiring to start looking.
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 13:30
Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 13:30
OK. Just picked up the camper from the auto leccy.
NO VOLTAGE DROP FOUND.........on his multimeter.
BIG VOLTAGE DROP FOUND.........ON MY MULTIMETER!!!
BUGGER!!!
Another item on the XMAS prezzy list.
Thanks for your help and suggestions.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 13:51
Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 13:51
like i said at the top mate...
"if not too inconvenient, take it back and get them to do the same check as you, with their test gear, you witnessing."
good to hear it is sorted mate, thanks for letting us know the result.