Thread follow up 49535

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:17
ThreadID: 49571 Views:2790 Replies:10 FollowUps:34
So all you smart asses who said you use brakes to pull up a rig of 5 tonne.How do you wise guys come to a stop? in any situation without using your GEARS.

Reply By: pepper2 - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:31

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:31
In Australia its arses some aussies dont copy everything american
AnswerID: 261601

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:28

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:28
Do not correct me when said ASSES i meant ASSES.Americanism is not the way of the world.The word was used as not to rile the Moderator.LOl
FollowupID: 523032

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:10

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:10
Who is loi ?
FollowupID: 523174

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:32

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:32
IFIK.!
FollowupID: 523196

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:35

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:35
Oh you bloody beauty m now we're gonna have a ding dond argument about the difference between yankee and Aussie bottoms ....yes BOTTOMS

AnswerID: 261602

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:35

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:35
Dougy, Dougy, Dougy....

You know it never ceases to amaze me that the spelling is so bad on this forum.

Dond????

I mean really. Some of our intrepid correspondence need to go back to school.

(Be careful of my purposefully planted error)

FollowupID: 523049

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:03

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:03
Hey, Gone Bush.
Was your purposefully planted error the spelling, or the poor punctuation?
As such, should you have made that purposefully planted errors, or would this then technically be one error on purpose, and two unplanned errors.?
Hmmm. what school will you be going back to?
I also probably have errors, but I don't give a damn.
FollowupID: 523108

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:10
correspondence ????
DO i GET THE PRIZE

FollowupID: 523111

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:12

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:12
Brushy, my post was more a dig at Doug (sort of rhymes, doesn't it?) who submitted a recent post lamenting the poor spelling on this Forum.

BTW, did you know that Doug invented the Tilley lamp?

He's quite famous but keeps it to himself.

FollowupID: 523123

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 14:45

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 14:45
I was under the impression that the Tilley lamp was invented by Lord Rudolph Alexander Tilley, in England in 1885.
He was a famous proctologist whose patients had some discomfort from the burning twigs he was taught to use by the Brittish Medical Board, and he kept getting his sideburns and moustache singed, but hey, you live and learn, but good onya Doug. Most enlightening.
Sorry to get in your way of sticking it to a spelling fanatic.
Thanks for the education.
FollowupID: 523146

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:40

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:40
I pulled up my semi once with a loaded 20ft container of Marble for Padstow, when an airline came off between cab and trailer... I had no idea why I wasnt slowing down as I should have, but pumped brakes a bit and it stopped in middle of the intersection with me hanging off the airhorns...

jumped out checked situation, the rubber in the fitting had worn out and wouldnt hold... patched it, and drove the 5klms back to Millers Rd yard, and parked it up for the night, went home and changed undies, adn removed airhorn cord that was embedded in my fingers.
AnswerID: 261604

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:41

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:41
I suppose that's why you recommended the Train Horn the other day LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 523007

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:47

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:47
Im still on the look out for one.. :)
FollowupID: 523041

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:37

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:37
That's why i wouldn't use glade ends.the bloody things are always comming off.
Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 523076

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:44

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:44
Without over simplifying the reality of stopping a 5 ton vehicle, if the vehicle is not overloaded and within the makers specifcations and is still incapable of being stopped by by application of the brakes, then there is something very very wrong. Yes drivers of heavy vehicles do often use the gears to reduce speed of their vehicle which many will argue is inappropriate as the brakes should be used to reduce speed and gears to maintain speed. One of the biggest problems with heavy vehicles is the speed at which they are driven. Often greater than is really safe and suitable for the load and road conditions. In those situations and that could be the majority of situations then it is the fault of the operator not necessarily the vehicle. Recently news repots of two heavy vehicles - B-doubles I believe - have come to grief after negotiating the downhill sth eastern freeway into Adelaide resulting in many damaged vehicles, some relatively minor injuries (thank God). The inital claim of the drivers was that they suffered brake failure. Perhaps although I think not as local residents and regular users of that section of highway apparently have repeatedly complained of the irresponsible behaviour of heavy vehicle drivers on the downhill stretch of road. Allegations of excess speed, tail-gating and dangerous overtaking are some of the claims. Police and RTA officials are investigating. Now how do you 'pull up a 5 tonne rig'? Well firstly drive at a speed consistent with conditions, ensure that you vehicle is well maintained and then apply your brakes. It's really is all that simple. Good luck with your venture and I hope for everyones sake that you do heed the concerns of many and either reduce your weight or upgrade your vehicle.
AnswerID: 261608

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:06

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:06
In response to your references made towards heavy vehicles I suggest you make no comment on subjcts you obviously know nothing about, especially with regards to puting blame on drivers of said vehicles.
The last thing the heavy vehicle industry needs is wombats like you filling the general public with scaremongering crap the likes of which you have just dribbled. I doubt Channel nine needs any help in that regard.
May I also suggest that you appologise to heavy vehicle drivers for your misinformed and defamatory accusations.

Pezza

FollowupID: 523024

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:33
DIO,
Have you ever driven a 'heavy vechile'? if so please inform the forum as otherwise your comments are without justification.

The heaviest vechile I have driven was an unloaded Mitsu Fighter 7.5tn truck around the back yard at work when the boss was bored and was looking for something to do. Certainly opened my eyes as to the amount of concentration and knowledge that would be neccessary to operate these and far larger rigs on the open road let alone in dense city traffic.

My reasons for arking up are because such comments at the above in regards to so-called 'road cowboys' (with the current affairs programs trying to cover the entire transport industry with the one blanket) have copped in pretty badly in recent times the incredible majority without any tangible evidence. Anyone remeber the truck-clips-merc-in-tunnel fiasco with that f@ckwit reporter deliberately making a truck overtake her in a crowded tunnel?
Truck driver one second, tarred as public enemy numero uno the next.

Ben
FollowupID: 523033

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:33
So Dio, if your pulling up in any type of vehicle you only use Brakes. your automatic doe not change down with the lowering of speed (news to me).Manual you stay in top gear & use you brakes 'till you stop (Woah).No wonder those trucks in south aus. had brake failure.
FollowupID: 523034

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:12
Dio,

I believe that the most recent incident was a rigid tipper + dog trailer. It had very recently had new brakes fitted and had been through its heavy vehicle accreditation only a few days before.

This comes from a person on the scene, but I can't vouch for it.

There is nothing to suggest, as yet, that this was anything other than a failure of the brakes.
FollowupID: 523047

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:45

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:45
I was slowed down by the big zebra sign at the other side of a T-junction. Still rolled the Cortina another 6 times and lived to tell the tale.

Stopping without brakes or gears might need an automatic front disengaging driveshaft.....lol

AnswerID: 261609

Reply By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:56

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 20:56
I used an anchor, you didn't say what type of vehicle. snicker snicker.
AnswerID: 261612

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:35

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:35
Franga, a boat is a Vessel.Lol
FollowupID: 523035

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:28

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 21:28
In an emergency stopping situation the gears are of little use - stand on all the brakes you have and hope it pulls up....

In general driving it is good practice (not a requirement) in any vehicle with a manual gearbox to change down to a lower gear to assist with slowing the vehicle and save excessive wear on the vehicle brakes. This works well if you have plenty of notice for stopping like coasting up to red lights or corners that you planned to turn at. I rarely touch the brakes on these occasions except to come to a complete stop.

In heavy vehicles on steep decents it is MANDATORY where signposted to use a lower gear to prevent the vehicle from running away downhill to cause havoc at the bottom! This ensures that when the brakes ARE required that they are not overheated.

On the Crafers freeway down track mentioned above I was travelling at the posted limit of 100km/h in e rado and was overtaken by an empty flatbed semi doing around 120! Being empty he probably had plenty of stopping capacity but I would say that he had absolutely zero margin for error in negotiating those bends safely. At 100 even the Prado feels a bit "on the edge" for grip on some of the bends so I reckon this guy was really flying by the seat of his pants with an empty 40' trailer on the back.

Muddy
AnswerID: 261623

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:18

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:18
100% MUDDY
When I was taught to drive, it was explained to me to use the gears, (engine compression braking), as well as the brakes.

FollowupID: 523114

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:05

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 11:05
The sign at the top of Cunninghams Gaps say's MUST use low gear as most other Hills, ie Greenmount, Towoomba Range ,

FollowupID: 523121

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:14

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:14
Yep, use just your brakes coming down the gap in a loaded 4wd with a trailer and watch those discs turn red and smoke. Let alone a bigger / heavier vehicle.
FollowupID: 523132

Reply By: John R (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 22:24
Leave your vehicle in gear and turn the engine off.

A week or so ago I did a rather interesting (but all too brief) 'Safe Off-Road Driver Training Course' with the CFS, but trained by an accredited heavy vehicle mob from Adelaide.

Training was in 4wd fire trucks, but applies to 4wd vehicles too. These trucks have syncro 5 speed gear boxes.

I can expand on these things a bit if anyone's interested, but it'll make for a long'ish reply.

Very interesting & valuable lessons though, particularly in regard to stopping & starting on hills. Remarkable what you can do in a fire truck these days!

Oh, before anyone says 'not in a semi', one of the instructors did indeed use these methods when his clutch blew. Certainly not a new or isolated incident, but certainly not an instinctive one!
AnswerID: 261638

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 23:08

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2007 at 23:08
I was also slated to do this particular course with CFS but there was some sort of hiccup with the instructor and the course was cancelled at last minute. Was it good?

So was this the opposite of a stall-start?

Love to know more.

Muddy
FollowupID: 523052

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:26

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:26
G'day John,

"I can expand on these things a bit if anyone's interested, but it'll make for a long'ish reply."

Yes thanks mate, our RFS Cat 1 tankers are 7 speed 14 tonne, am interested to know more on the CFS training if poss.
FollowupID: 523074

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:57

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 07:57
Muddy, the course was very good. No bull bleep , bugger all paperwork - just enough to ensure people have an understanding of a 4wd system. Good instructors.

A couple of scenarios (in all cases you're already in 4wd on firm going, not sand):

You're heading up a hill, but judge you're not going to make it in the present gear, and trying to change down will likely not work.
Turn the key off, apply the brake.
Decide whether you can make it by keeping going forward. If so;
Keep your foot planted on the brake and; pull on the park brake, stick it in 1st, release park brake, release pedal brake.
By now it's just engine compression holding the show, so release the foot brake slowly to ensure you don't head backwards at a rate of knots.
Give a little bit of accelerator, and start the engine.
(This is the part that freaked me a bit - starting a 14 ton truck, pointing uphill, with all that weight on a starter motor.)
It is a remarkably smooth & efficient method, both starting & stopping.

If you don't think you can make it over the hill, instead of putting it in 1st, stick it in reverse, turn the jake brake on and start the engine (no accelerator).

Same method is used if pointing down hill, though it feels much more controlled than regular (clutch on, apply brake) stopping - the engine compression adds braking, so you feel much more comfortable.

The same stopping method can be used in sand, but starting off would be a bit more conventional (start engine, park brake start or whatever the situation dictates) if you're on a slope. If you're on the flat, this 'in-gear' start method can be used.

The theory with the start is, for the instant you start the engine drive is sent to all wheels, giving better traction to get the vehicle moving. Of course, very quickly the diffs do their job, but by then you're already moving. Also, because you start at low revs, low speed, it's a smoother start - no rocking back on the rear axle.

Give it a try.

I understand this method is being taught with Izuzu & Hino approval (after all, the CFS is not going to teach anything which increases likelyhood of buggering the vehicles or voiding warranties), it is taught by industry experts (the guy who taught me was in the army for quite some time as a driver, trainer, experimenter) who also teach it in regular 4wd training courses.

Most importantly though, having done it, it feels very comfortable & useable.
FollowupID: 523083

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 08:13

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 08:13
Sorry to burst your bubble John but the method you explain is the standard hill stall/start when 4wding that people have been doing for last 15 plus years, unfortunately it has bugger all to do with the original post which relates to trying to pull up 5 tonne plus on a normal road, which certain people are trying to say you should be doing without using your gears.

Pezza
FollowupID: 523085

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:12

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 18:12
You're not bursting my bubble at all Pezza, but maybe you're not reading the posts very well.

My initial post offers a thought on how to stop a 5 tonne vehicle on a normal road, with a bit of background on why I'd suggest something many may consider a bit odd.

I was then asked to expand on what I was taught in a course, so I did in the subsequent post.

I am not surprised the hill start technique has been used in 4wding for some time. I wasn't expecting to be told it's acceptable in a 14t truck though.

Interestingly we are told not to use the gears to slow down in these vehicles, even though they're fitted with jake brakes.
That very much goes against your instinct!
Theory is that modern drive trains (this is in a medium rigid truck with 5 speed syncro) are not nearly as strong as they once were.

FollowupID: 523175

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:49

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:49
Neither Hino or Isuzu have jacobs engine brakes,They do however have exhaust brakes
Shane
FollowupID: 523205

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:57
Shane is correct.
FollowupID: 523207

Reply By: rooscoota - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 09:46

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 09:46
roflmao...... i sit back here in hysterics and wonder if any of you have driven any kind of heavy vehicle..... lol very amusing

5 tonne rig give me a brake (sorry bout the pun) no i'm not

if any have done a driving course or evaluation ie: DECCA or anything similar you will soon learn that the need to use every gear in a heavy vehicle is not the go unless necessary ie: climbing a steep incline.... most heavy vehicles rev to aprox 2100 rpm (my last 14 litre cummins did as well as most others) BUT at that stage you have left the torque range well and truly behind ie: the ol 365 cummins from yrs ago was good to lug down at 1100 rpm and shift at 1800 which leaves you within torque range and not just revving for the sake of revving.... the newer macks are the same anything over 1800 is a waste of time and fuel and they pull like a 14 yr old school boy down to 1100, if you know how to drive..... and even more so the newer motors of 500 - 600 horses drive like a car and to to utilise all the get up n go unnecessarily is comparible to a P plater havin a street race

now the same rules apply for down shifting.... none of this changing down gears one by one, if at all, as the preffered demonstrated method is to use the BRAKES, after all thats what they're there for.... the same as entering corners or roundabouts, the recognised method is to have the appropriate gear selected, not having to change gears through said obstacle

but dont despair as its ridiculous topics such as this, and the more ridiculous responses, that make this site such an enjoyable and wonderful place to visit when feeling down and need a good laugh to cheer one up

and lets assume we dont have a massivbe mechanical failure scenario as that WILL involve a totally different apprach
by all means feel free to lash out at my spelling if you need to..... or just lash out cause you think i'm a smart ass, either way i really dont give a rats ass.

theres ya go... my 2 cents worth from one that has been in the industry for 30 yrs

keep on truckin (lol)
AnswerID: 261678

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:26

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 10:26
If as you say "don't give a rats" why did you bother to reply ?
In the industry 30 years uh ? Driving a desk for 29.5 of those I'd say, going by your dribble above.

Pezza
FollowupID: 523116

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:40

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:40
I've been in the transport game just over 30 years & what rooscoota said is pretty close to the mark.only use gears for slowing down when driving an 892T with jakes at fullnoise.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 523201

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:39

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:39
Hi rooscoota, yes I have driven semi's but only locally around town no long distance and havnt driven one for about 2 years now. I have heard that when going down a steep hill where there are signs telling heavy vehicles must use left lane and must be low gear etc THAT if you use your foot brakes means you are not in a low enough gear and there fore are not in full control of vehicle and can be fined for it. Now this sounds like total utter bullsh@t to me BUT not driving these things on a regular basis as said is this all bullsh@t pup talk or fair dinkum. When I have been going down steep grades (no sign posting for lower gears etc)I have used lower gearing, exhaust brakes, and dabbed the foot brake if needed as to not heat up the brakes. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 523233

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 22:55

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 22:55
I've not driven anything heavier than 6wheel and 8wheel tippers but my boss was a pretty good instructor. His method was to be going fairly slowly at the top of the hill to start with. This avoids overheating the brakes. And yes changing down gears at highway speeds to slow up is helpfull, but can be hard work in lower gears.

Somewhere above someone said to turn the key off and hit the brakes.....WRONG IF THE VEHICLE HAS A STEERING LOCK. IF THE VEHICLE HAS A STEERING LOCK, DO NOT TRY THIS.
FollowupID: 523254

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:09

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:09
LOL it's good to see all the professional heavy equipment drivers/operators/cowboys agree on how to stop their gantuan death machines hahahahahaha

AnswerID: 261812

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:11

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:11
ooops left out a 'gar' as in gargantuan Bloody finger/keyboard co-ordination - non-existent :))))
FollowupID: 523257

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:09

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:09
Hi there Al,how have you been?
I thought this would be a god thread as a follow up to the original 49535 the other night.I thought to myself it would go almost 1st place for Friday Funnies & almost as Expected we got a wide variety of answers some of them quite funny to hilarious. I think i would rather drive my self around anywhere than get in any type of transport vehicle with some of them,if they were fair dinkum that is.
was all good humour.LOL
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 523396

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:30

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:30
Bob,

You are definitely a stirrer of the first order LOL. I think some of them failed their scooter license tests as well :)))))

FollowupID: 523399

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 20:02

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 20:02
Al, me a stirrer,nevvvvver.Lol
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 523404