12HT into HJ75 Ute

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 12:22
ThreadID: 49586 Views:16463 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Hi all thankyou to everyone that replyed to me chev v8 quest.

However i think i have pretty much decided that ill go with the 12HT into my 1985 HJ75 Ute.
Can people plz give me their opinions on this engine, pros and cons, how much extra power ect, the cost invovled and anyone who does them in qld as well as what fuel economy i can expect.

Cheers Peter

Reply By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:23

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:23
100kw 315NM torque

Cost I would think would be between $8000 and $10000 for a rebuilt engine.

Will be many who will do the job, don't know what part of Qld your from so giving a contact would be useless, if up around Mackay John Hams Off Road Autos (Mackay) has a good reputation, I am sure many others will answer your question on a who can do the job.
AnswerID: 261706

Reply By: Batman69 - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:47

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 13:47
Hello,

There is a 1HZ with gearbox on ebay for $1800. The 1HZ gives about the same power and torque as the 12HT.

Might be worth considering.

Eaby item number is 320156907539, auction ends in two days.

Steve.
AnswerID: 261708

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:56

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:56
Who told you that a 12HT has the same power and torque as a 1HZ?

Shane
FollowupID: 523170

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:17

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:17
1hz has about the same power/torque as a 12HT..............NO
1hz has 285Nm@2200rpm and 96kw@3800rpm, Im not exactly sure of the 12ht now (previously thought it was 110kw/330Nm in factory form) as someone has posted differently but being a direct-injection turbo charged motor it would have greater low down torque and will rev far easier than a unboosted 1hz (Ie will rev) and keep pulling to almost the red line where a 1hz is normally goneskies by 3000rpm.

12ht has a 2H block so it will bolt straight in, the 1hz has different mounts.

A mate swapped one into his 60 series 2H for a total of $12,000. It was a completely rebuilt motor that he had ported, blue printed and the bottom end balanced and tuned it for a 3" exhaust, it made 128kw/390Nm at the flywheel and would have kept doing so but some rotten b@stard pinched it, used it in a ram raaid then torched it.

Bloody nice truck
FollowupID: 523213

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:47

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:47
Benny and Shane,

Hey guys read the post again, I did not say the same as I said ABOUT the same as. If I had the time I would have posted the figures for both engines but I knew someone else would have the time and the correct numbers and post them.

Either way all I was doing was putting forward an option that may or may not have been what the original poster was after.

Steve.

FollowupID: 523236

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:58

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:58
The power and torque figures posted by Rockape stating the 12HT at 100kW and 315Nm are the same as Toyota specs, not 110kW and 330Nm as stated by Benny although they are about the same. ;-)
FollowupID: 523240

Reply By: mattche - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 14:11

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 14:11
Not sure the 12HT is a better option over the 1HZ,but your doing it, for my money i would be doing a 1HZ and fitting a turbo kit if you wanted to stay diesel.
AnswerID: 261714

Reply By: Davo_60 (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 16:52

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 16:52
Fantastic engine, simple to convert as is very similar to the 2H. Probably better than a 1HZ in many ways.
AnswerID: 261730

Follow Up By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:22

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 17:22
Basically the same block as the 2H so it is a bolt in job (Different heads). The shutoff is done via vacuum instead of EDIC motor so minor wiring modification is required I think.
FollowupID: 523166

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:06
12HT have similar blocks, reinforced pistons & conrods, but the biggest gain over a 2H is the fact they have direct injection and run a comparativley low turbo boost giving good low down torque(not reliant on turbo,as many T/Ds are) BUT you must beware of bottom end failures.
I own a 1HZ and would have no problem owning a 12HT in prefence,except they are a little long in the tooth now.
Have owned a 1HDT (superseded 12HT) and it suffered turbo lag down low but went better once was wound up.
If I was in your position, I would source 1HDTFE (24 valve motor),probably cost similar,but more power and torque(118kw/380 nm torque I think)not to much would need to be modifide
Shane
FollowupID: 523184

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 19:45
151kw and 435nm standard.Paul
FollowupID: 523204

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:22

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:22
ooops. . . . not 1HDTFE,The motor I was wanted came after the 1HDT and before 1HDTFE, it had 24 valve but not the electronics thus having lower power outputs and came out in the late 1990's 80 series crusier
Shane
FollowupID: 523216

Follow Up By: TD100 - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:27

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:27
1HDFT is what u were after 122kw and 390nm me thinks .Paul
FollowupID: 523219

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:06

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 20:06
G'day Peter, not sure of the technicalities of jamming a 12HT in, but in my opinion they are a great motor.
As with most vehicles, if you keep the speed down aroung 100 or thereabouts, they are really economical.
I have just bought a CT and fuel consumption 1024 Kms - 118 ltrs. with CT attached. Didn't use 5th either.
Didn't get much over 85kph though.
Haven't had any problems, but only 220K.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 261765

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:15

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:15
There is a 12ht on ebay for 5k, another on ebay for 1500 needing rebuild. This motor would be the pick of the easy conversion motors, they are tough...i would look at buying a whole 60 series that you can run and drive the motor in, even a written off 60 would be less than 4k, and all those spares would pay for the conversion.
Now, i know a guy running the 1hdft in a 75, using a 80 series 5 speed/transfer. parts are available from the hzj75 as far as engine mounts/bellhousing goes, and the fzj75 as far as tailshafts and transfer crossmember goes...these motors are expensive but really go....so it is up to you...speed costs...how fast do u want to go???
AnswerID: 261787

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:28

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 21:28
Sorry, got carried away...using your box, a hzj75 bellhousing and engine mounts and engine brackets for mounts will bolt a hdt/hdft in...but you can also use the 80 series gearbox too and then the fzj75 transfer shifter, crossmember/tailshafts are needed, as the 4.5 75 series runs the 80 series box std.
FollowupID: 523230