Caravan Mattress replacement

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:37
ThreadID: 49608 Views:17064 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Can anyone give me some feedback or advice on where to get a replacement double mattress for our caravan one, its just not nice to sleep on.

Its a Galaxy Grand tourer,not that that matters.

Matt

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:58

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2007 at 23:58
Hi Matt,
Good name!! We got one made at "The Matress Factory" 46 Felspar St, Welshpool, WA (08) 9558 9711. They made it to our specifications and with rounded corners to suit the van bed. Cost $330 with us picking it up. And it is damn comfy. Better than our normal bed(time for a new home bed I think!). No affiliation with them just a happy and satisfied customer.
Matt

AnswerID: 261818

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C (WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 00:30

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 00:30
Hey thats great info matt,did you change yours due to it being uncomfortable or was it damaged etc.

Matt
FollowupID: 523264

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C (WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 00:31

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 00:31
Also what mattress style/makeup did you get ,is there like foam,wool etc.

Matt
FollowupID: 523265

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 10:08

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 10:08
The matress that came with the van was a foam one, and I have a bad back, so I needed something decent. Its just like a normal matress off your bed at home with rounded corners. You can go into there showroom and try the matress's and they can make one to suit. We just went the firmist we could get.
Matt

FollowupID: 523293

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 14:28

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 14:28
Matt(WA)...this is getting confusing haha

Is the matress you got made up designed for the camper/caravan ie being very lighweight without sacraficing comfort?

I have heard of these and would look at changing the foamy in my camper for a lightweight innerspring matress.

FollowupID: 523334

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:02

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 15:02
Hi Matt Mu,
The matress is especially designed for caravans. It is the same supplier camec use but if you go to there showroom(matress factory) I think you save a fair old whack. Ours isnt too heavy(certainly lighter than our normal matress) but isnt a paperweight either. Dimensions are 1850x1400x200mm with rounded corners. I reckon its heaps better than our old foamy.
Matt

FollowupID: 523340

Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 18:11

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 18:11
Cheers Matt, just what I though.

Guess I will check out their showroom in the not-too-distant future.

FollowupID: 523386

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 06:05

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 06:05
We replaced 1 of our double mattresses, in our Trak Shak, with a queen sise self inflating type.

Beautiful to sleep on !

AnswerID: 261826

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 10:13

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 10:13
Hi Matt,

We have replaced our last two in campers with ones from Made To Measure Mattresses. No affiliation with the company but very happy with the product.

Ours is innerspring and it is in a lower than standard height which makes it great for campers etc. It has side vents which allow the whole thing to breathe a bit and help deal with condensation. We find it great to sleep on.

They wiil make one to whatever size you want.

Hope you get it sorted.
AnswerID: 261855

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:32
We just replaced out campertrailer with one from Made to Measure Mattresses, only camped with it one weekend so far but what an improvement on the foam one. Slightly highter than the foam one but we still fit everything in above the bed that we used to,
FollowupID: 523662

Reply By: Member - Matthew C (WA) - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 12:06

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 12:06
Cheers for all the replies, looks like i will be visiting the mattress factory here in perth before we head off to Kalbarri on the school holidays.

Matt
AnswerID: 261874

Reply By: Keenycruiser - Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:31

Thursday, Sep 13, 2007 at 19:31
Shame you are not over on the east because I have a brand new caravan inner-sprung mattress that I had to take off my Regal caravan to put a bolster type mattress on the adjustable bed.
AnswerID: 261943

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:35

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:35
Hi Matt,
If theres one close to you check out Clark Rubber.
They have a vast array of pre-made as well as made to order units, foam densities and coverings.

Very pleased with ours.

Cheers mate,

Lionel.
AnswerID: 262110