Picking up my new ML Triton VR today

Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 07:15
ThreadID: 49642 Views:8915 Replies:6 FollowUps:22
Been hanging out for this for ages. Have sold the Landcruiser as the cost of fuel was just getting to me.

Sorted a ML Triton, turbo diesel from a local dealer and was very quickly reminded how much I hate car salesmen!

So I pick her up today and over the next few weeks, putting on about $15000 of accessories from ARB. The guys at Coastal4x4 in Jandakot have been awesome.

I'm also putting a Stienbauer unit on her next Friday and have been told that I'll notice a huge difference!

Will get photos up very soon!

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:08

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:08
Oh OK well I hope you enjoy it! You've taken a very definite step down the 4wd hierachical ladder though so I hope you won't regret it. I know it's all about money but buy cheap and you get a lesser vehicle .... spend the extra money and you don't need all the extras that you've had to put on.
AnswerID: 262006

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:17

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:17
This is getting set up more for touring Andy. I've had a ball on the big hill climbs, deep mud and everything but I'm getting more out of the camping side of things with medium 4wding invloved.

It was just heart breaking knowing that out of 135lts of petrol i was getting 650 - 700kms and with the turbo diesel i'll get the same mileage out of 75lts of diesel.

I don't see it as a step down, it's more about lifestyle and practicality.
FollowupID: 523476

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:39

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:39
Brett
My Daughter got a Dual Cab, with V6 and Auto, I had a drive, ...VERY NICE

AnswerID: 262015

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:46

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:46
You're not wrong!! They're great to drive! I can't wait to get her off road!
FollowupID: 523483

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:54

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:54
Brett
The only thing I didn't like was the Auto even in L/L wanted to run away down an off road hill in the paddock thus had to ride the brake, I do consider that a very very minor issue and one that will only show in few cases with the use she will do with it , I was out on the property with the troopy and L/L i had to use the accelerator to get some pace ,

FollowupID: 523486

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:51

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 08:51
Hi Brett

I bought a s/h MK '98 diesel Triton with 85k kms - it's now covered 140k. A lot of that has been over very rugged terrain and some 'assault courses' like Mulga View in the Flinders. My wife and I just love the thing. The only part that's ever 'broken' is the oil pressure sender and the RAA guy at Glendambo had a new one in stock!!! It's not a 'step down' in any way - just a more 'practical' vehicle for you as you say. On a long trip to Karumba and return from Adelaide recently she returned just over 11 lts per 100 kms fairly heavily loaded up and with a some stuff on the roof rack.

Happy days
George
AnswerID: 262017

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 09:00

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 09:00
Brett
Check this out Triton

AnswerID: 262018

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 10:13

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 10:13
Nice looking rig..!
FollowupID: 523501

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:52

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:52
Doug!! You're on www.4wdmonthly.com.au

I'm "Urshtnme"

See you back there!
FollowupID: 523676

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 10:31

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 10:31
The new Triton is a powerful rig so why would you chip it..? You say you sold the Cruiser because fuel prices were getting to you then you talk about chipping a perfectly good rig to make it suck more fuel..?

My advise would be leave well enough alone if you want to retain fuel economy otherwise why bother, chips pump more fuel and air and in turn increase your fuel economy 8 times out of 10. To believe otherise is a Misnoma.

The new Triton is a 3.2 Litre Common Rail Turbo Diesel putting out 347nm of torque, thats plenty..!

AnswerID: 262038

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 15:12

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 15:12
There is bugger all reason if you chip it and dont use 100% of the extra power every second of every day your fuel economy will drastically increase. Most chips only raise fuel volume in conjuction with revs and accelrator position so once up to speed with not much load I would expect that the fuel mapping program would revert to allmost factory standard, and factory standard fuel economy. Flat to the floor will definately be a different story though.

Defender td5 with 140kw, 480nm torque returned 11.0l/100km after compared to 10.5l/100km before. I would be more than happy to sacrifice a trivial amount of fuel for the extra ponies.

"The new Triton is a 3.2 Litre Common Rail Turbo Diesel putting out 347nm of torque, thats plenty..!", yeah but too much is never enough!!

Taipan Xp also do a 3" exhaust and DP chip package for the new Triton if your intersted.

Ben
FollowupID: 523540

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 15:54

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 15:54
Ben, I would agree if the vehicle in question was lacking in power to begin with. The new generation common rail 3.0 Hilux, Tritons etc make more than enough power. Modifying a brand new gen vehicle is stupid in my opinion. They go like the clappers now. My new Hilux D4D is a rocketship, makes more than enough power for what it is.

If your 18-23 yrs old, young dumb and full of c__ then go for it. But lets concerntrate on what makes sense, and chipping a new vehicle doesn't make any to me...

FollowupID: 523554

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:21

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:21
"If your 18-23 yrs old, young dumb and full of c__ then go for it"

As I have seen somewhere on here before;

"It is not the years of life that counts, but the life in your years"

There are some very responsible, younger drivers out there probably but unfortunately for the majority a few dickhe@ds decide to spoil the lot. When I was 17 and just got my licence my first car was a 1988 HJ75 Landcruiser 2H diesel ute, kind of ensured that I couldn't do anything stupid. But to tell the truth I was always worried about what the old man would do if I ever was brought home by Mr Plod, coupled with the inability to pay fines out of my weeny wage, coupled with lack of funds to afford a high fuel bill, coupled with lack of funds to spend anything more on reapirs than general maintenace kept me ticketless so far, touch wood. My son clicks over 20 next year and has survived hassle free so far so I have imparted something on him, for the record both him and his 17 year old sister (got licence two months ago, but already driven over 30,000km since she was 14) are better drivers than I ever was at such an age. So please direct above comments at the minority not just throw a blanket over the lot.

To cruise at 130-140 across the outback is a very different thing to traffic light grand prix anyway, far less Volvo drivers for one.

As for the more power thing, more power allows you to hold speed better, reach cruising speed quicker and improve general luggability. It is generally not used to act the tool, and the poster has stated this below.

Ben
FollowupID: 523634

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:21

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:21

There are some very responsible, younger drivers out there probably but unfortunately for the majority a few dickhe@ds decide to spoil the lot. When I was 17 and just got my licence my first car was a 1988 HJ75 Landcruiser 2H diesel ute, kind of ensured that I couldn't do anything stupid. But to tell the truth I was always worried about what the old man would do if I ever was brought home by Mr Plod, coupled with the inability to pay fines out of my weeny wage, coupled with lack of funds to afford a high fuel bill, coupled with lack of funds to spend anything more on reapirs than general maintenace kept me ticketless so far, touch wood. My son clicks over 20 next year and has survived hassle free so far so I have imparted something on him, for the record both him and his 17 year old sister (got licence two months ago, but already driven over 30,000km since she was 14) are better drivers than I ever was at such an age. So please direct above comments at the minority not just throw a blanket over the lot.

To cruise at 130-140 across the outback is a very different thing to traffic light grand prix anyway, far less Volvo drivers for one.

As for the more power thing, more power allows you to hold speed better, reach cruising speed quicker and improve general luggability. It is generally not used to act the tool, and the poster has stated this below.

Ben
FollowupID: 523636

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:22

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:22

Ben
FollowupID: 523637

Ben
FollowupID: 523638

Ben
FollowupID: 523640

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:24

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:24
Woops, bit trigger happy
FollowupID: 523641

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:27

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:27
Ben, Can you repeat that please...?
FollowupID: 523643

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:31

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:31
Ben, Would you pay $1300 for a chip to modify a brand new Triton..? It's your money..? Would you..?

And please don't tell me it's to hold speed better..? Comeon, where talking about a 350NM Common Rail Latest Generation Turbo Diesel.. These things spin the wheels as it is and would pull stumps outta the ground.

Chipping a new vehicle like this is your choice but it provides no real life advantages. The standard new Triton 3.2 Litre Turbo diesel will do everything as well as the chipped version..
FollowupID: 523644

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:07

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:07
"350NM Common Rail Latest Generation Turbo Diesel"
Nope its not, its a first generation common rail system with solenoid type injectors and injection pressures of approx 1000bar

Gen 2 went to 2000 bar

Gen 3 went to peizo crystal injectors. These have electrical pulses that cause a rearrangement of the internal structure of the peizo crystal can occur to let fuel through or not. This occurs so quickly that up to five injections of fuel per combustion are possible to maximise combustion. That is the first injection is combusted at the base of the cylinder and subsequent injections propogate the flame up the combustion chamber. Most are made by Bosch or Mercedes.

Gen 4: Not yet released but from what I've heard they will have an individual fuel pump per cylinders to again raise the injection pressure. Similar set up to the Pumpe Duse (PD) engines made by VW in the 2000-2005 era but far more advanced.

As for 118kw/347Nm stocko, with a DP Chip goes to 140/418, with 3" Vortex and DP Chip goes to 150/460. Im not gonna sneeze at an extra 32kw/110Nm of torque that is delivered earlier in the rev range for a fully loaded tourer. You think that this has no real life advantages...........me thinks of a few.

The 'new' 70 series TDV8 can be stienbaured for 190kw/570Nm. Now where starting to ge somewhere. New Dodge Ram 2500 with 5.9 24 valve turbo'd Cummins CRD has 228kw/884Nm
NOW we are getting somewhere

Ben
FollowupID: 523655

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:23

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:23
Ben how does 418nm over 347nm equate to 110nm..??? Yes we can modify these things until the cows come home. If you can give me 110nm of more torque down low for my Hilux guaranteed with Dyno figures, book me in mate..!

In fact I'll book the whole work fleet in..!

When can we start..??
FollowupID: 523659

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:29

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:29
FYI .. Ben in these forums refer thread 46534 ..

2004 Prado 120 TD auto
53000 k's and never had a problem.

I researched the various diesel chips and as I phoned around to find a reasonable price for a Dtronic I was recommended the P Box and I was convinced. So I ordered one and had it fitted.

I was surprised initially at how cheap the P Box build quality appeared. Plus, the way it was mounted on top of the relay box in the engine compartment looked dodgy. It was held in place with cable ties meaning that to get into the relay box I would need to cut the ties and this meant I needed spare cable ties.

The connector to the box is unsealed against dust and moisture and being in the engine bay it would get it's fair share of both of these c€“ plus heat.

The wire spliced to the accelerator wiring loom looked susceptible to damage and I did not like the idea of the original wire being damaged.

So, we pay our $1500 and we are off to drive home. It feels great. Plenty of extra torque and more power c€“ OK!

It worked for one month testing it around home and on it's first real trip pulling a 600 kilo bush trailer the unit fails and the engine dies on the highway 800 k's from home.

OK, so you can unplug it and replug the original connectors restoring the engine management to stock but what if we had been overtaking a roadtrain and the damned P Box had failed? What if my pregnant wife was 100 k's from home and the thing had failed?

Steinbauer (Diesel Care) supplied a replacement P Box. The replacement was SECOND HAND! And, it failed just as the first one had, except it failed within 10 minutes rather than a month.

Thank god for the 30 day money back guarantee.

Take my advice and buy a Dtronic. I just installed mine and I reckon it provides a smoother power band and it looks like it was engineered and built to go to the moon. Being mounted behind the glove box it avoids the dust/moisture/heat problems of the P Box placement c€“ and the connectors look like military spec.

I am not associated with Safari.

AnswerID: 246192 Submitted: Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 21:23
Twinkles replied:
I bought a DPChip for my Hilux 8 days ago. Wired it myself (correctly). Didn't work. DP sent me another. Same. My car has some variation in throttle voltage at ECU, maybe due to aftermarket cruise control. DP said send it back & they will modify chip to suit my car. They paid for postage. Should get it back this week. Look out for my post on how it goes. Reply 4 of 7

FollowupID: 523661

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:39

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:39
you two are worse than my wife, get a room!!!!!

:D
FollowupID: 523689

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 11:51

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 11:51
"Ben how does 418nm over 347nm equate to 110nm..???"

Please read what I wroteskies!!!!!!!!
Was talking about the chip AND exhaust package, not just the chip 418Nm is for the chip ONLY. As for the dyno figures I am doing a trip down to Taipan XP on the Gold Coast to investigate a 3" stainless vortex exhaust and DPChip package for fatso. They claimed 135kw/376Nm over the phone accounting for 30% drivetrain loss..........compare this to the current pathetic 95kw/252Nm turning 33" tyres. We shall see as this almost 40 extra kilowatts and 120Nm of twist......which I need.
Also gonna invest in a pair of VDO boost/pyro gauges in a Dept of Interior pillar pod so I can see whats happening inside the ol girl.
Then the Manual boost controller, then ...................

Dont need to worry abou having the chip in the engine bay as the ECU in the 2.8 GU's is mounted at under the CD player in the cab :). Also gonna get a 2" computer fan and mount this over the chip as electronics like to run VERY cool. I have always been highly sceptical of ECU's in the engine bay, it is definatley not the ideal operating environment.

And Brett I am not sure of how your EGR system works but if I was you I would get on to having it plated off ASAP. CAT diesel has scrapped this rubbish as they have concluded it only serves to run hotter engines, with more internal coking and less life. Fatsos has been inoperable for almost four years....soon as I did it smoke gone, slightly better fuel economy and appeared to run slightly cooler by temp guage, not to mention turbo spooled 300rpm earlier.

Its a greenie intervention into engine design by environmentalists who would be a better contributor to global warming than a gazillion 4wds due to thier utter theft of oxygen from the atmosphere.

Have a great weekend......if I was allowed $15k at ARB I would never stop smiling.

Ben

FollowupID: 523727

Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:22

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:22
Jeez guys, thats a bit harsh. The reason I'm chipping it is because I'm going to have full bar work on it plus a Tracklander with my rooftop tent plus drawers plus fridge plus a weeks worth of camping / cooking gear plus the wife....... if you get my drift, the car's going to be loaded, the extra power would be nice.

need I say more?

It's probably not a good thing to jump to conclusions. I'm not between 18 and 22 and I'm not a hoon. I've got valid reasons behind trying to get more power out of the car.

Just think before you type a response, it's only fair I believe.
AnswerID: 262106

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:26

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:26
Brett
Maybe you should have got one of these

Go off road and deliver anywhere you like. With more than enough power and torque to effortlessly take on any light duty application, the 3.5t 4WD Canter can conquer terrain most quad bikes would fear to tread. In particular, the FG's exceptional engine braking performance allows it to negate the steepest of hills with ease - a feat you really have to experience for yourself in order to fully believe.

With the largest 4x4 light duty truck range of any Japanese truck manufacturer, and only supplier of 4WD crew cabs, you're sure to find a 4WD model that's perfect for your application.

If off road performance matters, trust Canter 4WD to turn your mountains into molehills.

FollowupID: 523686

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:27

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 23:27
Shootin a PM your way....
FollowupID: 523687