How to get better performance from your next g phone

Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 16:53
ThreadID: 49664 Views:3873 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
drop a GSM sim into it
- yep that right
i got a pere paid GSM sim to take advantage of the free calls to 5 telstra numbers and all of a sudden wheras i used to have 2-3 bars (next g has trouble holding calls under 3 bars ) suddenly i have max reception
- No more call dropouts
Anyone here including grumpy really prepared to defend the network when GSM outperforms it?

Reply By: Ingtar - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:05

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:05
I'm guessing that because it is the old style sim-card the phone is automatically dropping down the the GSM bands?

In that case wouldn't it be better just to have a good quality GSM? I still haven't seen any of the next-g phones that really appeal to me. But then all I want is a waterproof, crashproof, full reception phone that can make calls and send sms. Full stainless case would be nice. :)
AnswerID: 262088

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:25

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:25
yep i would be better off with a GSM phone but i got the next g as a replacement for my cdma (what a joke)
Even in the city reception is marginal with frequent drop outs. Next g needs at least 3 bars of reception to reliably hold calls.
When i chuck in a GSM sim it operates off of 2g or normal gsm which gives much better reception
FollowupID: 523578

Reply By: Philip A - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:24

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:24
Er, next G phones all have the ability to work on GSM in a GSM area.
Have a look at the manual for your phone.
You can set them all to default to GSM or next G.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 262090

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:12

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:12
no kiding i tried to manually st it to 2g (gsm) and it holds it about 30sec and the reception increases before roaming back to 3g and the reception drops
So No you cant
FollowupID: 523592

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:42

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:42
What make of phone have you got Davoe? Mine works fine when i change it to GSM. Also the battery lasts a lot longer too. Mine is a Nokia 6120.
FollowupID: 523599

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:10

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:10
LG tu 500
FollowupID: 523610

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:52

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 17:52
Next G, GSM, Satphone, CDMA..........???????????????

All I know is that I want my analogue back. It worked fine until somebody turned the switch off.....hehehe.

Lionel.
AnswerID: 262097

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:05

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:05
I'll go with that!

Get to a high enough point and you could make a call a couple of hundred km (or more!) from a cell.

FollowupID: 523590

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:14

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:14
or the other ends of the extreme i made a call from the bottom of the superpit with one
FollowupID: 523593

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:44
Good ol Analouge
used to work very reliably up to 70nm off the coast when I was on Trawlers, then they say Digital is the go. 8nm if your lucky

Now they reckon Next G is the bees knees, or just another excuse to get all us poor silly buggers to buy a new phone. My nokia 8250 is 7 years old, is smaller than the new flip phones has survived three washing machines, two dryers and a dunk in degreaser with no ill effects apart from two waterlooged batteries which I replaced. Mate dropped his flippy, photo taking polyphotnic tone making swivel in half thing the other day from the luch table to the floor, top half breaks off and screen cracks.

Newer and Softer, like a 79 series.

Ben
FollowupID: 523648

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:33

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:33
Here we go again with all the Phone experts and the BS , my Next G phone and Internet works a treat, No complaints at all , even had service at Nullabor Roadhouse

AnswerID: 262109

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:42

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:42
Emmmm... Doug... given that you have zero professional expertise in any area of technology it would be appreciated if you would refrain from telling those of who do that we're talking rubbish. You don't see me lecturing you on truck driving... do you...?

FollowupID: 523600

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:52

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:52
Mr Big Head Mike
Well I'll be buggered I thought it was Davoe who made the post, my comment was meant for him , My experience with mobile phones is probably same as yours, just a user, So I use a phone and I did drive Trucks so therefore I have the right to make a comment as much as you , after all said and done I am a paid up Member of this Forum , where's your credentials , so BUTT out and mind your own business, I wasn't referring to you or have you a guilty conscience, when I want you to BARK i'll wave a bone at you

FollowupID: 523604

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:12

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:12
Might have to move to Nullabor then coz the service is marginal here in high Wycombe
FollowupID: 523611

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:18

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:18
I agree with Dougs comments re Next G phone and internet working a treat in areas I did not expect coverage. I have a patch lead attached to my broomstick aerial and that is all...nothing fancy but it works for me.

I do not however agree with your comments to Mike though Doug.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 523614

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:22

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:22
Awww, come on guys, no need to get into each other.
Past posts by both of you tell me your professionals in your fields.

Doug....chances are that some tech gadget youve used has been designed by Mike.

Mike.... maybe that huge road haul that held you up for km after agonising km was lead by Doug. hehehehe........

Cheers guys.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 523616

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:24

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:24
Trevor
That's fine by me , It's a free country with freedom of speech/type, and I really don't think Mike is all that hurt . All I am doing is Fishing , and the fish are biting good tonight,
Catch you later Cod

FollowupID: 523617

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:28

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:28
Hello Doug

>my comment was meant for him

It that case why did you use the plural to say “phone experts”?

>My experience with mobile phones is probably same as yours, just a user

Your experience with mobile phones probably isn’t the same as mine Doug, I have been involved in their design on two occasions so I have some sort of idea how they work and what the differences are.

>where's your credentials

Well… a few qualifications and 33 (I think it is now – since valves were around anyway :) years designing electronic equipment from weapons systems to pacemakers and quite a bit in-between.

>when I want you to BARK i'll wave a bone at you

Will you really? I doubt it Doug :)

Doug: I suspect, at heart, you are a nice guy but you have been making a right bleep of yourself on this forum lately. We all have our areas of knowledge Doug but your’s does not lie in the area of technology – go back to pushing Garmin and denigrating Uniden and leave it at that.

FollowupID: 523618

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:31

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:31
>Mike.... maybe that huge road haul that held you up for km after
>agonising km was lead by Doug. hehehehe........

Dunno Lionel - but if you can let me know the next one he's doing I'll try my best to get there :)

FollowupID: 523619

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:32
Lionel
Mikes design....yeh thats probably why it broke or didn't work.
You guys take life to serious ,

FollowupID: 523620

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:00

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:00
FFS

what is the point of "fishing"?

people sometimes seem to use this word when a post (sometimes rapidly) goes sour, after they were not actually on a fishing trip. Sometimes it is used by them as a suggestion from another poster, oh how convenient.

sorry Davoe, i digress(ed)

FollowupID: 523652

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 00:34

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 00:34
Good point, Bushfix. And one shouldn't whinge about people not appreciating or taking your posts seriously if you do that much fishing. A bit like the boy who cried wolf.

People sometimes like to see their own name in print. People sometimes think they're funny and get a perverse joy from deliberately belittling or annoying others.
FollowupID: 523693

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 08:57

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 08:57
Doug T,

Thanks for your opinion. It's as relevant as anybody else's here.

FollowupID: 523703

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 17:17

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 17:17
Ere we go again , has Doug gotten out of the wrong side of bed again ? , methinks all his latest vittirol is because he is leaving /left WA , WAKE UP Doug , member or not tits an open forum.
FollowupID: 523758

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:57

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 19:57
You may have experienced better GSM reception in one area but overall you can't compare the 2, Next G should give you far better reception in rural areas. In Melbourne and surrounding areas to 200KM's I have gotten far better reception using Next G. Just drive down the highway with a mate next to you who has a GSM phone and see who gets better reception.!

GSM does not compare to Next G across the board..
AnswerID: 262129

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:38

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:38
Im sure your rightbut i can assure you cdma was as much better again as 3g is supposed to be to Gsm
however dont forget you are on the eastern seboard i think there is littlle dought greater effort is spent by telstra there with next G
next g drop outs and varaible coveradge (5 bars 1 minute none the next) are common here in perth and at telfer despite being only a few hundred metres from the tower coveradgw is just as variable - it is a dud
FollowupID: 523695

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 15:35

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 15:35
Hi Davoe,

I had a phone call yesterday from a lass at Telstra , trying to get me to drop my CDMA and go Next G . I told her of all the problems I was hearing about and she asked me "had these people reported the problems?"

Have you told Telstra about the highly variable strength at Telfer ?

It must be a culture shock with the move from Blue Spec to Telfer !

Willie .
FollowupID: 523744

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 16:41

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 16:41
yea i guess instead on winging i should report it.
Big difference between ble spec and telfer - actauuly has facilitys
downer is i am unlikely to get to have a look around at all besides just a bit of walking.
i thought of driving my 4by up there but it probably wont happen now as i am expecting an offer through soon from a site near Yalgoo
....... 8 days on 6 off yea bring that on
FollowupID: 523754

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:08

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:08
Everybody wanting some guide as to whether they may or may not get reception for Next G or would like to compare GSM please use the following link. (Remember external aerials help siginificantly)

http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/networks/coverage/maps.cfm

Using this link (Make sure Pop Up Blockers are turned off) you can compare reception for everything.

AnswerID: 262130

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:11

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 20:11
>Remember external aerials help siginificantly

Not for GSM they don't - it's limited to about 33km from a cell (except for the few with a double time slot).

FollowupID: 523629

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:41

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:41
if I could get next g reception 33k from the tower i would be stoked coz from my experience it is struggling to make 10k
FollowupID: 523696

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:29

Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:29
i guess it's not a nokia 6120?
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 262143

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:58

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 03:58
Ok just ten I had a 5min talk with shmbo (she is very sick) I had 2 dropouts resulting in callbacks
............ I am 15km from the cbd and only abbbout 3k from the airport
dont anyone dare try and tell my 3g aint abbbbsaluuute crap
AnswerID: 262180

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 04:03

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 04:03
yep chucked my gsm sim in and walla full reception and had no worries talking - what hope has next g got when it wont work even in the city???
FollowupID: 523697

Reply By: Olcoolone- Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 09:52

Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 09:52
I think we should all go to sat phones either on the Iridium or Optus Mobilesat service, that way we will not have anymore disputes regarding mobile phones.

I would not trust a Next G, CDMA or GSM phone as a sole source of emergency contact.....

Remenber GSM only cover about 4% of Australia and next G is alittle over 5%, so at its best that leaves about 95% of Australia as a whole with no Next G, CDMA or GSM coverage.

Hopefully Next G will live upto it's reputationin the near future.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 262224