Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:39
cruser
Hi there I'm considering an
suspension up grate as my 100s ifs is very soft and have to much of a roll for my liking.
I got some info and prices on tough dog and thinking of 2" lift with a cross member kit as
well, front and rear
suspension will have 53 mm big
bore,torsion bars and rear coils. Any advice or other combination that will work
well.?
thanks mark
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:43
Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:43
Cruser,
The cross-member kit you are talking about - Is this the diff drop kit?
My 100s was done by ATS4x4 in
Geelong - excellent and nothing but praise - Lovell springs, Bilstein shocks and stone guards + diff drop to save the CVs.
My understanding is don't increase ride height without a diff drop kit.
Follow Up By: cruser - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:21
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:21
hi tim
How long have done the up grade, and any problems with cv like stated by snow mike and i like the warranty from tough dog with are 3 years or 60 000 km as far as i know is the best one on the market. did you hear any thing about tough dog ?.
Follow Up By: cruser - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:23
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:23
hi tim
How long have done the up grade, and any problems with cv like stated by snow mike and i like the warranty from tough dog with are 3 years or 60 000 km as far as i know is the best one on the market. did you hear any thing about tough dog ?.
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 19:17
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 19:17
Cruser,
No dramas at all. No additional wear on CVs or other
suspension components. Ride is a lot better than standard. Also don't need airbags as the back with a
Kimberley Kamper (heavy!) hitched there is about a 1.5" drop - hardly noticable.
I did make a mistake in my previous post -
The springs are ridepro - not Lovells. I was right about the Bilstein shocks though :-).
I think Darren called it the 'deluxe' package at ATS in
geelong. He will send the complete kit to you or your mechanic if too far from
Geelong.
Haven't heard anything bad about Tough Dog.
Follow Up By: cruser - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:07
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 20:07
tim,
can you tell me how many km have you done since the upgrade and at what terrain
thanks mark
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 22:00
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 22:00
Mark,
I've done about 12K since being done last September. As soon as it was done i towed the kamper up to Coryong via Benambra and back through Native Dog Flat on the
Limestone.
Towed a few times on reasonable but steep 4WD tracks - no worries.
The rest is 4WDing in the High Country. Plus fast gravel, rutted gravel etc. Haven't been on corrugations such as outback areas.
Hardly ever 'bottom out' entering/exiting
river crossing in the High Country now - use to be almost every crossing.
Have a look at my 'members rig' for an idea of what weight I'm carrying!
Hope it helps,
Tim
Reply By: cruser - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:56
Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 18:56
tim,
Yep it is a drop diff kit and what do you think about tough dog.?
and how is your handling and ride comfort with your
suspension ,as
well how many km after the up grade?.
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:04
Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 21:04
Cruser,
No experience with Tough Dog - although haven't 'heard' anything bad about them on the web in my limited trolling.
Handling is much better and more direct in steering after mods. Ride is a little firmer but I'm not big on comfort - more so on load carrying. I've always got the drawers in the back with recovery gear and fridge etc - heaps of weight to balance it out.
Well worth doing.
Reply By: Snowmike - Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:34
Friday, Sep 14, 2007 at 22:34
Mate! Whatever you don't change the angle of your cv joints! I raised the front of my 100 series about 2" (OME bits that I trust and love) with the diff drop kit which only gives you about an inch before you change the angle the of the cv joints etc....
Result, no less than FIVE sets of inner cv joint boots replaced and ONE complete set of cv joints, in only 55000km. Cost over $2000, and plenty of time OFF the road..
The moment you add anything to the
suspension Toyota will just fob off any warrantee claim. I still love my toyota... but I hate that freaking IFS don't mess with me
suspension. The IFS is useless off road, hates towing anything heavy, the front
wheels seem to go in different directions, as a result I will never by another IFS equipped toyota.
Cheers!
Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 10:32
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 10:32
Look .... Snowman.... there you go upsetting Roothie and his 4WD Monthly mates again - they reckon the 06 LC 100 was the best 4WD on offer then......full stop - took it to
Cape York even .
Now I am confused - they don't own one and love them - you own one and hate the IFS - what am I to do :-o) ?
Follow Up By: cruser - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:18
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:18
hi Snow Mike point taken but i cannot get rigit front 100s with turbo on a 4.2 disel and only 60000km so i have to work with what i have may eaven cosider doing a rigit front change
Reply By: mudman - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 01:06
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 01:06
Hi Cruser,
as Tim said ATS have a great package for the IFS cruiser, I started with OME shockers, front torsion bars and rear 863, to soft changed the rear to 864 which was much better. Did the diff drop and got a bit more lift but still not happy.
Had ATS fit their specially valved Bilstein shocks and Ridepro springs, the ride is now heaps better and the front is at 790mm (standard was 715mm, OME 740mm)
Don’t waste your money working your way through the choices as I did buy the real thing, they weld you’re A arms, do the diff drop and fit the
suspension.
Regards David
Follow Up By: cruser - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:15
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:15
hi david
Follow Up By: mudman - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 17:44
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 17:44
Hi Cruser ,
I have done 75,000 ks and about 10,000 on the new
suspension my original cv boots need replacement soon but all the damage was done before the diff drop and one has just started to leak. I drove a similarly
well equipped 105 the other day and serious off road it would have an edge on me but on the dirt and black top its chalk and cheese I would only go back to solid front for a weekend mud & bush truck.
Snowmike must have been very unlucky with his cv’s and be into some serious off road to find the IFS that disappointing, on the towing front I pull 2 -3 tonne stuff often with no problems but I do have a Dtronic.
Regards David
Reply By: Snowmike - Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:30
Saturday, Sep 15, 2007 at 18:30
If I could get my money back and start again I would go out and buy a second hand 80 series with beam front axle, throw all the accessories available,
winches, lights, tires, lifted
suspension, and bloody great 7lt turbo diesel V8 into it.... which should cost a lot a less than a new cruiser and would work better. More wheel travel ,more robust, more power.
Then I could go and plough through silly deep
water crossings, climb mountains, etc with out having to worry about that pansy IFS with its limited wheel travel, and wetting the carpets of my $80k investment!
While I am having a winge..... don't try pulling a heavy van with the standard turbo diesel.... it just hasn't got the guts... pulls like a train once the revs are up, but, just try getting away from the lights pulling 3.5 ton van on an up slope.... The only way is to get 2000rpm on the clock and slip the clutch like mad. Result = smoked clutch and more maintenance $$$ into toyotas corporate gurgler.. Apart from that i love my cruiser....
Reply By: cruser - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:36
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:36
hi there is cruiser again i will like to thank you all for the info and your inputs it help me a lot.
thanks heaps
mark