Submitted: Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 17:16
Brian B (Mackay Qld)
I have a problem with the windscreen washer on my landcruiser 75 series ute.
Nothing happens when i pull the washer lever, the wipers dont even move for washing.
i have disconnected the pump and tried it on a battery to see if it still works, and it does.
The hoses to the jets are clean and
water is in the reservoir.
When i pull the lever without the pump hooked up, the wipers move as they would when activated by the washer lever.
It is cheap to replace a pump, and expensive to replace the stalk lever. So i would like advice before i buy new everything or go to an auto electrician.
Overall, The pump is ok, so it must be the stalk column?
What is going on here?
Thanks for your helpful replies.
Reply By: ben_gv3 - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 18:34
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 18:34
I have that same problem in my Troopy as
well. Although if I activate the washer/wiper a second time it then works.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:16
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:16
Because as you said the relacement is expensive , although one could go to the wreckers and obtain one but do you people ever give the mechanism a spray with CRC or WD40 ,
mine is a 1994 model and still original, also use the
little red straw to get some into the ignition switch , door locks, etc. I do
mine about every 6 months.
Doug
Follow Up By: Banjo (WA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:15
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:15
Doug
Wouldn't you be better off putting either graphite powder or silicone spray into the switches & locks. The oil sprays will stay wet and trap dust and gunk, eventually causing a problem I reckon.
Banjo
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:22
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:22
Banjo
Yes I guess you would be right, there must be heaps of dust and gunk in there after the 7 years I have had the vehicle, Don't know what Telstra did to it for the 6 years they had it, ...................................................................................
..............................why do I bother
Follow Up By: Banjo (WA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:30
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:30
Doug
After 13 years, I say keep using the WD40.
Banjo
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 01:15
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 01:15
fuse?