simple
just after a bit of advice guys.
on the way home from
stockton today 5th gear in my 2000 model GU Ute went BANG!
there's no drive just that crunching gears noise when you select it.
i've heard its a problem in that ge group. what is the common/likely problem and the cure?
not much of a mechanic so just after some ideas before i take it to my mechanic tomorrow.
thanks in advance, joel
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:22
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:22
Yes, unfortunately it was a common issue with a group of Patrols built from (I think) late 1999 to early 2001.
The problem arose from the way the main shaft was incorrectly machined......5th cog was only "supported" about half way through it's inner length by the spline......
So, it's not the teeth on the outside of 5th that cause the problem, it's the spline on the main shaft.
Solution requires removal of gearbox, new main shaft and new 5th cog. I doubt whether Nissan will cover you at this age, but it'd be worth a try under their "goodwill" policy.
If you do have to buy your own parts, it may be worth looking at using a different ratio 5th cog which you buy from Marks Adaptors. Fitting one of these will reduce your revs at highway speed.
Cheers and good luck
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:23
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:23
Forgot to mention that the cost of this repair is likely to be about $3K....OUCH!!!!
Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:31
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:31
The spline on the gear shaft is too short, it will need a new shaft, 5th gear, bearings seals etc etc. I believe that it is also wise to fit the GQ thrust washer in place of the GU one.
Cost will vary dramatically, depending on where you go, your first call tomorrow should be to Nissan Australia, as they have assisted many owners from total rebuild of the gearbox down to cash contributions for repairs.
Curiously, they have no hard & fast policy, so remember, "the squeaky wheel gets the oil"!
Follow Up By: Member - John - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:33
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:33
Shaker, I will contact Nissan again tomorrow about my 5th gear, start squeaking long and loud, LOL
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:05
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:05
Shaker is right in that the GQ washer (spacer??) fits the GU and the main reason, as it was explained to me, to change it (I did) was the GQ spacer has a semi-circular cutout on each side of 5th gear where oil can get to the spline shaft. GU spacers do not have these cutouts.
Good luck to the original poster.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:05
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:05
Ours went in July 2005. Nisson stopped supporting a month or so before. Had the gearbox gone on the beginning of our trip April 2005i nstead of the last day of a 17000 Nissan may or would have come to the party. We did get a special deal at the time cost us around $2000.
Jenkie
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:07
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 22:07
Sorry should have said a 17000 km trip.
Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:31
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:31
Joel,
mine went about two weeks ago on way back from Qld, when the box was pulled apart, the main shaft had the case hardening worn off it, new shaft required from Japan, all the bearings needed replacing, my fault drove from Moree to Melb, new lay shaft, new 5th gear, Marks, will let you know the cost tomorrow, but figuring not much change out of $4k. New 5th gear from Marks is $1100 or so alone, but a Nissan one is about the same as that. Factor in a new clutch too if yours hasn't been changed out recently. Nissan refused to cover anything with the repairs too. Good luck with your repairs.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:43
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:43
A friend of
mine just got a cheque for $1000.00 from Nissan as a contribution to the repair costs.
Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:40
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:40
Found it! Reason it tokk me a while to reply above & virtually mimic Roachies replay was I was looking for this
GU 5th Gear Photos
Scroll down a little & all be revealed!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:41
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 19:41
Damn typos ...... tokk = took ..... replay = reply.
Sorry!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:18
Sunday, Sep 16, 2007 at 20:18
Good photos, pretty obvious manufacturing defect!!
Reply By: Member - craig W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 07:01
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 07:01
Hi Joel,
I know how u feel
mine went two weeks ago in western QLD on they back from the Cape,total bugger of a spot as
well. At First Nissan were not help full at all ,I stood my ground and mentioned a certain web site with lots of postings???And they came to the party with parts only,which is about all i was after any way, New 5 th gear cog & Main shaft!!It did take 3 phone calls to get that! Mines pulled down know and waiting parts from Nissan as
well,I had alook at the 5th gear and main shaft that is the problem and can see clearly the problem, the new 5 th gear is 10 mm wider giving it more metal to metal on the spline. Good luck mate and stand your ground and u should be fine!! I had to drive 1600 kms after
mine went?? Seems there no damage in the box either!! Cheers , Shakey!!
Reply By: joc45 - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 12:36
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 12:36
Hi Joel,
Just curious, did you do any towing?
Mine had never done any towing, but failed anyway at about 120,000.
Mine went back in 2005, right out on the Nullarbor, just before the extended warranty ran out, so Nissan fixed it ok.
Dunno why they changed the original GQ-design box.
Good luck with Nissan!
Gerry
Follow Up By: simple - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:27
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:27
no i haven't done any heavy towing, but i bout it second hand with 110k on it. the previous owner was a landscaper but never did any heavy towing with it either.
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:24
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:24
Hows it going Joel , not too good I guess.
The same thing happened to me in '04 near
Perth. My vehicle was just over 100k and out of warranty '01 model.
I decided to go to a dealer cause they are nation wide and we were on the wrong side of Oz.
The dealer I went to made me pay for everything exept parts , main shaft and 5th gear, After I had problems with their exchange box went and saw another dealer to get it checked , The Mechanic at this place told me he had done heaps of these under warranty even if the vehicle was out . We had to go back to
Perth cause the new box was cactus , The original guy pretended to contact Nissan and said they wouldnt help out.
After I got home I wrote a long letter to Nissan Aust. A couple of weeks later a lady rang me , appologised , told me a cheque for 90% of the cost was in the mail.
You should do a search on this site cause you will get heaps of ammo !
Hope you get sorted out ok .
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:28
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:28
Just re read your post ,ute =4.2 .
Same basic advice I guess !
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 20:17
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 20:17
Check out eBay item number 160158165084 this may be cheaper for you , good luck.