Submitted: Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:28
Vince NSW
Well it seems that no one on the
forum has had any experience with the Travelander. Took Annette to have a look at the display at Penrith show yesterday as she has control of the money.
While talking to the sales guy he asked what type of car we would be using to tow the CT. When I told him a Navara D22, he asked had we thought about adding to the chassis and putting the camper on the back. This would save $10k on the purchase price.
Has anyone had experience with cutting & adding to ?
Will this void my warranty ?
Vince
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:57
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 14:57
Vince,
It would probably cost about $10k to get the vehicle cut and added to as it will need to be re-engineered etc as
well.
To find out more info speak to John Burke he is near Camden and very informative.
I have spoken to him about converting a 100 series to a dual cab.
John Burke Specialised Vehicles
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:08
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:08
Thanks Kev.
The sales guy for Travelalnder reckoned it cost $3700 BUT THIS SEEMED TOO LOW
I'll ring John Burke this arvo & let you know the score.
Vince
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:30
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:30
I'll let you know now that he is booked solid until at least the end of October.
The cost of the conversion for the 100 series was just over $13000 excluding GST, but included an Alloy tray, Engineer cert etc. This did not include a chassis extension though.
Good Luck
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:49
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 15:49
Whats the length of the unit?? And how long is you existing tray??
You can fit a longer tray than standard- proviso it does not extend more than 66% of the vehicle wheelbase behind the rear axle ...
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:01
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:01
Hi Signman.
Unit 2450 mm long & only have 1700mm but that would put all the weight back behind the axle. I have just spoken to John Burke at camden ( Orangevill for us locals) and he recons abot $4400 plus tray. This was only a ball
park amount and he is now looking at the spec sheet I sent him, so I will wait until he has had time to look.
I like the idea of the tray top as I would then be able to tow a tinny and not have to put it on the roof. If not I will most likly go for the trailer version.
Vince
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:05
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:05
Looks like you may have found out the info you needed Vince.
A bit cheaper than I suggested earlier but the cost of the tray needs to be added as
well. Does it include a GVM upgrade as
well??
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:17
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:17
That's what John is looking at at the moment. Nice Bloke by the way. Thanks for the contact, I'll let you know when he gets back to me
Vince
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:30
Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 16:30
Hey Vince
I assume you currently have a 'tub' back on your vehicle??
With the length of the unit- you could easily fit a 8' tray on your vehicle- no probs. Probably get one second hand. No mods- cheap as chips- and about 6 or 8 brackets to change over !!!
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:27
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:27
John got back to me this morning & damage will be around $10K plus new tray
Thanks for your help
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:48
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:48
I suppose the advantages of doing this will be that you can still tow the boat trailer and not have to decide on which to take.
Have you thought about getting a sealed
trundle tray fitted to the tray at the same time. It cost a bit more but I reckon that having a sealed unit allows you to carry all your spares etc without loading up space in the tray.
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:19
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:19
G day Vince !
Can't help you with the question much, only to say, why stuff up a vehicle, for the sake of a capmer, for only a few weeks a year. But hopefully more. Not too sure just how much you would pay to have the work done, probably cost you more than you would save on the CT.
Hows the D22 going ?
Ours is just humming along, done 120k now and so far so good, touch-wood.
On our trip last year we averaged 6.5 km / lt ( 6500 km done )
How do these figures compare with your towing figures ?
Was hoping to get 7.5 average, but to no avail. But look at the logistics, low tyre pressures, loaded up, and we went into some gr8 spots.
Those Cooper's ( ATR ) have 90+ k kn them and are starting to show wear signs, Never mind they have done a supurb job, and that includes 2 Desert trips. Although I have notices that wear has accelerated, in the last 5k. Must be on the way out, but still got heaps on them ( 8mm ) Hopefully I will get another 30k, and maybe look at something else, ( for comfort )
Cheers Mate
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:52
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 15:52
Hi Bucky,
The D22 is great. We only have 8500km on the clock so far. This is my tow that I am gettig ready for when work ends in the next few years.( months if it keeps up the way it is). Had 1300 km on the clock when we left for the Warrawena gathering in July and from there we did a west - east simpson crossing with the only mishap off a splash guard from the bull bar to the sump comming off somewhere.
We still have the rubber it came with and at the rate I am going we will not have to change for some time.
We did not take the CT on this trip and we got 7.2 km /lt which was very good. I had no idea what we would get so carried a total of 170 lt + 60 lt
water & all the
camping gear. Used 74 lt for the crossing on the French, Rig Rd WAA, Knolls track & Qaa a total of 594 km, so the best figures were in 4WD. My right foot is too hard on the open road.
Heading of for a week early in Oct but most of it will be on the black top up the Nth coast.
Grteat to hear from you
Vince