POL Gas Bottles

Submitted: Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 17:46
ThreadID: 49797 Views:5408 Replies:2 FollowUps:0
While on holiday and waiting for SWMBO to buy shoes I had a walk thru Bunnings and spied some adaptors to convert your POLO fittings on Gas bottles to "SAFTEY Fittings"...... Just curious about these what would be the advantage? looks like a very coarse "acme" style thread and as far as I could see only the bit that screws into the bottle was for sale, the "nut & Tail" part seemd to be unavailable..... I won't go into detail as to the response form the PFT who I asked. I must say the thread looked suspiciously similar to an "automotive" connector and if so that would be an advantage......

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:56

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:56
Gday! I bought two 9kg Manchester (made in Melbourne) bottles about ten years ago with this fitting integrated in the brass POL fitting. This was going to be the new standard in safety but never eventuated . I have just replaced one of the bottles because it is out of date and it came with the ordinary old POL fitting without the acme type fitting. Michael
AnswerID: 262707

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:58

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 18:58
I HAD one of those useless things on my bottle.
No you cant fill it with autogas, the thread isnt quite the same.
I also got sick of going back to the servo to find my bottle still empty and the servo attendant telling me he cant fill it. All he had to do was push the fitting in before he started tuning it because of the spring loaded saftey valve but they couldnt seem to work it out.
Waist of time and money I reckon.
AnswerID: 262710