Gas exchange cylinders

Submitted: Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:18
ThreadID: 49799 Views:5245 Replies:16 FollowUps:14

just slipped down to the local servo to do an exchange of a 9Kg cylinder and $34.00 something I said I will not be back as its cheaper to get it filled ...... she said its cheaper to buy new, filled? Not sure about that, but what the hell is the issue.

I know it's different gas but even at 60 cents a litre it only runs out at $5.40 so where the hell does all the other $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ go. You think you have issues with petrol and diesel ....... wait till the gas goes through the roof.

I can see me burning timber again .....as gas in not that inexpensive any more.

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:38

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:38
Did you take the new cylinder and paid the $34?

Reiner
AnswerID: 262719

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:44

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 19:44
Brian,

Are you confusing litres with KG? I'm not sure of the conversion or how many litres there are in a KG. Anyone else know?

Are we being ripped off here??

I had this issue a while ago.... seems there are very few places that actually fill them now as it actually takes a PERSON to provide SERVICE, rather than just clanging the till!

AnswerID: 262722

Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:32

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:32
A PERSON still fills it ... just a different PERSON at another location and the consumer still pays for that PERSON.
FollowupID: 524242

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:40
1 Kg of LPG = 1.985 litres
and 0.512 Kg of LPG = 1 litre
FollowupID: 524244

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:02

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:02

I use 9kg bottles for the house and we pay $25 to get one filled with gas

Most of the charge is in the service fee. Yes, its a racket but where do you go? Maybe go back to electricity?...lol

AnswerID: 262725

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:01

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:01
Willem,

It is sure a racket what kinda pis$ed me off is it had just gone up by $7.00 an exchange cylinder ......... now of course not being a math fella ........... I figure that is ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm a tad above the CPI ???????????

wood looks good :) :) now where is that tree lol

FollowupID: 524288

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:19

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:19
Gday Willem, you have 'lectricity there?? i thought it was a steam driven town!! So i was told!! LOL!! Michael.
FollowupID: 524420

Reply By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:29

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:29
Brian.
Now this will upset you. I refilled my empty 9kg BBQ bottle yesterday at the local Shell station for NZ$15.00 incl GST. And guess where NZ gets 50% of its bulk LPG from – Australia.
Fortunately swap a bottle hasn’t caught on here that much, in fact it seems to dying out.

Regards. Clive.

PS. Diesel reached a high here today of NZ$1.19 / ltr.
AnswerID: 262733

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:09

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:09
Interesting you say that .... "drying out" the lady at my servo said the BOSS said when the price went up TOLD them to take one of the cages out as people will not pay and not worth the abuse we will receive.

They have one left cage now but for how long not sure. I know this is not a huge issue but one can consider if the exchange collapses (extreme yes) where to there if your camping relies on this service ...... I will say mine does not ......... I can do with out no problems.

Maybe that new contract with Japan has sucked our bit of GAS out of us ....... supply and demand

FollowupID: 524291

Reply By: nickb - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:37

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 20:37
I used to get it done at bunnings for $2.15/kg
AnswerID: 262738

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:02
Hi Brian, please check this site out as it will answer some if not all of your and others questions????
AnswerID: 262743

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:03

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:03
OOOPs sorry really tired.

http://www.wards.co.nz/lpgcyltypes.htm

copy and paste link in new web page.
FollowupID: 524239

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:13

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:13
its now cheaper to swap than fill at bunnings
went thru the b/s yesterday $34 to fill $28 to swap

AnswerID: 262747

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 01:09

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 01:09
I told the giy at bunings I would rather get my own refilled coz it was only a couple of years old so he siad righto and gave me a brand newie - i wont be swapping that
FollowupID: 524311

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:14

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:14
Wow!! you can refill at Revesby NSW for $18.50 but i was told by a reliable source, you can refill at Cabramatta NSW for $12.50 for a 9kg bottle., Michael
FollowupID: 524418

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:34
In WA you can get a 9kg bottle refilled for $19.90 at BCF.
Which is what I do. Maybe BCF hope you browse while waiting for the bottle to be filled and buy
a few items which I could easily do but resist it.
Cheers Brian
AnswerID: 262753

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:11

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:11
Hi Brian

I will be checking around for best price.

FollowupID: 524292

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:43

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:43
Brian, Brian,

In Murwillumbah I can refill for $19.95 at Mitre 10. Up the road at Kingscliff it is over $30 for a swap. Yeah and Mitre 10 has those bargain bins that I can't resist LOL

FollowupID: 524300

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:15

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:15
Hi everyone,

Just to say ....... this thread is only to highlight to check before you swap and go .......... or fill. I will be phoning around tommorrow for options.

Hmmmmmm on my first post GAS ie LPG has already gone through the roof, it was only 19c a few years ago???

AnswerID: 262778

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:48

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:48
I'm happy to keep swapping. $30 something is nothing for the amount of time it lasts and the ease of just swapping over. I used to hate finding someone with time to come out and fill the old one and maybe not do the job properly.

The biggest bonus is that you never have to buy a new gas bottle!

Still.... don't see why they can't organize a do-it-yourself refill site. After all... that's all you do when you fill your car up with LPG.
AnswerID: 262788

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:20

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:20
Now that Royce is a Damned good Idea.... unfortunatley we plebs don't have good ideas do we - it's all about money though...
FollowupID: 525014

Reply By: glids - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:52

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:52
Just to throw a bit more confusion into the arguement of swap vs refill...

Many of the swap-over bottles have less gas in them. Eg a 9kg cylinder may be filled with about 8.5kg of gas - I'm not sure of the exact value as I get cyliniders refilled, but the signage on the bin should say how much is put in the cylinder. At least when you get cylinders refilled, they should be FULL - ie 9kg.

Also, many places now charge the full refill price even if your cylinder is not empty - another rip-off! It pays to look around and find someone who weighs the cylinder first and only charges for what they put in.

cheers,
glids

AnswerID: 262842

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:17
That is where it really pays to run 2 cylinders. You can run them right out to get the value out of them and you also always know you have a full one ready to go.

Avoids that often tricky decision about "will I or won't I fill the cylinder? Will it last one more trip/bbq?"

I run two smaller cylinders rather than one big one.

Muddy
FollowupID: 525046

Reply By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:14

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:14
Brian, you are wrong - it is exactly the same gas in BBQ bottle and LPG car. Difference in price truly beyond my understanding. I guess they charge because we pay.
AnswerID: 262856

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:03

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:03
ROFL ....... you sound like my wife. YOU ARE WRONG geeeeezzzzz.

FollowupID: 525041

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:27

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:27
This was possibly the thrust of my post in another thread, clearly the solution is to put Auto Gas adapters onto our POL fitted cylinders and it would cost therefore about $2.00 to fill a 9kg bottle. I understand that the bottle has to be fixed to the vehicle to avoid a $10000 fine as cheating by using auto gas is evading TAX which we all realise is a criminal offence, in fact if you held up the refiller and got him to refill your bottle for free then the punishment is less....
The Porta Gas busness is i suspect simply a rippoff totale at Mossman FNQ I paid $50 for a 9kg bottle in 2005 at the Mitre 10....
AnswerID: 263451

Reply By: Kev M - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:29

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 15:29
At my local Bunnings this morning the Swap cost for a 9kg bottle was $26.00.
To buy a swap and go bottle to start the cycle was $55.00

AnswerID: 263452

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:08

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 19:08
I know when I build my next house I will be looking more closely at gas as it may not be as cheap as in the past.

I think my current cylinders here I have to rent them at a yearly cost then get exchange cylinders when empty. Will have to see what that is costing, hm then again might just pis^ me off more lol.

AnswerID: 263475

Reply By: Kev M - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:41

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 13:41
Brian,

Another use for out of Date 9kg Gas bottles

9kg Gas Bottle uses

AnswerID: 263598

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 15:24

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 15:24
I agree had mate make one at work and he uses it out west. I have my cylinder ready for its make over even got a smaller one for smaller camp oven :).

I should also say check the stamp last test date on your swap and go cylinders the two prior to this, one was 10 and 4 years out of date.

I was told by the attendant it would be right ........ I got ones within test, I also made complaint to Gas examiner, whom advised it not an isolated incident and steps on a nation basis are getting put in place to correct this situation.

FollowupID: 525206