Tassie trip.

Submitted: Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 21:54
ThreadID: 49811 Views:2889 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Is it better to take your own van (17 ft) across to Tassie ? or save the additional fare, leave the van in Melbourne and hire a camper when you get there?
We are planning a trip across next year for about 4 weeks in peak holiday time.
So anyone who has done something similar please give us some advice.
Thanks Sparkie

Reply By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 22:10
Sparkie
We took our 17 ft van across last January. We did sums towards the end of the trip and were miles ahead taking the van. But depends how long you're going, how many in your group, cost to hire something you will be comfortable in, fare discounts etc. I really think the answer for one group could be different for the next - do your sums.

THing I feel strongly about with a van is that you have everything that you want - we got 3 kids and they all need their stuff.

Great place. Enjoy JD
AnswerID: 262765

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:35

Monday, Sep 17, 2007 at 23:35
Heading off on Sunday to Tas for my 24th tour in 14 years! Great place.

We hired a big motorhome on our second trip and loved it.

I don't like towing vs the van, but since you have everything set up, why not take it? Have you worked out the maths.... what's cheaper? I would have thought taking the van on the ferry wouldn't be anywhere near as expensive?

Peak hol time is a bummer. I often travel there in Winter. It's beautiful any time... Enjoy.

Cheers Royce
AnswerID: 262785

Reply By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:57

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 07:57
Does Any body know the cost to take a caravan (17.6) and a Landcruiser over to Tassy?
AnswerID: 262801

Follow Up By: revkev - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:22

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:22
this may help, www.spiritoftasmania.com.au
FollowupID: 524334

Follow Up By: the mightyQ - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:56

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 08:56
G'day Sparkie, try this site they have a great service and are very helpful in all aspects...www.travelwithacause.com.au. We are going in March and have booked and paid, $1,650 return. This is a Nissan Patrol (5metres) towing a (13ft) Jayco Van(6.5metres) two Kennels, 2 people twin share.
The hiring of a similar set up would have been more than twice as much! as we're going for 4 weeks

andy
FollowupID: 524346

Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:02

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:02
Is that the return fare?
FollowupID: 524428

Reply By: Kevndeb - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:28

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:28
We are also traveling to Tassie during peak period, have already booked, in May for the crossing. Family of five for two and bit weeks in Tassie, it is far cheaper for us to take the caravan and we are traveling from Perth.

Even with airfares ( wish tiger airlines had a started earlier), it was cheaper for us to road trip.

Pathfinder ( brand spanking new) finally turned up and will be picked on Friday. For the four of us, plus car and van it was about $1800 return.... one of kids has to bunk in with f-i-l because we are doing a night crossing and the bunks only cater for family of four.

AnswerID: 262815

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:48

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 18:48
Hi Kevneb
Don't fill you gas bottles before you go as they decant them before you get on the ferry
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 524426

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:22

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:22
Poppy, please explain as we went last xmas /new year & was not asked about gas as long as it was turned off was ok.Now Petrol in gerries is a different thing a big no no.
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 524432

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:53

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 08:53
I know a metoo post. F-i-l will have to look into it, because we were under the impression as long as they were turned off we would be fine. He is making the trip with us, with my b-i-l driving a landcruiser and towing the f-i-l jayco, as there is sailing championship in Hobart that he competes in.

We were told back then that there was not alot of spaces left on the ferry for that time. We have already booked the caravan park, because of the champs, booked it in May or June also.

Have to say one thing though, it is pain in the butt not having sleeper cabins for families on the ferry...ie more then four. Luckily the i-ls are coming, or we would have to sleep sitting up, with three kids

We are driving with the kids for education reasons, middle boy is dyslexic and learns more by doing then reading. We will be Christmasing in Hobart, hoping it will snow like last year.

Debbie
FollowupID: 524483

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 13:52

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 13:52
Hi Bob and Debbie
You are probably right as you have more recent info than me, I was only going off old experience, seems they have changed there system for the better, sorry if I mislead anyone
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 524535