Landcruiser Starter Solenoid
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 09:40
BDT
My mates 1996 cruiser ute solenoid clicks now and then when you try to start it, no starter turning. Would it need new contacts in the solenoid. I've done this years ago in my Massey tractor and was wondering is it a fix for the Togo
Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 10:41
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 10:41
BDT,
Sounds most likely that the solenoid needs looking at. If the battery is up to speed then most likely time for a solenoid overhaul. Even opening it up and cleaning the carbon out of where the brushes make contact can help.
Rob
Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:47
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 11:47
My 79 series cruiser starter motor just clicked and did not turn the motor. If the solenoid is crook Toyota has a kit to replace the parts required for about $60-$70. The starter motor is a bit difficult to remove in our ute.
Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:12
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:12
Had a simular prob with my 80 series. Toyota dealer told me that Toyota have stopped making them although they still have a part number. Took
mine to an auto lec. All OK now
Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:13
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 19:13
Had a simular prob with my 80 series. Toyota dealer told me that Toyota have stopped making them although they still have a part number. Took
mine to an auto lec. All OK now
Reply By: DarrynJ - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:23
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2007 at 13:23
Hi BDT, yes new contacts are needed. This is a common problem with both 2H & 1HZ engines, its caused by arcing due to the high current draw on starting. If you live outside the capital cities then most Auto Electricians will know what you want and will have aftermarket contacts which are larger than the std Toyota part and last longer. Its not a hard job if you or your mate is handy with the spanners.
Regd's Darryn
Reply By: BDT - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 10:11
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 10:11
Thanks for the info will source the parts and have a go.