OT- What do you do at home with a fractured foot
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:44
Member - Shane D (QLD)
G'day all, Last Sunday(16th) I fell from a truck I was climbing into and then though, that I sort of jarred my left foot, so I went home, bag of peas, firm bandage (you know the drill) got up Monday morning, 4AM start.
Foot had swollen a little over night, re-wrap bandage, thin socks, then went to put boots on and that was a real battle, got them on, went of to work, after awhile the pain settled due to the boot giving my foot support, except if a stepped on it. I lasted 7 hours and then I went and got an x-ray on the way home, and surprise, surprise, chipped bone and 2 fractures made me stop and think, that's why I can't hardly walk.
Anyway what I'm asking EO members and visitors is what can you do for 2 weeks, with one foot in the air, wife now has to look after a 3 year old, 2 week old newborn, and me.
My wife has just gone thru childbirth, but she doesn't understand how sore my foot is, so I'm not getting much sympathy (go figure!)
Any tips for my sanity (and my wife's) appreciated
Shane
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:50
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:50
Shane,
Increase your download limit and surf the net all day LOL
I have been off work for 22 plus weeks now and it's hard let me tell you LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:54
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 20:54
22 weeks ! JEESUUUS must of done some serious damage
Shane
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:02
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:02
Just a small operation LOL
I had a Spinal fusion on the 12 April and can not lift anything over 5kg until 6 months at a minimum, hence I have 22 days to go LOL.
In addition to that I had 3 and a half weeks off work pre surgery so work is a 4 letter word (it is rarely used)
Kev
Have fun and keep your feet up
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:54
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:54
Give it time Kev and don't rush it!
My father had a double spinal fusion in the mid 90's at age 55. Went from hardly able to walk to being virtually back to normal over a 2 year period.
Spent 40 years framing houses which did him in. 2 years after the op he bought a delivery round delivering frozen pasta. These days he is retired however at the moment he is building another house! It will be the last one though....
Muddy
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:05
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:05
Muddy,
It only took me 15 years of building houses and a bit of help from life in the Army :))
I am in no rush to go back to work, as I am no longer going to be able to be a carpenter. They are now looking at doing a shoulder reconstruction soon to get it done while I am still off work for my back.
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: John R (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:39
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:39
Shane,
I've just gone back to work after almost 2 years off! I've had a number of surgeries to reconstruct my foot after falling off a ladder. I was putting the awning away on the CT when I slipped & fell.
First surgeon said I would never resume my career (which requires a yearly medical). I got a second opinion, and after months of agonising pain, surgery and physio I got my licence back. Thanks to a considerate employer I was offered my old job back.
I sat in a lounge chair for about 6 months and watched DVD's and surfed the net when the family wasn't around to keep me company. Not much else you can do when told to remain immobile with the foot elevated.
The rest of the time I spent getting fit enough to resume flying. The pain was so bad that there were times I wished I could jump out the window, but I put on too much weight to fit through :-))
Thanks to the support of family and friends life is semi-normal again. My foot will never be 100% because the damage was so severe, but it's certainly better than what was offered by the first doctor!!
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:26
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:26
Just watch TV
Bathurst id on soon too, you'll be right, won't have to mow the lawn will ya....be able to what your little Pic is doing with a keg above
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:34
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:34
Thanks Doug, but I'm a christian, I don't drink beer, I drink BOURBON, unless DR Jim comes in a keg I'll have to drink cans, so I'll have to move the fridge closer to the TV.
Shane
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:56
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:56
Get the Engel up and running, right next to the couch, acts as a good TV remote table as
well!!
Get better soon mate.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 22:00
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 22:00
Thanks Trevor, but it's get the WAECO next the cou. . . I've started another fridge war haven't I
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:38
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:38
www.torrentspy.com and dload lots of porn.
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:48
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:48
Haha, Then what do I do?
Wifes just gone thru childbirth, don't fancy my chances
Shane
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:03
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:03
same as you do now.. just more interesting..
tell the missus they are training videos.
Reply By: Eric Experience - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:55
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:55
Shane.
This is a chance to do a training course, or update your skills, your local library may be able to give you a list of training modules available or books to read. Eric.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:57
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 21:57
The books will need plenty of pictures for Shane to understand them ROFLMAO!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 22:10
Wednesday, Sep 19, 2007 at 22:10
HAHA, actually that's not a bad idea, hope I find one that's easy, and I wonder If there's a course that I can do that will improve my sledging skills, Look out Trevor :-)
Reply By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 06:56
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 06:56
Shane
Plan your next big trip.
Watch 4wd video's.
Spend some quality time with the kids.
Read a book - when d'ya get time to do that with kids.
Do some financial planning for the future.
Study up on how to save energy,
water etc – reckon it will all be costing so much more in the future.
Prepare detailed instructions on how exactly you break your foot for me - I need some time to do some of these things too.
Watch the footy, world cup rugby, cricket…………
Best wishes JD
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:27
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:27
Thanks JD,
Here's how you fracture your foot;
Choose a prime mover, one that has a bonnet, BIG steps on fuel tank, you know the 6 foot long ones.
then you try and run up them from the ground, JUST getting
the tip of your right boot on the first step(knee high).
Now your other foot is nearly up to the second step(waist high) however your right foot has slipped of the bottom step thus causing you to completely miss second step sending you down to the ground toes first (left foot)smashing into the concrete, gladly having steel caps saved me from more damage but It still Friggin hurt, not as much as the pain of having to fill out all the paperwork and admitting to what a goose I am!
There, it's that simple and only takes 2 seconds.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:40
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:40
"Plan your next big trip"....dont you mean "Plan your next big step"
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:48
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:48
got it Shane
now, where to find a prime mover around here...........
luv it MN1
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:58
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:58
climbing into generally means up....how does one fall up?
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:34
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:34
When your feet aren't in contact with anything you stop going up!
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:09
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:09
Shane,
Broke my pelvis about 14 years ago, and spent a month in bed. Not a lot of choice on
satellite TV in those days, so afternoons were the worst. Read a lot of books in that month too.
Because we live on the job, always had plenty of other book work to do.
Cousin & his wife brought my ol' fellar up from NSW, so had at least one waiter @ smoko, and a couple of blokes to talk to.
Otherwise do as little as possible, to let it heal
well.
Get some crutches from local hospital, for a bit of mobility.
Congratulations on new bub,
Hooroo...
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:39
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 07:39
Thanks Bob, mother in law lives close by, dunno whats worse, my 3 year old is a fantastic little help and I got the crutches, luckily my wifes car is auto (clutch foot fractured) and I am fortunate to have some mobility.
Shane
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:34
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:34
You northeners sure have a funny dialect - "Cousin & his wife brought my ol' fellar up from NSW" - we southerners have our ol' fellars with us at all times........
Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:06
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:06
I had 3+ months with a busted leg and busted bone in my foot - wrote a book during that time on my family history. I had the material and it was something that I was going to do but never had the time before then.
Also having a laptop, wireless around the house and a good broadband cap helped pass the time along with Foxtel.
After 3 months, flew top NZ for a short contract to earn some $$, flew back to
Melbourne, picked up the Troopy that we had in storage there and drove back to
Brisbane, still on crutches. Did get a cruise control fitted before I left
Melbourne though.
The leg is now OK but the foot is still bad - 2 1/2 years later so I hope that you have more success than I have had with my foot.
Stevesub
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:40
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:40
How did you do that!
I've been spending a lot of time on youtube, finding some pretty full-on stuff regarding poeple coming a gutsa in BIG ways
Shane
Follow Up By: stevesub - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:49
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:49
Fell into
the pool and hit the foot/leg on the side (corner) on the way in. Don't ask how, I still have not worked that one out. What got me is that I was stone cold sober at the time - and I drowned a real expensive new phone that died while in
the pool
A foot can take years to come right when you break bones in it and my leg is still full of very expensive titanium rods and screws.The foot screws have been removed.
I walk 5 km 3 times a week with a walking group now (I run the group) now but cannot run - the foot is too painful and the docs say they cannot do anything else for it.
Stevesub
Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:28
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:28
Hmmmm, 2 weeks to fill in.
1. Could get some spelling books to stop the word nazi's whinging if you should ever make a typo.
2. Fit a bullbar to a wheelchair and head off to the local shopping plaze to play dodgems with the pram pushing bullies.
3. Design a safe step system for clumsy truckers, and receive a government safety grant.
4. Mix your favourite drinks with lots of pizza, throw up on canvas, and sell it to the
art gallery for a fortune.
5. Get a friend to go to the RSPCA, raid thier
bins for the euthanised cats, skin them, make a fur coat for the new mum.
6. Use a hand held CB and listen to the mindless moronic dribbling idiots on channel 7
7. Grab some threads and a needle, and crochet new
seat covers with scenes of past trips.
8. Listen to parliament question time on the radio, and make a report on how few questions are actually answered by these paragons of virtue.
9. Call random phone numbers, put on a fake Indian accent, and mention the word Telstra in the first mumbled sentence, and see how many times an hour you get get verbally abused.
10. Fill out the puzzle's in the womans magazines, win heaps of breadmakers and mixers, take them to Cash Convertors to swap for pretty wheels for the Cruiser.
I'm sure athers could add to this list if you run out of ideas.
Cheers, congratulations (on the baby), and good luck (with the foot)
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:48
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 09:48
Haha, thanks for the Ideas, there already is a safe protocol to follow in regards to climbing into/out of trucks (none of which I followed :-() and that's why I'm here) as for the other suggestion's ,
well, I'll take it on board.
I need to practise my Indian!
Shane
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:49
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:49
Be careful with the Indian, over do it and you will be wishing you can run LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:39
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 11:39
Shane, the first job is to sort out things into proper perspective -
That means informing the missus that childbirth is an everyday event for thousands of women, and is what they were put on earth for, so doesn't warrant special consideration.
After you have re-established the pecking order, you can re-inforce that a broken foot is a pretty uncommon event, and the natural nurturing skills of your lady need to be aimed in your direction, to bring beer, panadol, compassion, etc frequently throughout the day and night. Let's face it - she's awake for the baby anyway, so getting you a sandwich shouldn't be a burden.
Now you will have the time required to focus on repairing your foot, and trawling the online databases for a new partner......:)
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:45
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:45
I'm glad you straighten me out, you know I was thinking the same about the whole childbirth thing and I agre. . . . . .
I've gotta go now, my suitcase is on the lawn ;-D
Shane
Reply By: slave - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 14:06
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 14:06
Lucky me, I only sprained my ankle on Sunday.
This is my first sprain and I have never had a break.
Slave has been
cooking for me, including my birthday tea :-)
Mrs s
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:50
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:50
actually, sometimes a sprain is worse than a break, now I've read your post a second time when you said break, did you mean holiday break, or bone snapping break?
I've never had to miss any more than 3 days off work because of injury/sickness in 22 years (or so) working and understand that I will get over this 2 weeks, all I'm doing is eating and sleeping.
Shane
Follow Up By: slave - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:39
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:39
I meant a bone snapping break Shane..
This is the first time in 30 years of working that I have had a sick certificate. I had 5 weeks of sick days so I took a week off.
I did nothing for 2 days with my foot elevated and the swelling went down by half. By then I had had enough and was able to get around, I couldn't hack any longer of 'doing nothing'.
Mrs S
Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:03
Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:03
Mmmmm... fortunately I've had a little bit of experience with being laid up with broken bits, and my advice is.... YOU PUSSY !! Get off your bum on your crutches out into your shed and start tinkering, LOL.
The only thing I couldn't do when I did my ankle (besides drive the truck, being a manual ) was carry my freshly made cup of coffee from the
kitchen to the lounge, untill I got sick of having to stand in the middle of the
kitchen drinking it and devised a way of pouring said coffee into a sealed tuppaware container, sticking it into one pocket, bickies into the other and taking them into the lounge or shed that way :-))
Not sure if I answered your email or not but in case I didn't, concrats on the new addition, looks just like you when you climb out of the cruiser, lol.
Pezza
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 10:35
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 10:35
Before I was up and about unaided I hired a wheel chair so I could carry my coffee and snacks and get around easier. After the 1st week I went and bought a light weight wheelchair as the hired one was to bloody heavy especially on carpet and modified a tray that can be easily removed. I didn't need to hold the hot cup between my legs when mobile then, as it was just a little to close for comfort LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:03
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:03
HAHA Thanks pezza,
Pussy's a bit rough though, anyway, today was an important day for Tilly, today was the day her dvd's where placed into alphabetical order, and now must be placed back the wa. . . . . . . ummmm , How many 4 (nearly) year olds know the alphabet, Jeez, I have to apply my intellect elsewhere.
You are spot on about the shed, but mines over full and a deadset
hazard on crutches, I hope Emma doesn't read this thread, she'll make me tidy said shed. . . . . . I think I need a lie down!
Shane
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 18:36
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 18:36
You have a 3 year old , teach them how to play chess !!