Biting Barra

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 13:09
ThreadID: 49882 Views:2739 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
G'day Y'all,

Lake Tinaroo up near Malanda, are the barra on the bite? If so, what's the best lures they go for? Any help would be great coz' if I don't catch one, the family won't eat.

Tally Ho!

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 13:23

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 13:23
I am reliably informed that they are always on the bite the day before you get there, and the day after you leave.
AnswerID: 263149

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 15:01

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 15:01
When we were there we didn't even come close to catching a barra. Bloody nice place though.
We were told it was too cold when we went out and the barra had moved down deep.We went on a fishing charter boat from the resort next to the lake.
We could see them on the sounder but that was as close as we got.
Wouldn't mind going back some day.

Happy Fishen ?

Scoof.. :-)
FollowupID: 524733

Reply By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 13:45

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 13:45
When you get there, get some to show you where the barron river enters the lake. It is the only worth while place to catch them and generally in the very early hours of the morning.
Richo
AnswerID: 263158

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 14:13

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 14:13
Lochmonster, get youself onto this site:
Ausfish link

A site somewhat like this one, only dedicated to fishing. Mostly covers Qld. There are a couple of regulars who fish Tinaroo on the forum and there is a pretty good search function as well.

I have not fished Tinaroo, but have done many of the other Barra dams in Qld. I like hard bodies around 100 to 150mm in the dams. Some I like include, RMG Scorpian, Barra Classic, Halco Laser Pro and the Gold Bomber. But any lure will catch fish if it swims right and is at the right depth. I like lures with Gold in them, Gold and black is a favourite, but I've done OK on lots of colours including the Elton John (multi colours). A couple of cheapies bought on special for $5 or so have also worked OK.

Plastics like Squidgy Slick Rigs also do well.

Doesn't matter what lure you use if there are no fish in the area you fish. Area selection, depth and lure action are more important than lure selection in my view.

Having said all that. I reckon fresh water barra tasts like sh1t. Wife doesn't mind it and the smaller ones (say under 650mm) are much better than the bigger ones. In the fresh we pretty much let all the barra we catch go these days. But they a a lot of fun to catch.

If you have not fished in the dams for barra before, make sure your gear is up to it. A metre long barra is a strong beast. I replace all my trebbles with top grade Owner ones for example. A big fish will straighten out cheaper trebbles.

Hope you have a ball.

Norm C
AnswerID: 263169

Follow Up By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:17

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:17
I agree Norm, fresh water Barra tastes like @#$%.
Lochmonster
Take redclaw pots as well, you should get a feed out of those.
FollowupID: 524743

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:01

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:01
Yes, Freshwater Barra only good for catch and release. Just there for the sport.

And what a grand feeling it is seeing that fish swim off to fight another battle, especially after several fruitless days of hours and hours of casting and trolling and all the action happens in seconds!

Saltwater ones on the other hand......... Yummo!

Muddy
FollowupID: 524788

Reply By: Kev. (Cairns) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 19:51

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 19:51
Apparently quite hard to catch a barra there, they are usually right down deep under the snags.

Considering the amount of V8 ski boats there on the weekends im not surprised.

The best ive done is catching 9 Redclaw in 2 pots once a few years ago. Haven't caught much lately though.

Isn't the biggest barra caught in oz from Tinaroo ?
AnswerID: 263214

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:45

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:45
The guy that took us out on Lake Tinaroo said the biggest Barra was from Tinaroo he also said fresh water Barra are big fat lazy fish.

It was a couple years ago now but I'm sure that is what he said.

Cheers Scoof..
FollowupID: 524800

Follow Up By: Kev. (Cairns) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:10

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:10
They are lazy fish, unless you drop the lure right past its nose it wont bother chasing it.

And when they are just sitting around down deep under the trees/ branches etc it is obviously hard to get your lure to them so good luck.......you might need it.
FollowupID: 524832

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:56

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:56
Hi Lochmonster
Don't forget to get your fishing permit as Tinaroo is part of the SIPS scheme, most tackle shops up that way sell them.
A great place and you will really enjoy it
Cheers Ray
AnswerID: 263231