In Car (4x4) Laptop/Camera Mount

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 14:55
ThreadID: 49889 Views:3312 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
G'day EO folk,
Just thought I'd let everyone know about this Car Laptop/Camera Mount on ebay (no affiliation with them, just a decent product for the price and great service & delivery). A bunch of us are now using them in our 4x4's and are really happy with them. They hold up to 5 kilos whilst moving. I haven't tried it out on really bad corrugations, but it seems to hold up in general offroad situations. Anyway have a look and see what you think.

Darren

P.S. David, Please remove this post if you think it is not appropriate.
Bungle Bungle - The Kimberley

Reply By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 15:53

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 15:53
I think its a great idea.

AnswerID: 263180

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:48

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:48
My bracket cost about $3.50 in Bunnings, it's not flash but it works and won't move or break,All it is is a metal angle , I fix the camera to it , and using the latest digital cameras as in the JVC with 20gb hard drive on the Googs Track it worked perfect, the Camera has a feature that accommodates suddenly moving objects and the replay is not jerky

AnswerID: 263187

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:18

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:18
I had a look at the Mount in Darrens post, I think that mount might be OK for city roads only, that would have to move on an outback road

FollowupID: 524757

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:53

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:53
Darren,

Thanks for the heads up.
AnswerID: 263190

Follow Up By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 16:54
No worries Richard.

FollowupID: 524749

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:00

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:00
Darren
I realise it's a lot easier to mount things in a Troopy than the flashy 4x4s but here is how mine is doneCamera Mount

AnswerID: 263192

Follow Up By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:17

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:17
Cheers for that Doug T. I mainly bought it for mounting the laptop. I am also looking at something seperate for video camera similar to what you have done (as I have the same type of JVC)but only having a plasticy dash it probably wouldn't hold up, besides I'm running out of room on the dash.
Cheers again,
Darren

FollowupID: 524756

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:59

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:59
Interesting set up Doug. The video does it come with Image stabiliser? which helps stop vibration.

FollowupID: 524882

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:15
Yes Yes that's the term I couldn't grasp yesterday "Image stabiliser" , yes it does and it makes a world of difference over the older type non digital camera

FollowupID: 524884

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:21

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:21
Hi Doug,
I also have a JVC.What did you use to mount the camera to the bracket?Is it a quick release thing or not?A pic would be good or where to purchase,have looked at several tripods but can't think how to mount to a fixed bracket such as yours.
Cheers ,Mary
PS My little Tenterfield mate is 6yro Rosie.
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 525383

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:34
Mary
You are very observant, that plastic looking base on the camera is the fixture for the tripod, I just sat the camera there with it still on just for the photo, when I mount it on the bracket I take that off , I use the same hole as used for the tripod when I mount it on the bracket

FollowupID: 525408

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:48

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:48
Just hope the Engrish in the instructions is better than Engrish in description...
AnswerID: 263280

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:03

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:03
Agree thanks for the heads up

AnswerID: 263304

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:44

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:44
sorry to rain on your parade .. I have this since quite a while in my truck for my 10" screen ... it is nice to be able to swivel the screen from passenger to driver but on rough roads this is not really a good idea ... if you use it for a laptop the mounting plate is in the way in smaller vehicles and useless on corrugations ... ok on the road .. we have 3 differnt sizes of laptops and none were secure on there even on road because the top plastic bit and the fastening mechanism is not strong enough over time ... it is good for a screen only but I have not solved the corrugation problem yet...
we stopped using laptops in the car/truck and replaced it with a decent permanent system and a 10" touchscreen which runs everything (MP3 to the head unit, Internet, Navigation, DVD just everything a PC can do ...
it is a nice design and I liked it at first but it is not solid enough especially when it is not supported a bit further up from the bottom mounting point ..

good luck
gmd

AnswerID: 263344

Follow Up By: Member - Darren & Janella (WA) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 00:24

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 00:24
Hi gmd,
Thanks for the feedback. May I ask how long ago you purchased the mount? The reason being is that you mention that it has a "top plastic bit" and the one I have seems to be all metal apart from the fastening mechanisn handles. As I said in my original post I haven't tried it over corrugated roads, so would be interested to know if you solve the corrugations problems. Maybe all it would need is some sort of brace running from the tray to somewhere solid.
Darren

FollowupID: 524958