Dual Rear DVD players for the kids, whats some good ones?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 17:49
ThreadID: 49892 Views:5889 Replies:14 FollowUps:4
Planning to take off on a largish trip for us, and been checking out some dvd players on ebay. Does anyone have any recommendations on ones they have had good success from? I see some that look great on paper with divx support (a must) and games etc. but they are NO NAME ones, just wonder how they last or quality.
Any advice appreciate, thanks!
Justin

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:11

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:11
Justin71, we have teac brand, had for 3 years and hasn't missed a beat. We use it all the time, best invention ever, when its on u would of thought u where by yourself, nice and peaceful. It cost $200 best money i have ever spent.

cheers, Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 263199

Reply By: Member - Andrew H (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:52

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:52
My children were given two from office works (tech works brand)for a present before our recent trip around OZ. One lasted a week, the other about a month. So to help with the trip back across from Perth we bought two more from JB hifi (Soniq brand). Picture was fine but you couldn't hear the over general road noise in the car. To make matters worse the 12 volt plug didn't fit (Landcruiser.) Took all four back and got our money back. They are a good idea but as the saying goes "You get what you pay for".
AnswerID: 263202

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:59

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 18:59
We have 2 types in our patrol one roof centre mounted & 2 portables on the back of the headrest (older kid one movie & younger a different one). I have noticed that when we have had the ones on the back of the head rest the kids can feel sick if it is a very windy road & this is from 2 kids that never normally get any motion sickness in the car or our boat yet the roof one has no affect on them.

The roof one is a very old one now (over ten years old) & is a sound 4 brand & has never mist a beat & will play on any track even the canning. the 2 portables are from polaris & have had no problems but will skip a bit even on a concrete Hwy

one thing I would suggest is get the infra red/wireless head phones
a lot less problems then plugs & leads & it will let you listen to your music
AnswerID: 263205

Reply By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 19:02

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 19:02
Hi Justin
Brought a dual screen from Dick Smith, lasted about 3 years, copped a bashing in the back, cost about $400 then. It was there own brand.
Just brought another dual screen from autobarn $300, no problems so far.
Can not remember the brand name.
Mate, I tell you they are a god send on a long trip. Did a trip with out the dvd player recently, it nearly did my head in (kids 7 & 5).

Richo

AnswerID: 263206

Reply By: Tim M - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:49

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 20:49
Hi Justin71.
We have just a simple AWA dual screen from BigW, was about $283. No problems with it yet. We leave the screens attached to the headrests and when not on long trips we store the disc player unit in the house instead of the car... probably will get a longer life out of it that way.
Tim
AnswerID: 263230

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 21:32

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 21:32
Hey Justin 71, i work for the dick, (nio disrespect to the proper Dick Smith) woolies owns it now, but if you go to the dick, get one of them and get the extended warranty, that way if the unit packs it in you will get a replacement for nothing even 5 years later!!!! Believe me if you have a young family it doesn't matter where you are you can get another unit if it decides to pack it in!!! So if you go and ask about the warranty they will tell you all about it!!! I work in a support role and don't know much about warranty side of things. NOT MY JOB TO KNOW!!!!!

Good luck safe trip.
AnswerID: 263239

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:53

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:53
We Got 2 from Strathfield, 'highlander' brand. Have been working fine for us, and I agree with all above THE BEST MONEY YOU WILL EVER SPEND!!!!!!!!!! We paid $240 for the two, so I don't have great expectations from them, but they are doing great so far.
Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 263249

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:56

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:56
We got a cheap no name from toysRus and so far so good. Great picture and comes with inbuilt games. Headphones are crap so we are replacing them for next trip. When I turn the car engine off the video stops is only drama.
AnswerID: 263254

Reply By:- Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 08:34
Had heard that Victoria was considering banning them, even in the back seats as they consider that they distract other drivers
AnswerID: 263277

Reply By: Member - Mal J (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:38

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:38
Justin
We got our no name brand from Ebay, Player, 2 monitors, games, game controllers etc(about $275.00 or there abouts) and we have just completed an 8000km outback trip. It worked fine for 3 weeks up until the Mt Dare-Dalhousie road which was a bit ordinary and the laser packed it in (couldn't read the DVD's) so still thinking on what to do next.

Mal
AnswerID: 263298

Reply By: justin71 - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:36

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:36
Thanks for the replies guys, so far I think getting one from Dick Smith with an extended 5 yr warranty is the go like Christopher mentioned above. Only down side is it doesnt play divx files, so a LOT more disks needed, but it seems the best option.
Glad I didnt get one off ebay, cos although they look great, they only come with like a 7 day warranty or something. A few corrugations and the thing would be stuffed I reckon or a few trips. 3 or 400 bucks is too much just to waste on something.
Been searching high and low and there isnt a great deal on offer really, I was looking for a NICE BRAND portable dvd that would have higher grade componenets etc. etc. but these seem pretty scarce, especially dual screen ones.
thanks again
Jusitn
AnswerID: 263310

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 14:42

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 14:42
we waited and waited.

eventually there was an offer we couldn't refuse..

we got a 7" double screen unit from the warehouse for $135 it plays all formats, excellent clear sound and picture and hasn't skipped, even when pushing it hard offroad.

We have the remote unit mounted on a headrest for the bigger girl and the main unit (which could go on a headrest too) on the center console, Kayla seems to prefer looking down to the center one than up to the headrest one.

(we also have it pretty dark back there with dark tint and window socks)
AnswerID: 263316

Follow Up By: justin71 - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:46

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:46
What brand is it dave? And whats the store?
thanks
Justin
FollowupID: 524899

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:49

Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:49
Sorry it's taken so long to reply... busy, busy, busy!

The brand is "Viewsonic".

I purchased it from "The Warehouse" (used to be Silly Sollys) I wasn't expecting much, really! But have been very pleasantly surprised, I've been watching the catalogues to see if they do it again (it's a great price even just for the 7"screens to make one a reversing camera monitor), but they haven't been back again...
FollowupID: 526010

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:17

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:17
I've thought about going down this track too at times. However, we have 3 boys in the back seat and I'd prefer to have a flip down, roof-mounted unit. These seem to range in price from a few hundred $$$ to about $1200-!!! However, one thing I can't seem to work out from looking at the various websites I've just been googling, ........... do ALL these roof mounted units actually "play" the dvd? Some of them just refer to "roof mounted monitor", which makes me think I've gotta buy a plyer unit to go under the seat or something???

Also, a few of you have mentioned divx etc......I assume that is some sort of compression system that allows a number of movies to be placed onto a single disk? If so, how does one get them (ie all these movies) onto the single disk?

As usual, as soon as the discussion turns to all this hi-tech stuff, I'm out of my league!!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 263373

Follow Up By:- Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:41

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:41
G'Day Roachie,

Most of the cheaper ones on EBAy are screen only, you need to ad the player.

Also, installer warned me several years ago that heat is the main problem with these units, not heat from the unit, but heat from the roof during summer. Best to mount to a centre roof console and put a bit of insulation in between. Some of the better brands, Pioneer, NESA, etc. now down under $1K for a player unit
with infra-red headphones

Rolande
FollowupID: 524942

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 08:00

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 08:00
Don't want to put a damper on this subject - but isn't the reason we are travelling in our cars from place to place is to see the places - shouldn't we be teaching our kids to look around them, see this beautiful country - and enjoy what they see? I know they get bored, but didn't we, when we were young? But we played games with what was around us - "I spy" - spot the Volkswagen Kombis - sentences from number plates - a bit of fun and interaction with mum and dad - not just a "babysitter" in the back seat - but the family having a good time together.
Driving should be a pleasure - I think far too many people just get in the car - drive as fast as they can to get where they are going - without enjoying the journey - maybe you don't need to go so far - if you only have one week - try and travel only for half a day thee and half a day back - ore even one day there and one back - but make it an enjoyable trip - allow plenty of time to stop if something takes your fancy - stop and let kids run around a park for a while, talk about where you are going - the changes in the countryside, games involving kids noticing things around them.
Oh well, that's mu opinion for what it's worth.
jules
AnswerID: 263409

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 14:51

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 14:51
G'day Julie,

My wife and I agree with you totally (in an ideal world). Annette doesn't even know I'm involved in this thread or that I am even half-way contemplating a purchase of this type......if she did, she would not be happy!!!

However, our situation is that we have 3 sons, aged 11, 9 and 6 (all with birthdays coming up in the next few months). We have taken all of them camping on a regular basis before they were 6 months old.......so they know all about camping and the bush in general.

One of THE MOST stressful parts of any trip we do is, unfortunately, the driving; thes boys will fight and argue, causing me to lose my temper. I find myself yelling at them, trying to whack one or more on the leg (with my open hand) etc, all as I attempt to drive along in a 5t+ rig..... a recipe for a disaster if ever there was one.

Xmas before last, I lashed out and bought each of them his own PSP plus several games (about $1500- spent). That was okay, until they'd start fighting over who had which game. I don't want to give the impression that these lads are spoilt brats (they probably are, and they get told as much quite often!!!).

In an ideal world, we would be able to pull up every hour or so for 15 minutes and they could expell some energy on some play equipment, or run around and look at things pertaining to "nature" etc. However, in practice this is rarely convenient or conducive to getting from A to B in a reasonable amount of time.

I know that even if I were to get a DVD player, there would be arguments about what movie they watched etc. I could solve that one by making myself (or Annette) the sole decision maker in this regard.

In summary, I reiterate that I agree with your ideals, but believe that our kids are much more "stimulated" than kids were when I was a kid.....or maybe I should say that it takes more sophisticated things to keep them interested. We've done all the "I spy" and "A to Z" games to death over the years.

FollowupID: 525012