Camping & fishing on the Murray & Goulburn to change forever - act now!

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:19
ThreadID: 49898 Views:5905 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
Is anyone aware of proposed changes to National Parks and State Parks on the Murray River and some of it’s tributaries such as the Goulburn, which will forever change the way we use the river and its surrounds for recreation?

VEAC are currently seeking public submissions on a report on River Red Gum Forest preservation, and are proposing massive changes to current State Forests to create a new National Park.

In the process they will make camping and fishing much more restrictive than the current freedom that we enjoy.

Currently, many of us camp as we have done for years at favourite sandbars. We fish and launch tinnies with our families, kids, friends and occasionally family pets.

Misleading or untruthful statements about economic benefits of camping, fishing and hunting are key to some of their arguments. They assert that ” a recent study in South Australia puts the economic value of Duck Hunting at about $48.00 per trip with 95% confidence limits of about $30 and $120 these are consistent with the economic values estimated for other recreational pursuits such as Fishing.”

They estimate the number of duck hunters affected to be 3950, and the economic loss associated with lost game reserves to be $82,000 – about $20 per duck hunter. Where on earth do they get their figures?

When was the last time any of us had a weekend away fishing, camping or shooting that cost less than $120 in fuel, food, lures and gear often bought locally or on the way to the area? I wish I could camp for cod opening and buy enough lures to replace the ones I leave on the snags for $48.

VEAC are misleading the public with details regarding availability of camping, and assert that we will still be able to fish. They neglect to mention that the only place they will allow you to launch your tinny between Murchison & the Murray on the Goulburn River will be the concrete ramp in Shepparton. 200km of river and one boat ramp! They propose that they will close unmaintained tracks and ramps.

They are limiting vehicle access and closing other unmaintained tracks. Horses will be restricted to day time only and overnight camping restricted to “selected” areas. Horses aren't my thing but they may be yours.

Your favourite cod opening or water skiing sand bar is not likely to be on that list, and if it is you can fight all the others whose sandbars have been closed to campers for a spot.

You won’t be able to have a fire either… probably a good thing because with the numbers of us jostling for a spot there won’t be any room.

I love camping on the Murray, I only have a couple of favourite spots and sitting next to the river by a fire is one of my favourite pastimes. I know many others who agree. This is all about to change if we don’t make submissions to VEAC, who have extended the deadline for submissions until the 8th of October.

I’m all for protecting Red Gum Forest. I’d like to see a few more drop loos too – though we always latrine responsibly away from the river – and many use portaloos. I’d even pay a voluntary levy like in the Flinders Ranges or Mungo to camp if I could see it being invested in drop loos and track maintenance.

But the level to which the bureaucrats are proposing to restrict usage will stuff camping with my family in a way we have enjoyed for years for ever. Yours too.

Some other ridiculous stuff that VEAC propose:
• Flushing the Goulburn Murray system with 4000 Gigalitres of water every 5 years or so. Sounds good doesn’t it.
o Eildon holds 3300 Gigalitres of water, Dartmouth holds 4000 Gigalitres of water. Neither have had anywhere near half capacity for years.
o Are they seriously going to empty two reservoirs every five years (even if we could get them to fill) to flush the Murray?
• Complete bans on solid fuel fires & dogs for much of the Murray & Goulburn (National Parks) for ALL of the year, with time restrictions on State Parks.
• Allowing Aboriginals to use firearms and campfires in National Parks to maintain traditional activities? What’s traditional about a rifle? Would you like to be camped next to someone who because of their culture can do things in their National Park that you cannot in your National Park?
• Aboriginal groups are proposed to receive a percentage of moneys raised from activities conducted in the area in question. Many of these activities include Fishing comps run by footy clubs, Lions Clubs etc. How is this possible? Community groups undertaking fundraising having their takings garnished is not reconciliation. It’s aggravation.
What can you do?

Make your opinions known to VEAC. Read the report summaries and type them a note. The details are at http://www.veac.vic.gov.au/riverredgum.htm

Contact your lobby groups such as the Victoria Association of 4wd Clubs and prompt them to act on your behalf if you are a club member. Get in touch with local politicians.

Tell everyone in your fishing club, or camping groups, water ski clubs etc. to do the same.

We only have a few weeks. Half an hour to read a bit and type your opinion isn't much to secure your recreational future.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:46

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:46
Mate...to late for me to get into it...but this sort of bleep happens every where. I honestly don't know the area you are talking about and probably will never affect me...probably a bit like the grog and speed laws ow the NT to you?
But I will go to the site link and comment...DISAGREE.
Because our country as we know it it soon to be gone otherwise!

Good call Mate!

AnswerID: 263246

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:07

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:07
Gday again,
I just had a really quick look!
Didnt see any where to disagree?
Maybe some sort of link for lazy buggers like myself to comment might help?
FollowupID: 524831

Follow Up By: Grungle - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 07:33

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 07:33
Hey Hairy,

Start by emailing them at veac@dse.vic.gov.au

I have.

FollowupID: 524849

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:48

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 22:48
Excellent post, Dave.
It's not the area I venture into regularly but I will do my bit.

This crap is going on everywhere; here on the Nth Coast of NSW the hippies stopped the logging of old growth forests which is great, only to have them completely locked up from the public. There is virtually no State Forests up here; just National Parks with limited access and expensive fees.
AnswerID: 263247

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:26

Thursday, Sep 20, 2007 at 23:26
Don't these idiots in the cities Pi$$ one off, Mate you won't make any difference to these morons, once they get a little whisper in the ear from the do-gooders to act then she's all over rover, I remember seeing dozens of campers just south of Tocumwal at holiday times , ,some of those campers would go to that site every year , , Its the same every where you go, they dream up bloody excuses to feather their own nest, there's a group trying to shut down the Marrabel Rodeo, that;s been an annual event for over 60 years, Another mob is using this Global Warming crap to get their issues pushed on us, OH&S another pain in the butt, Daylight saving cranks, No cows in the Highlands , .....I better STOP

AnswerID: 263251

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 02:47

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 02:47
Yeah Dave 4wd Victoria has been actively lobbying the State Government over this issue for quite sometime and has release the details to all 4wd member clubs for distribution to all members.
It also affect the Horse people, the shooters, the fishermen etc etc

AnswerID: 263260

Reply By: Member- Tony C - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 06:05

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 06:05
Dave,
Great post ,i agree with you completly and relate to all your saying.
I have been going on fishing trips to various spots along the Murray for years.To loose the freedom that we have enjoyed for ever and a day would be a huge dissapointment.
In all the time i've been going to the river i cant recall seeing anyone abusing the environment eg. leaving rubbish around camp sites.
Tony
AnswerID: 263262

Reply By: Anthony (Vic) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 09:36

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 09:36
Hi Dave, a good post.

I’ve had a look a quick look at the proposed recommendations (R28, R29 and R30) which will affect Camping and Tourism in the areas under investigation by VEAC..

These recommendations essentially seek to “manage” any form of camping with “dispersed camping” and “not permitting solid fuel fires and firewood collection”.

I will be writing a short and specific submission against these recommendations.

The facts presented by VEAC on the above issues in their draft recommendations paper are based on generalisations and make many assumptions, leading to “Ban it All” or “Manage it All” tyres of recommendations.

At first I thought … “what can I do”.Well I am going to writing against these recommendations and have until 9 October to do so.

If you look at the Terms of Reference the Minister provided to VEAC, you will note that the Minister has requested that VEAC to consider:

“… Appropriate access .. for appropriate recreation activities, and for community values and uses, …”

After reading the terms of reference, I believe that VEAC has not appropriately considered or consulted with the broader public and community to be able to present an informed or appropriate recommendation to the Government, on issues relating to camping and tourism.

Cheers Anthony
AnswerID: 263284

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 09:53

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 09:53
While agreeing with the general line of what you say Dave you forgot to mention the massive damage campers are doing along the Murray system & how they have partly brought this apon themselves. Cutting down all the dead timber (now starting on green trees) to feed camp fires, riding / driving cross country making tracks, leaving rubbish, crapping everywhere, launching boats off the banks accellerating erosion, it just goes on. Dissagreeing with the entire policy is not the way to go as many of the proposals are sensible and required to lessen the impact.
Fires will be allowed in half of the area (not National Park) but not in the fire season over xmas. Better than on the NSW side I suppose;-)
Your suggestion that they will empty 2 dams to flush the system is a bit misleading & doesnt take into concideration all the water that normally flows down the rivers anyway. All the same I doubt the calculations are taking in the impact of the current draught.
Handing control of some areas of the forrest to aboriginal groups is a bit alarming as I see very little evidence locally that they even have the ability to look after the place. A political cop out there I'm suggesting.
Under the proposal you will still be able to camp, fish etc at your favorite sand bar it's just going to be far more restricted to stop the huge number of people wrecking the place.
Read the proposal & put in your submission (I have) but dont think things can remain the same.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 263285