Trailblazer fridge

I managed to pick up a 2nd hand model and very pleased 80 litre. Now all I gotta do is make a fridge slide that tilts to allow easier access.

Anyone got plans or some photo's on how they did theres. Any help most welcomed.

Still have my Chestcold 3 way and will use it if planning on staying in one location for a week or more and simple use it as the freezer.

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:09

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:09
G'day Brian
Congrats on acquiring arguably the best fridge around. We've had an 80 ltr Trailblaza for many moons and it has been very reliable.
Can't answer your specific question however friends of ours who have the same fridge in a ute have it fixed in place and use a small aluminium step to access the contents. The step is also used to climb in and out of the back, where they sleep.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 263305

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:49

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:49
I agree. Very robust fridge. We have bounced around a fair few tracks and the trailblaza is permorming beautifuly.

FollowupID: 524902

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:50

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:50
"permorming" perafternooning, it is always performing :)
FollowupID: 524903

Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:15
Brain,

Check out the slide Dave AKA Geocacher Vic built,

it is in his 4wd stuff in

this web site

I think LOL

AnswerID: 263306

Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:17

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 13:17
Brian, Not Brain LOL

It is actually in the Courier page scroll down to storage and it has a PDF file of the tilting slide.

FollowupID: 524886

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:39

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 15:39
Kev,

Will check it out thanks. Brain ..... hmmmmmmm used to have one but wife knows all .... so as they say if you don't use it you loose it, I therefore just killed the smart side with BEER and simple use the best side for sport, fun, fishing, 4x4ing and drinking.

Now When the wife says, you cannot think for yourself .......... I can say I'm smart enough to say NOTHING LOL.

FollowupID: 524893

Follow Up By: Member - Big Mke (QLD) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:47

Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 16:47
That is a pretty full on link. There are some amazingly clever people about. Great set up and built by himself.
FollowupID: 524900

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 04:17

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 04:17
Hi Brian H

Once had a setup like yours (blue tarp on tray top) before the Carryme camper went on the back.
In that setup the Trailblaza was very secured and ran lenghtways down the passenger side of the 4WD. I didn't need a step ladder and had "enough" opening height to get stuff in and out of it.
In the Carryme it runs lengthways accross the front part of the camper and is on 100kg rated Haefele fridge slide bearing runners. The fridge slides right out and now I use a compact 2 step step ladder to get into it and have more opening height space.
http://www.hafele.com.au/isapi/online/tchff/tchff.asp

Hope this helps you?
I have piccy's of it and if you want some sent through to you then MM Muddy.

Cya
Ms Doe
AnswerID: 263398

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:16

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:16
Have sent you a MM Muddy Doe. I probably don't need a tilt slide just figured to see to the bottom it would be much easier. I was looking at using the bottom as a freezer with a cover and the rest as a fridge. I am also looking at making a slide tray just for butter, cheese and veg.

FollowupID: 524975

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:18

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:18
Muddy Doe,
PS I will get some photo's will MM Muddy.

FollowupID: 524977

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:17

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:17
Hi Brian

That is what we do if using for a few days, freezer at bottom with a board hinged in middle to access either side so you don't have to pull everything out. Just have to remember where you put what and where........ :)
The Trailblaza people use a 10lt rectangle mop bucket that you can get from Mitre 10. You'll know the one when you see it. We use Muddy's basket from his Waeco, works a treat!
Also have all your stuff packed and frozen and fridge turned on the 240V the day or 2 before leaving.

Hope that helps you?

Cya

FollowupID: 525083

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 22:16

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 22:16
I was looking at setting something like that up hinge centre.

Got me thinking now will have to check a slide I have in an esky which if memory serve me is about the same size (hope it fits), As its would be half / 3/4 long and 100mm deep or thereabouts.

Will also check the bucket out.

Agree about turning on a day or so earlier have been doing that with my other fridge and worked well.

FollowupID: 525109

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 07:56

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 07:56
Great Fridge!!!!

Had a 70L for 4 years now and it's never missed a beat, even despite once being upside down!

AnswerID: 263407

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:10

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 09:10
I sorta got a plan in my head but was wanting see other ideas as said hereabouts, there some very clever people out there.

I will be running the fridge from drivers side to passenger at this stage may look at lenght wise as can see some advantages.

AnswerID: 263418