Alpine Head Unit into a GU Patrol
Submitted: Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 17:12
palmy
Hi all, probably a long shot here, but hoping someone has installed an Alpine IDA-300 DVD head unit into a GU Patrol? I had the 'control box thingo' under the passanger
seat, but have never liked it considering the possiblity of getting
water in... Has anyone installed this above the glovebox? There's heaps of room, but I just can't seem to fit it in properly with putting too much pressure on the cabling....
Thanks in advanced,
Reply By: Shawn - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 20:34
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 20:34
Mate, I don't know how big the head unit is, but have you though of putting it up in the void inside the centre console. It would want to be a lot of
water getting in to reach it up in there.
Shawn
Follow Up By: palmy - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:19
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:19
void inside the centre console?
Do you behind the 12volt outlets (ie under the a/c controls) or under the centre storage compartment?
Thanks by the way....
MP
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:41
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:41
under the compartment - there is a few inches space between the carfloor and the base of the compartment when you remove the complete center console..
Reply By:- Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:34
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 21:34
G'Day Mark,
My install is prior to DVD days, just a radio / cassette head unit and a six stacker CD in the aftermarket glove box - all Alpine gear.
There is a large round tube that acts as bracing behind the dash, the installer used this to mount the CD stacker and so far I have had no toruble inlcuding playing CD's up the
Birdsville and Strezlecki tracks
Rolande
Reply By: palmy - Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:17
Friday, Sep 21, 2007 at 22:17
Thanks guys, yeah found that round steel bar, and thought of taking the angle grinder to it! Would fit then.... Maybe not!
The head unit itself is single din size, its this control box that's probably the size of a small 4 channel amp.... Little annoyed at the moment with it, but I'm sure I'll work it out.
Will be good when finished as I've put a reversing camera on the small
barn door (just to the right of the handle) and also got a connection for the IPOD. Then just got to make up a roof console and mount the rear screen.
MP
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 11:42
Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 11:42
Where do you live Palmy??? if in
newcastle or central coast of nsw can reconmend a friend
Reply By: palmy - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 12:09
Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 12:09
Thanks guys,
well all done. Fitted the unit under the centre console. Only just had enough space, but that means it can't really move around.
Thanks for the replies.
MP