Places section of EO.... WOW

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 20:12
ThreadID: 49938 Views:2564 Replies:1 FollowUps:6
I wonder who uploaded the photo's of Warrumbungle National Park , You went to great effort to get some fantastic shots,

I been hanging around in there a bit lately , For those members who have not had a look at what David is doing for us and the rest of the tourist 4x4 then go have a browse , ESPECIALLY YOU WILLEM

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 20:36

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 20:36
Hi Doug that was me i loaded the 5 photos except for the sunset shot. A bit of a slow Saturday weather wise.It is certainly a good place to visit if you like bush walking,And rock climbing there are guys climbing up those rocks you can see one on top.
you can almost see the camp site in the distance in one photo.
It can get very busy up there at Easter.
Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 263483

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 20:57

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 20:57
Bloody ripper mate, hey what a fab site we have to play with eh
If you notice any of the wide photo's it's more than likely mine.
Oh and if you upload an error in your text email me and I will fix it for you

Doug

FollowupID: 525078

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:14

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:14
Rob
I also noticed you Lat/Long was spot on too, I found the Mount Morgan Caravan Park was 83klm to far south and the Kiwirrkurra Aboriginal Reserve - WA was 111klm to far west, if you find one not correct let me know,
I went around the Warrumbungles about 1972

Doug

FollowupID: 525081

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:31

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:31
Doug
David has made it a lot easier to up date places and load photos now .They all load good for me now ,had problems before.
I have been going through all my photos loading up anything that may be of interest.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 525093

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:59

Saturday, Sep 22, 2007 at 21:59
i WONDER HOW MUCH WEB SPACE HE HAS ....LOL

FollowupID: 525107

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 11:19

Sunday, Sep 23, 2007 at 11:19
Doug,

Photo section alone for Places is currently sitting at 1.75GB. Add the mapping system that does the mapping 5.8GB and then lets add the database servers, code rest of images for the rest of the site. and You will see what I have 80GB on the system server and a meger 10GB on the database server.

Thanks to you guys for your continued support of the places system. You will in the next few weeks see the next update that uses the places data to create a new system called KnownRoutes. It is an routing engine that builds trek routes from a database of known routes (ie: data uploaded in plots that are known to be open and interesting tourist travel routes - not just the typical mapping system fastest or most direct) the new system does heaps more. So keep up the good work, thanks again.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 525169

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:50

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:50
Thanks, will be interesting to see this KnownRoutes system,

Doug