Those online 4WD Accessory shops...are they any good?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 08:24
ThreadID: 49981 Views:3181 Replies:4 FollowUps:4

Notice in the 4wd mags every month those online shops, I want a couple of things ie. snorkel, locker, cargo barrier etc. I used to have a great contact for competitive prices but he's out of the industry now. Anyone had any experience or know of anyone in the general sth east area, I'm all ears.

Cheers all,

Vicar.

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 12:01

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 12:01
I have used some of them they are great if you know exactly what you want if you are unsure then it's probably better to talk to someone in a shop
AnswerID: 263715

Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:27

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:27
Gday Trol,

Fair enuf. Paid inflated prices in the past and know how to fit the gear. Trouble is, most are paid on a commission basis so it's hard to get good advice as well...

Thanks mate.

FollowupID: 525437

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 13:05

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 13:05
Try Neil at roodogs 4wd, he's great to deal with.
Neil. i think his email is roodogs4wd@bigpond.com or look on ebay under fourwheel drive parts.
AnswerID: 263722

Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:28

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:28
Gday mate,

Ok, no worries, I'll send him an email, thanks for the tip...
FollowupID: 525438

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 16:40

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 16:40
You've got to do your homework before ordering on-line. Its often not as cheap as you think. The cost of postage is often inflated and may price the goods higher than you get in the shops.

I've bought some good stuff via Ebay shops, but my preference is to see and feel the goods in a real shop. And if there's a need to exchange or take the stuff back, you're miles ahead with a real shop.
AnswerID: 263735

Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:29

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:29
Hi Phil,

Yeah, i've noticed that online with ebay, you see a set of tyres for $8 and delivery is $12,000.00. Thanks for your advice.
FollowupID: 525439

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 17:05

Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 17:05
I know a bloke I was talikng to on the weekend at Stockton Beach had the "Staun" (spelling) tyre deflaters. I have seen them in certain 4wd shops for around $70 he got them for $40 off ebay genuine thing. Great things I must say had his all 4 down and done in about a minute while was still on my first tyre fantastic idea. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 263737

Follow Up By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:30

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:30
Good to hear the bargains are still out there!
FollowupID: 525440